Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews - Page 3

Given 60% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
These tyres were fitted to the car shortly before I bought it and now, 18,000 miles later, the fronts are under 3mm and ready to be changed.

I drive 100 miles a day commuting on mixed roads at varying speeds in all weather conditions . The fact that I can’t remember anything specific about them probably says they’re pretty good all rounders. Not the sharpest turn in, but that’s mainly the car’s wooden steering rather than the cars fault.

I’d prefer they had lasted longer, but then I don’t know how long they were on before I got the car. Overall, pretty good value for money I would say.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2020
Given 97% while driving a Audi audi a3 s line 2,0tdi 150bhp (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Average yearly mileage is 18k. After having 2 full sets of Pirelli P Zero, decided to try different brand as Pirellis only lasted about 8000 before changing ( replaced at 3mm) when cold easy spun tyres on take off, once warm grip was great with no issues on both dry and wet roads..... once worn they became real noisy .... so decided to try Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 and so far after 5000 miles superb tyres and very pleased with them, down to about 6mm ....tyres grip great in the wet and dry... they dont suffer from wheelspin when cold....much quieter. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Dunlops as an excelent replacement
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2019
Given 97% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Got a good deal so had a set of 4 fitted to Focus 1.8tdci replacing Michelin ps4.
Now I have travelled about 5k miles on these Dunlops and I cannot fault them. Usually country roads and town driving.
Dry Grip is there always from starting from cold to warm, Michelin was the same in the dry.
Wet grip I slowly started to push the car a bit more to find out what I would get from these Dunlops and I was amazed they were brilliant I never slid had any twitches on the steering gave me a lot more confidence in the wet, I had none in the Michelin in the wet they were dreadful and slid easily under acceleration (sorry Michelin but they felt more plastic than rubber in the wet)
The Dunlops don't give any road noise as I can hear but I am driving a diesel so that may drowned it out if there is any, same with the Michelin.
Comfort is excellent easy to live with and being 40 series that is a big plus as some cheaper brands are like riding on wood,
All in all I have tried a lot of different brands on different cars and these Dunlops are up there with the best Pirellis I have had, I find them better than Michelin and Conti which I have had on this car and I would recommend them to anyone with a similar family hatchback, my friend has the same tyre on an s-type jaguar and loves them too.
Cost wise I suppose it all depends on what deals are available at the time but we know all top quality brands are going to be of similar cost.
Mileage I have done 5k and they still look like new so I am happy I got just over 9k from the Michelin on the front of the car I have a suspicion these will do better by looking at how much tread is left after 5k.
Would I buy again? Yes without hesitation, I would only be tempted away if I got Pirelli at a similar cost I got these for £300 all in for four.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2019
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus ST (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 120 spirited miles
When I bought the car it had 4 different tyres and I struggled to control wheel spin in 1st, 2nd and sometimes 3rd.
I bought 2 for the front to try. After a week I ordered 2 for the rear as the difference was amazing.
I have drove in the dry and wet with no problem but I have yet to drive in winter
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2019
Given 46% while driving a Mercedes Benz C32 AMG (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
As I mounted the tires to my C32 AMG unfortunatly I had to replace in 3 weeks to Michelin Pilot Sports..The wet grip is horrible to the amount of money Dunlop charge for it.
The Michelins are a little more expensive in The Netherlands but give way more grip than the other Dunlops.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Audi SQ5 (255/40 R21 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
Replaced my Pirelli PZero's after 17,000 miles and was inspired by the Dunlop series after having them on my previous Audi S4 Avant. Immediate reduction in road noise, grips in both wet and dry conditions and have complete confidence when cornering at speed. Better fuel return albeit marginally just adds to the all round thumbs up. Whilst they are a much softer compound than the PZero,s even at this stage with limited mileage, I would find it hard to consider another tyre.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2019
Given 60% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres last season and made about 20 000 kilometers with them. I expected a much higher performance, on wet surface are horrible. It's difficult even to start with them. During hot and dry wether these tyres are just above averege. I'm not buying this tyer again
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2019
Given 82% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro (255/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought 4 of these Dunlops to replace the previous PZeros. The Dunlops are much quieter & smoother for sure as the pzeros were quite hard and noisy.
Dry handling is good with no issues, but don’t feel as grippy as the pzeros. They are much better than the pzeros in the wet and cold weather though with less understeer.
Feedback is good but being softer they feel a bit more squishy than the pzeros.
They took a couple hundred miles to feel really bedded in and I’ve only done a thousand miles total on them so far so can’t say about wear at the moment. My pzeros as a comparison I got 3 1/2 years out of them and 30,000 miles and they still had 2mm all round.. somehow I don’t think the Dunlops will last as long as they seem softer.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Unknown (225/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Recently just had the Dunlop’s fitted to my e46 330i touring (which I drive spiritedly) after replacing the cooper tyres the previous owner had on the car and my god is there a difference ,it’s hard to unsettle these tyres including when I boot the car round wet roundabouts the tyres seem to just stick and car feels planted even with the weight of the rear of the car wanting to fling its self round it maintains its composure ,in the dry the tyres maintain traction well off the line with very little slip (dsc off) although I haven’t had them long at the moment I highly rate them for daily spirited driving and would recommend them
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2019
Given 84% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I've had these on a 2015 typeR, so plenty of power to chew the tyres up. i also upsized from factory 235/35r19 to 255/35r19 on the rt2.
i use these in warmer weather only and swap to winter tyres for the cold months so i've seen about 2.5 years/15k miles out of these, including two trackdays.
lasted far better than the conti CSC6's that needed replacing after 9month/4.5k however comparing rt2 to csc6, the rt2's do feel a bit numb with feedback. This does have benefits from a smoother ride on rough roads, but doesnt make it quite as enjoyable when pushing on. RT2 does give you confidence in the curves and you can tell when nearing the limit. near as damn-it doesn't matter for road dry grip and wet grip is far better than csc6.
for the cost of the tyre and reviews they get, it's hard to not seriously consider this tyre for the road. I'm torn between the cheaper price of the RT2 or performance of the PS4S for my replacement set...
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Toyota Caldina GT 4 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres after toasting through a pair of Pirelli Dragons, had them on a whole year and they have worn really well compared to the Pirelli. In the wet It is possible to break grip under boost turning, but otherwise had no traction issues. Emergency stopping grip is amazing, when combined with EBC greenstuff.

They turn in better and roll better than the older tyres, requiring steering adjustment to driving over the old tyres. No noticeable increase in road noise, very confident in the tyres performance. Would absolutely recommend for any performance AWD vehicle and will purchase them again unless the RT3 is released.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2018
Given 30% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 170 tdi (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I bought the Dunlop tyres after reading all the reviews and the different tyre tests. Anything other than warm dry roads and the grip is very disappointing. Wheel spinning in first and second gear on typical British damp or wet roads. I have no confidence in the grip of these tyres and after 10k they have hit the wear band. If you want a quiet tyre with low rolling resistance go for the Dunlops. If you want a tyre for grip and decent wear avoid these.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2018