Kumho Ecsta KU31 Reviews - Page 2

Given 40% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I have never encountered a tyre that slips as much as this tyre - Cant make it for a few hundred meters without the tyres slipping when I press the gas pedal...
130 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2016   
Given 44% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T S line Cabrio (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 7 easy going miles
kf: purchased these tires at a discount tire for 60$ each, after 5,000 miles went to get my tires rotated at the same discount tire. While there they tell me that the tires in the front are already at the red line in terms of tread life. and the rear tires are also very close to wearing out. at 6,000 miles the tread is even with the tread bars in the rear tires which were rotated to the back, two extremely close call accidents occured, both times at low speeds turning, once during rainfall at 15mph after constant rain for 5 hours in houston ( not flooded or high water) nearly collided into a pickup.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2016   
Given 74% while driving a Honda Civic (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 62,500 spirited miles
After 7 years of all type of drive on road and trough town this tyres is very good. It's average on wet after 4 years of use but on dry asphalt even now after 7 years this tyres is remarkable.
Before this I drive same brande same size but Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 that after 5 years of same use is become almost like plastic tyres with inpredictable feeling and very dangerous, almost crash car on wet road from fog because tyres is just snap, loos controlbut now see that 712 is all season tyres , hmm... not so.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2015   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 69% while driving a Ford Fiesta (205/40 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
This is my 2nd set on the car (ford fiesta 05) wish I could say they were "budget" tyres in R.S.A we pay up to R1200 each (same price more or less as pirrely P zero)but still worth buying I get about 18000km on a set. R.S.A roads are not of the best. It can take a hit from a pothole (no bubbles) just mag gets bent wish they had a bigger mag protector on the tyre. Hard driving /braking in the wet they good as well just don't over work them !but they can handle it. Will I buy them again most definitely again and again
1 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2015   
Given 100% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting (205/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 145,000 spirited miles
I just cannot fault this tyre. It is quiet on the motorway. Progressive handling. Excellent in dry and wet conditions in Wales and England. Useless in snow and ice though, but then again this is a summer tyre. It has a treadwear of 320, which means 25-28k miles after tyre rotation at 14k miles (Fiat Grande Punto 1.9JTD Sporting, remapped at 172bhp and 329 lb/ft). Superbly priced too. As good as a Pirelli P Zero Nero, at half the price and twice the durability. Other than Pirelli, I have tried Falkens, Bridgestone Potenza, Kumho KU39. Nothing comes close to the KU31, very highly recommended indeed.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2015   
Given 77% while driving a MG ZS (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
1. Dry grip - grat for low cost tyre (bought 4 for 260euros)- they grip well after beeing warmed a bit, true out whole live span
2. wet grip- they don´t grip well
3. wear- great - visited alps 3 times + 1 track day + city higway driving
fronts are near dead - 25000miles, left just 1mm above control mark, rears maybe 2-3mm.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2014   
Given 67% while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (235/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 14 average miles
Bought 4 new Kumho KU31SPT W for my Peugeot 407 HDi SV wagon 16 months ago. They were good while they lasted. After 14 months & 23000 Kms 2 tyres failed on a highway trip, with another going a couple of weeks later. All still well legal (good 30% tread left) . Yep, loved driving on 'em, but I expected a bit more life from 'em.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2014   
Given 57% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 Kompressor Sedan Auto (W203) (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
In my opinion, not a good experience with these tyres for daily driving. Tyres wore out very fast, not durable at all. Great grip but thats about it.

Mercedes owners with lowered suspension beware, your cars will have a slight Canvar on the rear tyres. So the inside walls wore down to 50% just after 9000kms. After swapping left to right, tyres needed to be replaced just after 16000kms. Thats just 10000miles???

Not recommended for people looking for affordable tyres with decent performance.

Currently trying KU22 to see how they compare. So far 10000kms looking good.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2014   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen (195/45 R15) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have these fitted to my 15x8J with a little stretch on my mk2 16v. lowered with coilovers. Being quite a low profile and with the strech these can be a tad uncomfotable but that was my choise. I wanted grip over comfort as I like fast road driving.

Got 4 from camskill at £35ea. In the dry they are superb and confidence inspiring. As with any tyre the performance in the wet is not so good but not dangerous by any stretch of the imagination.

After around 4k miles I am still very happy with them. Wear is fairly good, uneven on my car due to the tracking being out by again that was the setup I wanted.

Would I buy them again? abso-bloody-lutely!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2014   
Given 84% while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 16v (205/45 R16) on track for 3,000 average miles
Awesome tires, really nice look and excellent behaviour on dry and wet surfaces!!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2014   
Given 94% while driving a Skoda Skoda Superb MK1 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
Best tyres I ever used in terms of quality vs cost ratio. Had Dunlop before and Kumho is no worse than them, maybe even better.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
These SPT KU31 tyres (non run flat) are utterly outstanding value for money. There is no excuse for anybody to opt for unknown and budget tyres with products like this on the market. I have had 3 sets of these tyres so far. The initial appeal was the wet weather grip as it is constantly raining here in the UK but an added benefit was the aesthetics of the tread design. So many more outstanding properties prevailed from the Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyres they replaced. Great feedback, dynamic stability, directionality, high speed predictability, fuel efficiency and road noise insulation.

In summary, these tyres are perfectly suited for small to mid sized performance hatches. The polymer compound is not suited to heavier saloons etc as the wear rate will drastically increase.

I will buy again and again.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2014