Yamaha R1 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Yamaha R1.

Do you Drive a Yamaha R1? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a R1 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S21 (2) 100% 100% 100% 100% 0% 100%
Michelin Pilot Power 3 (5) 92% 82% 92% 92% 86% 88%
Dunlop Sportsmart (10) 93% 78% 89% 90% 82% 84%
Avon 3D Ultra Sport (9) 96% 77% 91% 89% 69% 88%
Michelin Power RS (9) 99% 74% 93% 94% 68% 77%
Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 (2) 100% 40% 100% 100% 55% 95%
Dunlop Sportmax Qualifier D209 (10) 90% 76% 92% 83% 69% 95%
Pirelli Diablo Rosso III (7) 92% 76% 88% 90% 72% 85%
Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa (20) 93% 66% 89% 88% 70% 86%
Michelin Pilot Power 2CT (12) 91% 69% 84% 61% 76% 86%
Dunlop SportSmart TT (4) 100% 20% 93% 98% 65% 73%
Bridgestone S20 (11) 88% 78% 81% 87% 52% 80%
Pirelli DIABLO SUPERCORSA SP (1) 90% 0% 90% 90% 40% 70%
Michelin Power Pure (4) 80% 75% 73% 75% 78% 88%
Bridgestone Battlax BT 003RS (1) 90% 70% 80% 80% 60% 70%
Avon Viper Supersport AV60 (5) 86% 64% 74% 66% 74% 80%
Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact (6) 87% 68% 76% 65% 63% 78%
Pirelli Diablo Corsa III (10) 87% 68% 81% 65% 55% 75%
Pirelli Diablo Rosso (5) 70% 33% 68% 58% 70% 74%
Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 (24) 72% 47% 63% 65% 51% 64%
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 (14) 74% 61% 67% 68% 30% 57%
Dunlop Sportmax D207e (6) 68% 57% 57% 53% 43% 57%
Avon 3D Ultra (2) 55% 10% 50% 5% 60% 60%

Yamaha R1 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact given 87% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
Use on my r1 several time bcoz its cheaper then other n more mileage i guess. Still using now maybe 3rd or 4th. Daily ride shuttle to my office 100km daily. Ride quite fast from suburb to town via hiway n traffic jam. Ride 200+kmh on hiway. M5 stick good when lean n u will not waste the tire edge. White line will affect to your handing especially after several thousand miles used for center of tire. Edge quite good stick. But For me its quite good on hot day but just ok during wet/rainy day. Rear tyre spin some time on wet road when hi speed. But, Yea i guess m5 better mileage & price compared to contimotion i use before. Already stop using conti motion. Mm. Now im looking for other higher mileage n stick good when lean on hot day. ✌️
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-28 13:28:17
Writing about the Pirelli DIABLO SUPERCORSA SP given 76% (190-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These were fitted on my R1 when I purchased the bike, always preferred Pilot Power 2CTs in the past but thought these were nearly new so gave them a go. Dry grip very good once warmed up never ride in the wet so cannot comment, wear rate is terrible only done just over 3000 miles and already the steel showing. Changed back over to 2 CTs can double my mileage on them with same level of grip. Expensive Tyres just glad I didnít have to purchase them !!
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-14 09:17:52
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Rosso III given 87% (190-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Always used Pirelliís on my R1 and the Rosso3 is the best yet. Great grip and usability as-well and if you drop the pressures can be used as a Ďdecentí track tyre. Would definitely recommend and will be getting another set of these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-30 07:32:22
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 3 given 90% (190-45-17-S)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6885 spirited miles
Drive a 2012 YZF-R1. Fitted them at 2112 miles and currently at 6885 miles. Still has thread though square a little in the middle of the thread. Sides strips still have life though slight instability has begun in tight corner entrance on the twisties. Huge screw stuck in the middle of the thread which will make me change. Would buy again for sure. Interested in the Michelin Road 5.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-12 13:06:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 given 37% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Worst expirience with tyres ever on my Yamaha R1. Just got it back from repairs and the new tyres were fitted(Bridgestone front and rear). It took me a while to switch from my Yamaha R6 to the good old R1 and initially I thought this was the issue. Nop. 3500km later I have to admit it actually IS the tyres, especially the rear one.

Warm up time? What? 2-3 minutes of normal driving?!? Or 1 minute of brake-accelerate and left-right sweeping? And guess - you have to do it every time. When you forget to do it, they feel like a plastic, slipping you on the road like you are some kind of a noobie.

Fast turns. What? You don`t like living any more? Try it with this tyres. Especially trail braking tech. Slips you gently when you open the throttle on the exit of the turn.

Slow turns. You want to go 50-60kph and drop a knee? Yeah, sure, good luck. At 40 deg lean you have a 50/50 chance that the rear tyre will slide for a nanosecond, then find grip again and try to highside you. On my favourite 28km route(mountain climb) I got at least 10 of those situations, even thou I am expecting such bullsh*t from the rear tyre.

Highway? Ooooh, you gotta be joking. Pure unstability at 280+. Okey, they are rated for up to 270. Well, guess what, other brands rated for up to 270 don`t have problems at 270, 280, 290 or 300. But this one has. After 130km of highway riding(avg, 200+km/h, ranging 160-300)? Center of the tyre was eaten up.

Mileage. Oh, yeah. This brings us to the mileage. At 1000km the wear started to feel. At 2000km it was already clear that this tyre was a goner. And I was still wondering if there was something wrong with the bike, or it was the tyres.

Feedback? None. You can never tell what the hell is happening and get any idea what to do until it is too late and:
- Option A, rear slips
- Option B, you feel f*cked, that you could go faster on the corner

Dudes, getting owned by a Yamaha VMAX in a 28km chase(by 10 seconds ahead) should give you an indication what tyres are these! We should just say that he was not a Bridgestone fan and I was giving it everything I had(which may seem as little, but... no, I never got passed by a VMAX before in my life).

Now I switched to another brand. And the bike stays... how to say it - it never felt better in my hands.

I have to admit one thing - for such a terrible tyre it was performing unexpetedly well in wet. Having in mind that it was probably a bad tyre choice I did not push the bike over 11 000rpm at any gear during light rains or wet conditions. Barely had a slip, all under control.

Thanks for not killing me, Bridgestone. Thanks for ruining my summer for the R1. Thanks for giving me a horrible 3000-3500km ride expirience - now I know what a tyre should NOT do.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-07 21:52:20
Writing about the Dunlop SportSmart TT given 90% (190-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought these as I wanted a tyre that was usable on the road and could handle the odd track day, these do both with ease, they have super fast warm up time something you don't really get with track focus tyres but these are different. On the road you will not find there limits not unless your Michel dunlop or some other road racing god... On the track the same applies these really are a fantastic tyre, don't buy these if you want to use them to do 1000s miles up and down the motorway as they will not last... Expect no more than 3000 miles depending on how hard you ride..
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-11 09:49:39
Writing about the Michelin Power RS given 79% (190-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-28 15:55:45
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S21 given 100% (190-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 160 spirited miles
I recently purchased a pair of these for my 05 R1. Despite the stock rear being a 190/50, I went for the 190/55.

160 miles in (60 of that were rapid laps around a brand new set of national speed limit roundabouts on a dry day averaging 22 degrees centigrade before writing this) and I am already extremely happy with them. They have more grip now than my previous Rosso II’s ever did and feel phenomenal round the bends when they have even been scrubbed fully in yet.

Part will be down to the different aspect ratio sure. (if you have the same bike you must pick up this size.)
But a lot of it is down to just how good the tyres are.

This is of course subject to change. And I will update the unknown But so far I would definitely recommend them for the sheer pleasure they provide alone.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-14 19:16:00
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-22 23:26:10
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 given 37% (190-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1800 average miles
The bike came shod with these from the dealer..... 1800 miles in and a horizontal crack has appeared, delamination. Really annoyed by this, back to Michelin for me!!!
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-13 20:55:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre