Michelin Pilot Power

The Michelin Pilot Power is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 67%
Wear 66%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 82%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 127,823 miles driven.

The Pilot Power is ranked 6th of 10 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Pilot Power

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Power

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Power. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
160/60 R17 £78.50 - £78.59 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
180/55 R17 £93.80 - £112.39 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
190/50 R17 £92.60 - £129.79 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Power Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Honda CBR929RR (180/55 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Average tyres. Good on dry, very good on wet. For average riders excelent.
Helpful 100 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2015
Given 91% while driving a Honda CBR 600F4i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,320 average miles
I had the Michelin Pilot Power for the last 4 and a half years approximately. I found them very good and just bought a new set. At the end of their life the front tyre lost its roundness and became quite high at the centre and flat on the sides I believe due to having a softer compound on the sides. The rear tyre still has some more to go. It is a good all year round tyre dry and wet although I mainly used them on dry surface and I am an average rider. I had other brands before but this is one of my favourite.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018
Given 76% while driving a Aprilia RST 1000 Futura (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Tried them on my Aprilia SL1000 Falco and later on Aprilia RST1000 Futura. It works well, knee down lean angles and all, but I don't like their lack of feedback. They either grip (and they grip well) or they don't, and I always had to have some luck not to crash after a slip which didn't happen with ContiRoadAttack. So I took them off a Falco and put them on a Futura where they're more than up to the task. Futura is a much heavier bike and sometimes I ride it fully loaded, so the rear tyre lasted less than 4000 km alltogether which is a bit of a disappointment. Will I buy again? Yes, I will buy another rear tyre while I'm at it, but when it wears out I will replace the whole set with a Michelin Pilot Road.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2019
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Power tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Power? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Power >

Latest Michelin Pilot Power Reviews

Given 60% while driving a Honda CB400SF (160/60 R17 W) on mostly town for 40,000 easy going miles
I live in Singapore, a country with a tropical climate and high humidity, and lots of torrential rains. It is a very small island-like country that mostly communes about 30km at a stretch and rarely above 40km in one go. My bike only weighs about 200+kg. Climate usually above 30-degree Celcius all year round. My average speed in the expressways usually around 80km/h to 100km/h. I would say this is a good dry grip tyre. The sense of confidence to ride this in dry conditions is high. Tyre seems to warm up fast in the dry weather, especially when riding in the mid-afternoon under the scorching equator sun, it feels really sticky. But Michelin Pilot Power 2CT is still a better dry weather tyre when compared to these in my opinion. During wet weather, tyre performance is still acceptable, and traction is not excellent but still feels safe. But I would still opt for Michelin Road 5 as my prefered rain tyres. If Michelin has not invented the Road 5, Pilot Power would be my preferred one-tyre-do-all wet/dry tyre to use in Singapore.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2020
(190/50 R17 W) on for 0 miles
Had these on my street triple and rated them good feedback ok in wet but I do ride with caution in rain . Due to positive results on the 675 and a bargain deal £118 delivered at demon tweets I bought some for my zx10 r done 800 miles so far warm up quick and essential for road use retain heat good feedback and aided stability complimenting the bike track day fast group may require something softer but for mortals they fit the bill
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2017
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Honda CBR929RR (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've never had any of these new although I have used them on a variety of bikes and will be purchasing a new front for my Fireblade soon.
The front tires are excellent all rounders both on the road and track replacing my previous favourite front tire the Dunlop D207RR.
My bike currently has the 2CT version which it came with but due to the dual compound it has worn the shoulders and deformed the tire so I will be replacing with the original Pilot Power.
These tires are good in the dry although the do feel like they lack outright grip at times, I nearly highsided my 600 on the track last year when my suspension wasn't dialled in. However in the wet they have so much feel that powersliding out of corners and roundabouts on a big bike at will is a reality if you dare. On a peaky 600 it's a bit too sketchy but I've beaten riders on the track that had full wets on standing water, admittedly I had a wet on the front.
I will be buying a 2CT version for the Blade rear but would go for this original version for the track as edges wear quicker than centres when cranked over all the time so no point in softer edges.
These tires were good on a KTM supermoto, a Kawasaki Versys I used for touring as well as track days and sport road riding. The tire I choose if I can't be bothered to gamble on unknown rubber and don't have spare wheels.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2016
Given 92% while driving a Yamaha FZ6 (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 3 spirited miles
I am very pleased with Michelin Pilot Power tyres. I have tried few, but this-ones suit me best. Getting great feedback of whether they start to slip or grip again. Are super sticky in the bends and when hit hard in the bend, their progressiveness lets me control the little slips and grips perfectly. Tried as well 2CT before, but the progressiveness was missing there. The tyre slipped aside too much and didn't have that much control over the bike. Pilot Power rocks! When there is a bit slippery road surface I hit it hard and get a tiny drift, keep rolling the spin to straight and ending up to a wheelie after the tyre grips. Great fun! I personally wouldn't go for any others. I am not driving on wet as I live in a place where don't rain much. Only in winter a bit and in that case taking my car.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2015
Given 76% while driving a Triumph Daytona 675 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
cannot fault this tyre but will
in the dry it is perfect massive lean angle and perfect in the wet loads of grip
for me only down side is it has only last 6k miles in 8 months and for me thats not enough
the avon storms i had on my last bike lasted 11k
otherwise perfect
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2013
Given 75% while driving a Triumph Daytona 955i (180/55 R17 W) on track for 1,000 average miles
Done some general road riding and one track day on a very wet track. These are good tyres and much more of an all-rounder than I expected. After fitting wondered whether I should have gone for something more road-biased, but wet and cold these tyres are fine. Infact, on the wet track day they gave me a lot of confidence. About 1000 miles and wear looks OK, although I wasn't looking for longevity, just all-weather grip.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2009
Given 74% while driving a Kawasaki ZXR 636 (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Great tyre for everyday use. I've done 3 track days + commuting and it is still good. Well balance grip on dry and wet conditions. Allow great lean angles and quick stearing. Good stuff !
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2009