Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a mk7 Golf GTD better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (178) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Michelin Energy Saver (136) 83% 71% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO (40) 87% 89% 79% 79% 58% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (71) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%

Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
A very good tyre from Bridgestone. Smashes the current Michelin cross climate in all but dry braking. One of the best straight aquaplaning tyres by far. At speed on the motorway in deep standing water there fantastic. A very predictable tyre with a very rounded package. You can almost feel the road. Very good. Maybe on the verge of unbeatable. Lets see how they perform when worn. Turn in not as good as Michelin Pilot sport 4 but better than Michelin Cross climate gen 2. Very expensive, but a must for people who just want to go at speed and get done. As a car mechanic and we fit loads of tyres these are good.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-21 14:58:07
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 76% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 miles
Over all its a good all rounder, handles well in the dry with only slight wheel spin when accelerating hard with t/c on, with it off then wheel spins and grips nicely and very controllable, corners well in dry and wet. Only negative was that they don't last long, being a very soft tyre, managed to get 13k miles on my golf gtd.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-22 14:47:05
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 90% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 32000 average miles
I have done 32,000 miles using these tyres so far. Probably another 3,000 miles to go before i change them
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-06 21:13:31
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 average miles
To many side wall cracks ,, dodge tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-05 09:20:58
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Great overhoul preformance, but it had a little strange filling in wet cornering under pressure although there was a good ammount of grip. Very disapointed about wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-02 17:22:56
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 46% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
Because the state of the roads in this country these Bridgestone s001 are useless.. brand new car 2016 and the tyres are delaminating , with plenty of tread left,, I've not taken this car up to 100 MPH. SO ITS NOT THE SPEED THAT DONE THESE TYRES IN. The front don't grip the road if pulling away to quick.. These tyres DONT suit the golf front wheel drive,, and very bumpy on the road ..Noise level not to bad being low profiles..
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-25 07:17:47
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 90% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Having bought a VW Golf GTD I was a bit taken aback by the hard ride - I knew it had sport suspension but it was harder than I'd hoped for. On ridding someone else's post I discovered my car was fitted with Bridgestone tyres which have a very hard side wall - a bit like run flats. I decided to go for Goodyears and the difference is astounding, absorbs bumps well and the side walls you can press your finger into. So if you have a sporty car folks I'm not saying for a minute Bridgestone are bad probably a great tyre for throwing your car into corners but if like me you enjoy a comfortable ride in your car buy Good Year all day long - oh and they are far quieter as well something else I noticed today.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-08 11:50:24
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 74% (225-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 spirited miles
Good tyre and better on GTD than the GT version
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-07 09:27:44
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 51% (225-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
New car had Dunlop SportMaxx GT's on, not impressed particularly in wet, changed after 15k miles to SportMaxx RT on front, much better tyre IMO.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-07 09:23:37
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 86% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 average miles
After 18,000 miles front tyres are still above 50% and rear about 80%, dry grip is superb although slightly noisy but wet grip is dissapointing for a high performance tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-29 13:04:08
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 76% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
had these come with the Gtd, seemed good for the first two years, front wore out at 14k miles replaced with Michelin pilot sport 3 - which didn't seem to have as much grip in the dry?
Kept potenzas on the back.. one has started to perish - the rubber is breaking up and.. the noise ! the noise is awful they still have 2-4mm tread but sounds awful & vibration and drone coming from them at around 20-50mph. feels like wheel bearing shot.. worse from the one that's splitting up.. they are on the front now but sound really loud..28k on the bridgestones so far - they will be replaced with Dunlop sport maxx rt next week..
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-01 09:03:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 87% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
Bad durability. I Will try now the conti sportcontact5
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-27 07:43:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre