Hifly HF805

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 63%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 67%
Wear 54%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 60%
 
Size Price Range  
Available in 7 tyre sizes - View all.

Hifly HF805 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 57% while driving a Mercedes Benz C230 Kompressor Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good tyre for dry weather with good wear BUT I truly NOT recommend this tyre for wet! If you want to stay alive don't drive in wet with this tyre. I had: front 225/45/17 rear 245/40/17
3 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2020   
Given 46% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I am on my third set of 4 tyres and these tyres, for a very good price, are ok but you can do so much better for an extra few pounds. Dry handling is ok abait the tyre walls are soft, wet handling when worn in is acceptable although braking distances are extended. The Hi Fly's will wear quickly depending on your car and driving style, when worn in the wet these are dangerous, at 70 mph on a wet motorway the rear aqua planed and very nearly lost control, when new this is not an issue. I am not purchasing these again this time. On my old Golf GTI's, Sciroccos, and Alfas I used to use Falken as the best mid priced brand, Falken are no longer a mid but premium brand and for FK510 we are looking at 450 fitted, after speaking with Micheldever Tyres ( UK distributer of many brands inc Falken) they advised Kuhmo 71 would be a good choice but I didn't like them. So after many years of using performance tyres this is my list of good performing tyres at a decent price, most expensive first (225/50/17y xl). 1. Nokian Z line (Now Nokian Powerproof) 100/105 fitted. 2. Falken FK453 (now would be FK510, the ZE914 wasn't bad either. 2. Fulda Sport Control. 100/105 fitted 4. Debica Presto UHP 2 (Goodyear) 85 fitted. 4. Sava Intensa UHP (Goodyear, so little between the two). 85 fitted 4. Roadstone Eurovis 04 (Roadstone made by Nexan. Really good for the money and would buy again). What have I just ordered for my car, Debica Presto UHP 2.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2020   
Given 49% while driving a Audi A4 (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 12,880 average miles
I put these tyres on my 2017 Audi A4 lasted 20729 km of which 2 was on the replacement indicator and 1 rear could not be balanced. Installed Michllen pilot 4 and extremely pleased so far
20 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2020   
Given 40% while driving a Holden Commodore VE (275/30 R20 W) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Had them fitted to the rear of my Holden VE SV6. I live in Auckalnd, New Zealand. the rears wore out with in a year having them fitted (came fitted with vehicle when purchased). They're on a daily vehicle, driven to work and home 15-20min max driving, by the time I changed them. The majority of the tread was gone. Driving in the wet, felt like it was going to kick out on certain road surfaces, mainly the smoother roads it would slightly slide.
I've had budget tyres on my vehicles over the years, these would have to be the worse due to them wearing out very fast and being dangerous in wet conditions. If you're on a tight budget, purchase at your own risk.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Lexus Rc 350 (265/35 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I had Bridgestones which were factory fitted on my Lexus RC350 F sport. At almost $450 each, I got 2 HIFLY' 805 plus $150 change for the price of 1 Bridgestone. I only changed the front 2 as typically you get what you pay for. I can't fault them after about 15,000kms travelled already. They still look new except where I smacked one against the kerb but the tyres are always inflated correctly (Lexus has tyre pressure sensors) and I push the car hard sometimes. Road noise is maybe marginally higher but there is no compromise to handling in any conditions.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Fiat Panda (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
Take my review with huge dose of distance and humour, please. Okay? ;)
Fiat Panda doesn't sounds serious enough for most of people. Especially if modified. But yeah, I'm the owner of Panda 100HP deeply modified. 240HP from 1.4 engine sent on 15" rims which usually wraps the asphalt and ignites rubber ripped off from tyres ;) So generally absolute craziness ;) I've had fitted looooads of rubbers and surprisingly quite often 'big famous circles' couldn't make it any better than Chinese brands. So for me it wasn't a good point to spend pile of tough earned coins if I could have the same or sometimes even better effect for much less. Toyo Proxes or Goodyear Eagle in my opinion the biggest 15" tyre crap ever if to choose for track day. Falken doing very well on dry and Uniroyal on wet from 'big brands'. But in everyday life, for ordinary people or all those with tight budget and looking for 15" rubbers, they can stick with Highfly HF805's with no fear for everyday miles. Good quality as for the price you need to pay for. But, of course, your choice is in your hands... ;) It's my choice too because I am saving money when I changing tyres 1-2 times per month according to my mad driving style... :P
BTW looking for decent 15" rubbers for serious track days? Google it and count for around 1k per set. Life hurts bro! ;)
8 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2019   
Volkswagen Transporter (255/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 miles
I use these on a VW T5 9 seater and will continue to use them.

They give a fair grip in the wet and are awesome in the dry. They are a summer tyre with M&S (mud and snow) markings and they reacted well - we didn't get stuck when others did.

Road noise is minimal. They wear out just as fast as the Continentals I had before and are just as grippy.

The van is a heavy weight and these tyres have proven their worth.
9 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2019   
Given 42% while driving a Mazda 6 (215/45 R18) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Very disappointed. These tyres fitted in my Mazda Atenza 2006 and only lasted for 14000 km.
I mainly drove in New Zealand town roads and some motorway, day grip was average but when wet it was dangerous.
I drove on heavy rain day when it first fitted (day 3 I believe) and it had very limited grip, it slips very often when i re-start in the lights in wet condition and I was just doing normal acceleration, always had to be extra careful in wet condition.

The tread was almost all gone when i replace them in just 14k km.
I understand it is a budget tyre but with the total performance and experience i would not recommend it at all.

Dangerous, do not last. I end up replace them with Good Year Eagle F1 Directional 5, so far so good.
4 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a MINI Mini Countryman Cooper Petrol (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
Put on front of a 2013 plate Mini Countryman to replace 2 worn Continental’s just before a spell of really bad weather set in (snow, sleet and ice) and l was amazed at the superb levels of grip these two Hi Fly’s gave in such conditions.
Don’t listen to the people who knock Chinese tyres as they are usually the one’s who’ve never even tried them! Indeed, most of the so-called premium tyres these days originate from the Far East anyway. Save yourself a fortune and buy Hi Fly.
Geoff
12 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
bought my golf and it had Hifly 805 on the back with continentals on the front, the fronts quickly wore out so decided to fit same as on the back Hifly 805 and was delighted with the tyres.... good grip in dry ...good in the wet and lasted easily 20k... liked them so much that when tyres needed replacing got full set fitted for just short of £200... no issue in recommending
14 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2018