Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 Reviews - Page 2

Given 84% while driving a BMW M235i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Two winters on my M235i: 320 BHP & RWD, so very sensitive to grip and handling in wet and snow. Multiple trips down to the Alps for winter skiing. Previous car was a 330d with Pirelli Sottozero Winter Serie-II for comparison. I've also had Vredestein, Dunlop and Michelin Alpins on previous cars.

Really an outstanding winter tyre for performance car if you're certain to find yourself on snow. If you weren't certain of an Alpine ski trip or likely snow then consider the Serie-II, which handles slightly better in the dry. But the S3 is better than the Serie-II in heavy rain and standing water (the penalty is the 'chunkiness' makes it a bit noisier). The S3s did snowy hill starts and slow, windy uphill roads without recourse to chains so really pleased with them. Very good resistance to aquaplaning back in the UK winter rain and didn't let me down even during lapses of concentration in the cold and wet.

Definitely would buy these again when the time comes.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2018
Given 93% while driving a Toyota 2012 Verso 2.0 D4D UK (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 miles
My background, I am a City and Guilds Qualified and Approved Vehicle Technician (retired) and certified Advanced driver. I have two styles of driving - safe and effective - when I need to get there a little quicker and that of 'Driving Miss Daisy' .. in otherwords, cruise control on and set the speed (on average 62mph) - I find this is the best economical speed for a 2012 Verso 2.0 D4D.

What am I reviewing?

The Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3, 215/55/R17, which have accrued a total of 49,997 miles after three years. There was 1.7 mm of tread on the front and 1.72mm on the rear before the TWI's would have been 'activated' or level with the road surface area of the tyre. In fact, I would have said I could have possible got another 500 miles out them, possibly 1000, but I think that latter might have been pushing it.

The tyres were fitted in December 2015 to ensure insurance compliance and during the time fitted, as you can see, I have chosen my scores based on overall performance on a variety of road surfaces and heavy snow. During the heavy snow and thick ice down the south west, I sailed past 4x4s, emergency response vehicles, jack knifed articulated vehicles and more and many of these were from a stationary position.

As with any tyre, as the tread wears, the performance degrades, however, I was extremely surprised that even at 3.25mm tread, the vehicle did not aquaplane during a sudden downpour and many surface pools appeared, what they did was 'bite' into the surface water and you could feel the vehicle speed reduce and with no loss of steering control.

My only niggle... the db level does make you think you might have a wheel bearing gone, but that was only within the latter 3,000 miles.

Comfort, as good as any high performance winter tyre and extremely positive road feedback/handling.

Will I buy again? Yes, I hope they keep this model on for the foreseeable future because there are many that do not provide such positive results.

Price wise, they could be a little cheaper but still a good investment and equally good return. Now to find my next set at the best possible price.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2018
Given 93% while driving a Toyota 2012 Verso 2.0 D4D UK (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 miles
My background, I am a City and Guilds Qualified and Approved Vehicle Technician (retired) and certified Advanced driver. I have two styles of driving - safe and effective - when I need to get there a little quicker and that of 'Driving Miss Daisy' .. in otherwords, cruise control on and set the speed (on average 62mph) - I find this is the best economical speed for a 2012 Verso 2.0 D4D.

What am I reviewing?

The Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3, 215/55/R17, which have accrued a total of 49,997 miles after three years. There was 1.7 mm of tread on the front and 1.72mm on the rear before the TWI's would have been 'activated' or level with the road surface area of the tyre. In fact, I would have said I could have possible got another 500 miles out them, possibly 1000, but I think that latter might have been pushing it.

The tyres were fitted in December 2015 to ensure insurance compliance and during the time fitted, as you can see, I have chosen my scores based on overall performance on a variety of road surfaces and heavy snow. During the heavy snow and thick ice down the south west, I sailed past 4x4s, emergency response vehicles, jack knifed articulated vehicles and more and many of these were from a stationary position.

As with any tyre, as the tread wears, the performance degrades, however, I was extremely surprised that even at 3.25mm tread, the vehicle did not aquaplane during a sudden downpour and many surface pools appeared, what they did was 'bite' into the surface water and you could feel the vehicle speed reduce and with no loss of steering control.

My only niggle... the db level does make you think you might have a wheel bearing gone, but that was only within the latter 3,000 miles.

Comfort, as good as any high performance winter tyre and extremely positive road feedback/handling.

Will I buy again? Yes, I hope they keep this model on for the foreseeable future because there are many that do not provide such positive results.

Price wise, they could be a little cheaper but still a good investment and equally good return. Now to find my next set at the best possible price.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on August 26, 2018
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Jaguar XFR (225/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Because of the issues I had with my previous winter. tyres I did some research on wet weather running as that is the condition that is most prevalent in winter, and settled on these tyres, and they do not disappoint.

This is the first winter where I have had to battle heavy rain and heavy snow with these tyres, last year was a mild winter. This year there has been a lot of snow and I just completed a trip where I was able to safely travel at 50 - 60 MPH on 4" of snow up the motorway, for over 100 miles in snow and a further 100 in slush which is significantly better than the tyres they replaced.

We also just had torrential rain with plenty of standing water on the road and again the tyres coped without any hint of loosing traction.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2018
Given 100% while driving a Ford S Max (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
519/5000
It's the second train I use on my Ford S-Max 2.0 TD. Very heavy car with great engine torque.
With the first set I made 54,000 km and I changed them because the winter part of the tread was defined, about 4 mm, and we were in January.
With the second I have already done 30,000 km and are still in excellent shape.
Excellent tire in all aspects. Only the noise is a little more accentuated than the summer tires.
Next week I change cars and I have already ordered the same tires in 245/45 18.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2018
Given 80% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Got these for a good price for this winter season. Previously had Sottozero 2 on my car so I can compare to them too.
First of all, this is a great tyre, they grip very well in every situation. They handle rain, snow, freezing temperatures very well. Better compared to Sottozero 2 in every of those aspects. Audis are not famous for feedback through steering wheel, but with this tyre I think it is as good as it gets. On motorways, the ride is very comfortable, the tyres respond quickly and in every moment you know what they are doing. Tried them through some ponds at high speeds and they proved great. Just had first snow today, and you can hear them working the slush but never lose traction. The rim protection is huge, biggest I have seen on any winter tyre till now, and it doesn't look to baloony.
The only downside is the noise. It is not the tyre roll itself, but a high pitching sound that appears especially round 100km/h and it rises as you speed up. It sounds like a laundry machine in the far distance :) It doesn't bother me too much, but if silent tyre is one of your priorities - you just might skip these Pirellis. If you don't mind - go ahead, this is a great tyre.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2017
Given 89% while driving a Jaguar XKR (255/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Having used other makes of winter tyres on a variety of cars and finding only Sottozeros came in the size needed for my XKR was interested to see if the premium you pay for them is justified.

Very pleased to say it sure is as the grip you get in the wet is remarkable, stopping distances are very close to dry and even on ice you never feel like you aren't fully in control of the vehicle.

Have also used them on an XF Jaguar and as with the XK the grip and handling are both brilliant, no matter what the weather throws at you.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2017
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 GT FSI (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Bought for my Golf 5 FWD, 320ps in North Greece mixed used in highways and suburban areas in the country and in central europe mostly.
Really, satisfied from the performance especially in the wet and snow. Better than my previous Nokian.
Comfortable at cruising, but not for spirrited driving when >15oC.
The wear, is normal in contrast with the reviews, i think its a pretty decent tyre, better from all except TS860.

The tyre really shines and performs outstanding in the morning wet roads at
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2017
Given 94% while driving a Peugeot 407 SW 2.2 HDi 170 (215/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Nothing to say - Excelent tyre. Combiend with ESP/ASR will NEVER loose grip.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2017
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought 4x Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3_XL(ExtraLoad)_215/55 R16 97H (Made in Germany) for approx €87 per tyre (in winter time).
I have driven this tyre on winter conditions for around 1000 km on the winding road to the ski resort, and I have to say I’m very impressed with them.
Softer compound, aquaplaning is well suppressed. Driving on snow have a fantastic traction. On frost-covered and slush road surfaces Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 grip very well.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2017
Given 89% while driving a Audi A3 S Line Sportback 2.0 TDI 184 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tyres especially under heavy snow and also great for aquaplaning when passing at high speed in deep water. For winter these are very good and also when it comes to the money you pay for the quality.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2017
(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
If you drive soft winter tires in the summer, and then complain that they wear quickly...
Helpful 964 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2016