Nexen CP641

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 59%
Road Feedback 62%
Handling 67%
Wear 76%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 61%

Nexen CP641 Reviews (newest first) - Page 2

Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Bought these tyres to repalce Firesone which were down to the limit. Fitted on front better feel than the out going tyres even before they were down to the limit. Swopped them to the back as recomended . Yet again fine. Good tyre good price
Would definatly buy agian
0 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2012   
Given 96% while driving a Renault Scenic (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Only done a small mileage since my last post but wanted to add that in the recent deluge that we have been having these tyres have been great on flooded roads. These tyres have not once caused any concern driving in adverse weather and have brought back enjoyment to driving this car. If they were more expensive they would still be great. At 3000 miles there is no visible wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2012   
Given 52% while driving a Mazda (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
I bought these speicifcally for the cost. My favorite economy sport tire is the Dunlap Sport Signatures. these are at a comparable price but they had them in stock. I didnt rate wet or wear because i have only had them a day. Initial feedback is that the tire is 'bouncy' compared to the Dunlap tire. I also noticed some wheel vibration at speed. Both of those could be the result of tired and worn struts. I will be replacing struts and shocks in about two weeks. I have taken it for an aggressive drive on dry pavement and it seems to hold up rather well. Except for the occasional adjustment when in a turn I got some wheel movement and vibration. I would buy them again depending on their wet traction and how long they last.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2012   
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 307 (215/55 R15) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Have these on Peugeot 307cc HDi and a 307 2.0 HDI have found them to be excellent value for money. Have comfortably done 20k on the front and will look to replace with the same when they get near 25k. The old Bridgstone Potenzas were great but twice the price!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2012   
Given 82% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I have just bought 4 of these for my taxi and find them to be brilliant! Excellent wet and dry grip, very quiet and surefooted tyre. They are much better than the chinese made sunny crap i had on before and I would go as far to say they are on a par with the continentals i had on before them. The car feels firmly planted to the road and i would definately buy these again for my car and will be ordering a set for the wifes car in the next month or so as they approach the wear limit. I cannot comment on the mileage life of the tyres but given i only got 15 k from a (front) set of continentals if i get that i will be over the moon as these were 30 quid less per tyre than the conti's. Overall, Excellent, Safe feeling tyre which is both comfortable and quiet.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2012   
Given 93% while driving a Renault Scenic (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
The Michelins on the Scenic were still showing good tread but wet weather driving was fearful. Having put Nexens on my Focus the tyre dealer recommnded these for the Renault. The car drives far more positively , quieter and the handling is far better in the dry and starting to bring back the confidence in the wet. I notice that these tyres are now being fitted as standard equipment and I can understand why. These are more expemsive than bargain basement makes but do give the european premium tyres a run for their money. Michelins £500 Nexen £250.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2011   
Given 46% while driving a Mercury Sable (215/60 R16 T) on mostly town for 10 average miles
Bought 2003 Mercury Sable used, fitted with Nexens. Good looking product and adequate remaining tred but now have belt separation @ about 20,000 miles. Ride is unforgiving with medium road noise overall. Wet handling is insecure and snow/ice traction is non-existant. Plan to replace with Hankook Optimo H727's
0 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2011   
Given 60% while driving a Peugeot 106 (175/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles
Had these tyres through the summer and the winter and were good in the dry, gave good grip and were easy to catch if you push them too hard :), but soon as it gets wet you are always on edge when they are goin to let go, not fun!!, the tyres seem to last 4ever thought lol, no matter how much s**t u give them lol.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2011   
Given 60% while driving a Subaru legacy (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
I have a 2008 subaru legacy and the tire worked great on dry pavement and good in wet conditions. But I would not use these tire in the snow. They are not safe on snow. You are asking for trouble if you buy these tires for snow. No way. Even with all wheel drive, the car is like a sled with wheels.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2010   
Given 46% while driving a Lexus SC300 (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I've had these tires on for 25,000 miles (40,000km). Initially they had good grip all around. There is no abnormal wear at all on them, yet the grip has progressively gotten worse. At this point they have absolutely no grip on wet road surface. Even though the vehicle is automatic, it still manages to freely spin the rear tires every time the driver tries to take off from a complete stop. On dry pavement the grip is good to very good, depending on the surface. The ride comfort is also good, however they do follow grooves in the pavement and the driver needs to constantly keep both hands on the steering wheel to avoid unwanted wandering. The tire is advertised as an all season by Nexen with a life of 55,000 miles, however it proves to be a strictly summer tire and the expected life is about half of what's advertised. They were very well priced and I give them that, but don't expect wet grip or sustained good grip as thread wears off.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2010   
Given 90% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
A good tyre for the money giving a very comfortable ride in my Qashqai and with very little road noise. Will buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2010   
Given 86% while driving a Toyota verso 1.8vvt t3 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Fed up with shelling out for Dunlops and so on I decided to fit these Nexens. Car is noticeably quieter at speed and noticeably more comfortable in all conditions. Seem to be waring very well also. I'm really impressed. Also got a superb warranty on them. These have completely chnaged my views on tyre buying - their great.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2010   
Given 60% while driving a Chrysler (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Standard fit is Goodyear NCT, but not really noticed the difference. Had no grip problems in the recent snow. Would probably buy again if wear rate is good.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2010   
Given 76% while driving a Rover 420 SLDI (185/65 R14 H) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
All i can say is that for the price this is a very good tyre, you get what you pay for.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2009   
Given 81% while driving a Rover (/ R) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
good comfortable ride less tyre noise ,found that inflation to 32psi gave good grip even wear positive feel fronts just up for renewing rear still gots miles to go before renewing
0 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2009