Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf R 270 BHP better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental ExtremeContact Sport 02 (5) 94% 98% 76% 82% 95% 86%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (13) 92% 83% 83% 81% 88% 87%
Giti GitiSport S1 (10) 92% 81% 87% 87% 86% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (131) 93% 88% 86% 87% 82% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Maxxis Victra Sport 5 (24) 86% 80% 78% 82% 62% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (87) 91% 87% 82% 83% 52% 77%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (211) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (33) 77% 72% 73% 72% 70% 74%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (70) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%

Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Sport 02 given 85% (245-35-19-)
Driving on for 1000 miles
Just recently swapped from 4s's to the Conti 02's and have not been disappointed with my decision. Running 245/35-19 on my golf R and like any space I can get in the wheel wells. 02 seems a bit quieter on paved roads. Mid turn I can understand the vague feel comment but once hooked to finish the turn, I feel the Conti has a bit more positive bite which helps my car feel neutral in the turns with a bit less push. Braking seams as strong with the Conti's as the 4s's and have yet to get too much aggressive driving in the rain- Thinking the slightly wider grooves on the Conti's may inspire a little more confidence against hydroplaning but we shall see. Love your test's and I completely agree that if for nothing more than the cost alone, they are well worth the gamble!
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-08 05:41:51
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 100% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-17 10:34:09
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Sport given 89% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-25 23:44:02
Writing about the Maxxis Victra Sport 5 given 97% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Huge improvement over my Bridgestone Potenza RE003's. Comfort and noise is the largest improvement, but nothing has been sacrificed in terms of handling, dry, or wet grip. Very progressive at the edge of traction as well although I really have struggled to push it there with the amount of grip these have along with the 4wd on the Golf R. Can't forget to mention that it really does look great too. Hugely impressed with what Maxxis have done here.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-05 05:51:02
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 87% (245-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Excellent city Tyre for golf r. Will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-01 00:01:10
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 97% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
superb all rounder.....good in dry although you may find slightly better in the dry weather. they excel on wet roads and are leaps and bounds ahead of the field
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-23 20:14:16
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta LE Sport given 96% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25 average miles
Have these on the rear of my golf r lasted 25,000 miles and still legal but might be needing changed soon.for the price u pay for these tyres is a no brainier .£90 supplied and fitted for a 19inch tyre is great value.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-11 11:45:29
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 96% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-11 11:41:32
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 70% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 average miles
You know, I'm a bit disappointed!! I had the Dunlop sport maxx when I got the car and they were pants in the wet; couldn't fault them in the dry. So I was loooking for a tyre that could handle the good old British wet roads, and the Goodyear is supposed to be one of the best. However, I don't think they are that good for a Golf R...... the search is still on. Will try the Avon ZZ 3 next I think.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-11 21:03:26
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
only had the golf r a month in the dry the tyres seem ok not as much grip as i would have thought road noise is good but as other golf r owners have said on this site seriously scary in the wet even with awd.fronts got put on the back and there worn out only after 17k miles i know its a 19inch tyre but thats pants in my opinion.gonna try the kumho performance tyre only £100 per tyre fitted compared to £160 for these basiclly 2 for 1 and they get a v good write up on here for the money.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-04 19:08:11
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 29% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Seriously bad in the wet!!!! Need to buy new tyres now. Gonna go for the Avon ZZ5
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-15 21:35:09
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 60% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Dry - Excellent and can't fault them.
Wet - Scary, even with an AWD performance car. I don't belive these tyres to be a safe selection when driving on wet greasy roads in a spirited manner, in particular on exiting roundabouts.
Standing Start - Wet and dry grip excellent, nil wheelspin in the Golf R; obviously the AWD plays a major factor.
Overall, good in the dry, but give nil confidence on wet greasy roads in the UK.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-24 15:50:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre