Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta Reviews - Page 3

Given 86% while driving a Audi A5 2.0 tfsi remapped (275/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
This replaced Michelin SS on my Audi A5. Surprised!!! Great tires
0 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2015   
Given 80% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
After owning these tyres for 5+ years on my manual RX-8, and having done more than 10.000 miles, or about 16+ thousand km's, I can say these are very good tyres, but a little overated. They're quiet, decent looking, and they last and wear fair enough. They didn't have the wet grip I expected, there were times, that I revved my car, and the car wouldn't launch, the tyres would just spin on the spot! And my car is almost completely stock. The progressiveness these tyres offer is good enough. I have now changed tyres to Hankook Ventus V12 Evo2, I can say that the Hankooks, apart from the progressiveness, are superior to the Sessantas, hands down.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2015   
Given 83% while driving a BMW E92 335i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Replaced Bridgestone runflats, car is transformed especially in the wet. Tram lining has completely gone and no skipping over bumps on corners. Really happy and a lot cheaper than Pirelli etc
0 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2014   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 64% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I'm currently running a second set of these and my experience is very different from the first set.
I agree with all the positive comments in relation to the first set I had, which lasted 25k miles and wore at the same rate front and rear.
This second set is very different.
After 15k miles the rears are down to 3mm but the fronts are still on 5.5mm to 6mm
It's obvious that the rubber compound on the fronts is harder resulting in a lot more noise that the previous set.
On anything like a coarse surface they can become very tiring on a long journey, and all the noise is coming from the front.
On some surfaces they generate a low level howling, so not very good and as I said very different to the first set.
It looks like a quality control issue, or a change of compound, who knows.
Because of this I wouldn't buy them again.
Next time it will be Dunlop sport maxxx gt's
My brother has these on his F10 520d and they are very good and quite.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2014   
Given 94% while driving a BMW (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Fantastic Tyres. Excellent dry grip, almost impossible to unstick them, wet grip is also very good. Handle very well and when on the limit they make the car controllable rather than sudd loss of grip.

I have bought Vredesteins for my previous car - Mini Cooper S they were excellent and now bought them for my BMW 135 M sport to replace my Dunlop sport run- flats. The run-flats never felt like they could get good grip or ever get up to temperature to really stick and would often be bounced off line. These tyres have excellent planted feel in all conditions and allow me to push the car to its limits without fear of losing control.

Quiet and get comfortable ride on the Vredesteins for a car with a rigid chassis with sports suspension. Setup with 225/40 on the front and 245/40 on the rear give very good balance compared to the stock 215/40 and 245/35

Highly recommended as an alternative for run-flats as these XL version have stiffened sidewalls
0 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2014   
Given 94% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Best tyres I've had so far! Great dry grip. Very impressive wet grip. Comfort it excellent and very slow wear. Cheaper than the Bridgestones that came with my car and also outperforms them in all aspects. The tread pattern looks really cool too :P I would definitely buy them again!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a MINI Cooper S (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I swapped to the Vredestein , XL stiffened sidewall version from Pirelli P Zero run-flats. Initially just front then getting some for the back next payday. Immediately noticed they are quiet and much more comfortable ride. Excellent dry grip, supple and the car felt like it just clung on in fast or tight bends when even previous good tyres would under steer. The tyres have a flexibility without ever making roll worse compared to previously stuff run flats.

They have reduced the torque steer but 20-30% with 207ft torque going through the they feel much more balanced and planted even at high revs in 2nd/3rd gear. Yet to see the wear rate with less than 1k of mileage
0 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2014   
Given 92% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/45 R18 R) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Got these on my Focus ST3(225)
Belting tyres, highly recommend for the price. Would have these over the Conti Sports 3 any day, better grip, better looking, more wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2014   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 530i M sport (265/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 20 average miles
This are fantastic tyres ,i have got 20k miles out of my rear and i' m down to 3 mm
will defo. buy another set .
0 - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi mitsubishi evo 8 (225/45 R17) on track for 10 spirited miles
I'm running the these tyres on my mitsubishi evo 8 high power and have been a great tyre all round. They give good high speed grip and have even used them on a track day and have also been fantastic.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
These have lasted 19,000 miles on the back of my 330D, so pretty good given the amount of power they have to put down. They have good all round performance and are a good replacement for the horrid run flats.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2014   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I am just in the process of buying some more of these for the third or fourth time. They have been outstanding in every respect, grip, comfort, feedback, noise, wear, you name it. In the past I have used many of the better known and higher priced tyres and none have been as well rounded in performance as these. Goodyear F1 have better dry grip, but wear much faster, the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 that came as standard on my Mazda 6 MPS don't compare in any department other than comfort and noise, Pirelli P Zero Nero again only out perform these in terms of dry grip. The only tyre that compares favourably in every department are the Michelin Pilot S2, but they are about twice the price and whilst they are comparable, I wouldn't say better. I can't imagine me ever buying another tyre unless they stop making these or change them in some way for the worse.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2014