Michelin Power RS

The Michelin Power RS is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Power 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 92%
Wear 65%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 87%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 21,450 miles driven.

The Power RS is ranked 6th of 13 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Reports

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Power RS
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Power RS
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Power RS. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Power RS Prices

Size Price Range  
120/70 R17 £103.82 - £162.49 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
160/60 R17 £95.20 - £95.29 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
180/55 R17 £145.08 - £145.08 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 6 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Power RS Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa RK9 (190/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 miles
Fitted to my Suzuki hayabusa 1300 always had Pirelli before fancied a change wow what a change from the go loads of grip I ride it like a super bike with in 5 mile knee down outstanding tyre it's just got grip grip grip 10 out of 10 Michelin
133 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Ducati Multistrada 1200 (190/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Excellent choice for twisty roads and track use. So long with the existing "set" have 8.000km's and are still 100% ready to race.... concerning the remaining Km's.
On the dry 10/10 but my surprise was huge on the wet, since the grip was very good for this category of tyre. Handling on twisty roads is comparable to track use so is feedback. Only negative due to the "over" curve design the comfort isn't at the level of the overall performance. But other that the Power RS is a excellent choice for a combine way of use...!!! Well done Michelin!
22 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2018   
Given 92% while driving a (200/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Think I may have found the holy grail of tyres . Ridden my tuono v4 like I stole it for 1900 mlies on these and I am really impressed. The feedback on the limit is telepathic like they tell you their about to slide , you push further and they slide in a lovely controlled way. I have ridden on supercorsas , s20s . Sport attack 2 s and never got more than 1400 miles out of them but the power rs still has tread left at 1900 and will go past 2000 easily. My bike runs a 200 section which take some bottle to run right to the edge but the power rs will do it which I put down to the confidence inspiring feedback .
13 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2017   
Have you driven on the Michelin Power RS tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Power RS? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Power RS >

Latest Michelin Power RS Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Yamaha Xsr900 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Lasts for 7000-8000km only. Not the safest feeling, having tendency to slip aside in cornering and immediately getting back but not the feeling you want.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Yamaha R1 (190/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Yamaha R1 4c8 2007 I run a 55 profile on the rear. Suspension set for fast road. As a road tyre these are superb with enough side grip for knee down and warm up quickly. However the rear wears quickly in the centre which eventually effects handling. The front tyre grip is faultless with even wear. A bargain
0 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 96% while driving a Suzuki 2000 vatari jx2.0 (180/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 850 spirited miles
I've done over 800 miles on my set of Power RS tyres. I fitted them in the cold and wet winter, the first surprise was that despite their look, the tyres worked well on damp roads, even when still scrubbing them in. I try not to ride in heavy rain, so can't comment on that, but I road on damp roads a lot and the compound finds grip somehow. Warm-up is very quick, they never feel wooden, where you have to just trust the tyre and hope. They give a comfortable ride, they're very stable and make the bike feel nimble. Enough about cold and wet behaviour, in the dry/warm conditions of spring these tyres are wonderful - you will not run out of grip on the road. On my bike they do need 35/36 psi in the front and upper 30s in the rear, else they don't feel as good - I always experiment with pressures and set my suspension to suit, once done I absolutely loved these tyres - nothing around, charge through some corners seemingly too fast, absolutely no drama, settled, tons of feedback, excellent. So is there a down side to such a great tyre ? well I was hoping for 3000 miles from the rear, but at 800 miles I'm a good 1/3 through I would say. My bike's lost a lot of weight, but the engine puts out 1290 super duke type torque now, so it does work them hard - I just sit on the bike ! Will I buy again ? bloody right I will, although they have brought out the Power 5 now, but I don't think it's any more sporty... maybe a few more miles out of them ?
0 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a (160/60 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Before I tried this tyre, I had Pirelli Diablo rosso 3 set. So i go to my mechanic guy, he changed the tyres and as always said be careful for first couple of kilometers as the rubber is scrubbed in. I'm all prepared to give this tyre a go, so I went to the local twisty road, that i am very fond of. Its about 3-4 kilometers of twisty roads. It has all the corners from twisty 180 deegre turns, to long fast ones.So as the tyre is getting scrubbed and warmed up I can feel the grip coming in. It was scrubbed in so fast that after a few miles, i was giving it all i got on this excellent road. The grip on the front tyre is fenomenal and confidence expiring. So I immediately knew that this is the best tyre I rode to this date. The feedback is great, when you are leaned over and the tyre is communicating with you on the handle bars. I was so excited, i was literally going as fast as i could. So lets check the bad stuff. I ride on a KTM smcr 690. That is a light road bike. A fun supermoto. I got 4000kms(2500miles) out of the rear tyre. the front is still as new. I had a nasty highsider when the tyres aswell as road were cold at the end of the season. So this is really a summer hypersport tyre. Be careful when its cold outside and give this tyre a little bit of time so it can get to operating temperature. I would recommend this tyre to all fast guys on the road, aswell as intermediate fast guys on track. Wet grip is really not that bad, but i would not get this tyre if i lived somewhere in rainy conditions. So let the tyre warm up and then have a blast. One last thing. I figured that this tyre is at its best when there is 25*C(77*F) or more deegres celsius/fahrenheit outside.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Yamaha FZ1 (190/50 R17) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Without a shadow of doubt, the best tyres ive ever had, i run them on a 2008 FZ1N which is heavily tuned and geared for racing. They are outstanding in dry conditions and i can feel them moving around, my talent runs out way before the tyre does.

Ive done several track days on them and lots of fast road riding too, ive never had a scare on them.

Just make sure you warm them up as theyre not great when cold or in wet conditions.

I wont buy anything else for the forseeable future, theyre that good!
5 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2017   
Given 89% while driving a Triumph Street Triple (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Had these on my Street Triple 675 during early Spring through until May.

Covered 4K miles in that time, majority fast road riding but also a bunch of motorway/dual carriageway and a touch of touring.

Dry grip is phenomenal, they really give you great feedback and just don't let you down in the corners. I can lean the thing so far over with these and just have total confidence that the tyres will make it. My cornering speeds have increased 50% compared to my Pirellis. They feel like a stiff compound when you're riding normally, right up until you get the thing leaned over and you just get so much feedback - it feels as if the bike is better supported.

Never had either tyre slip apart from some diesel on the road which I cannot fault the tyres for. Literally never had a slip in either wet or dry, quite incredible compared to my Pirelli Diablo 3's.

They warm up fast and stay very warm, I find that as they warm the feedback gets better and better to the point where you feel like the road surface is transmitting to your handlebars/legs. Comfortable and very quiet for such sticky rubber, I've been impressed by how long I can ride on these without fatigue.

Wear - not great, but 4K miles out of a supersport tyre is really no bad thing. I think the issue is that the wear is so uneven, despite not spending too much time on the motorway I've found that the harder compound in the middle of the tyre has hit wear bars much earlier than anticipated. Again, compared to my last Pirellie Diablos, they are performing much better though.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2017