Alfa Romeo GTV Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Alfa Romeo GTV.

Do you Drive a Alfa Romeo GTV? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a GTV better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (113) 95% 91% 87% 88% 72% 85%
Cooper Zeon CS8 (15) 87% 81% 81% 77% 82% 83%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (29) 86% 72% 81% 77% 81% 81%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Avon ZV5 (112) 84% 78% 77% 77% 71% 77%
Avon ZV7 (129) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Firestone RoadHawk (38) 84% 75% 71% 65% 54% 73%
Pirelli P Zero (159) 84% 68% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59%
Sunew YS618 (58) 60% 35% 46% 44% 52% 48%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%

Alfa Romeo GTV Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kormoran Kormoran UHP given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
had them on my alfa gtv for a couple of years fantastic in all weathers great tyre
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-10 07:59:04
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
Good tire. But for me it doesn't beat the Asymmetric 5
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-09 15:45:00
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS8 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
replaced some avons with these on my Alfa GTV 2.0 t spark there a lot better super peaceful in the car stick to the road well in the dry and very good in some monsoon condition we had in Cornwall this week if they last 20k will be super happy . avons lasted 15 .000 . very happy so far
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-01 08:44:31
Writing about the Kormoran Kormoran UHP given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Had these on the back of My alfa GTV 2.0 twinspark .no rocket ship but handles very well in the corners.To be honest I cant fault them rain or shine ware seems good a lot better than the Avon XV7s on the front of the car that have worn in a strange way and have cracks in the tread. I and now thinking of replacing the avons with a set of these on the front for around a £100 a pair there very good
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-19 04:55:52
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 80% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
This tire provide very high grip on dry surfaces. Mounted on a FWD coupe that pulls 260+cv well known for having a poor traction. With previous tires (Hankook Ventus prime 2) it was impossible to get enough grip in first gear, even on a perfect straight line
With these pirellis it did'nt spun once ! Lateral grip is just great (better than pilot sport 4 i've also tested). Turns speeds became quite terrifying.
The only drawback is wear : at 7000 km only 2 mm of treadwear left but i run a massive ammount of neg camber so it was more or less expected.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-11 12:53:47
Writing about the Firestone RoadHawk given 45% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Have these on the front of my alfa gtv 2.0 ,Bit of a mixed bag to be honest feel very grippy in the dry but I dont think they do much for the handling at all have had them push out in the dry on corners and
they seem to cause the front of the car to bounce around. The bigest surprise was the loss of traction in the wet in a straight line , the gtv is no rocket ship but they wheel spin in the wet when the t spark engine hits the power band not good at all, they are being put on the back of the car and replaced with somthing that is a lot firmer
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-15 11:19:49
Writing about the Event WL905 given 44% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
amazingly not bad in the dry ,there on the rear of my alfa 2.0 gtv , but OMG in the wet there awful , lost the rear a number of times in the wet worst Tyre I have ever had will be replaced with some landasails a much better tyre do not buy
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-15 09:13:05
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 77% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Reporting back on all four ZV7 tyres after 10,000 miles. Overall these tyres are a good purchase for the price. Dry and wet grip are good but not outstanding, feedback and handling are ok but the really good aspects are comfort and wear. This is a really quiet tyre for long journeys such as motorways and after 10,000 miles are only half worn, down to about 5mm which is not bad at all. Good value for the price, and will consider buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-17 17:27:16
Writing about the Hero Milanza HZ1 given 81% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
I own an Alfa GTV 6. These are very demanding on their front tyres when driven hard.
I first bought a set of Milanzas for my 2 litre GTV and was impressed with the levels of grip and handling through corners, particularly in the dry.
On the 3 litre they seem even better, possibly due to the increased front end weight.
I use my car for 2 hour motorway journeys, local shopping and track days.
Tread compound on these tyres is fairly soft, giving good characteristics for their intended performance road use and also on track.
In the wet there is an 'average' loss of grip and the directional tread pattern leaves 'dry' lines on the road in most situations when new. (standing water in the M5 fast lane excepted!) Obviously with the wear rate associated with the softer tread compound the wet drainage reduces more rapidly than a harder compound would.
Noise and comfort levels seem slightly better than Toyo Proxes and Falken FK452 which I have also used on this vehicle.
This tyre suits MY car, driving style and vehicle budget plan - which is why I bought another set!
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-04 06:57:59
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
My Alfa GTV V6's handling has been totally transformed since fitting x4 Sportmaxx RT's. Much, much better than Potenza RE050A, and now the car is properly planted through the bends at a pace. Very sure footed under heavy braking and almost zero tyre/road noice (Potenza's were very harsh in noise).

Also, they are very cost effective for a 225/45/17/Y Profile, at £96.00 a corner fitted, over £20.00 a corner cheaper than other makes.

In the wet the grip is still very high, no aqua planning on surface water and still corners like its on the dry. A really good, high performance summer tyre that is a must have for any performance car IMO.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-13 11:11:27
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 53% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Have these fitted to my Alfa GTV V6 (summer use only) and although dry grip is good and they sit nice on a smooth motorway, they are AWFUL on A/B roads. The wear rate is also AWFUL and so is the ride comfort - being kicked in the back would be mild by comparison.

The previous owner put them on and after 12mths they are down to 2mm (inner) 4mm (middle) and 5mm (outer) and that's 7,000 miles.

The most disconcerting thing about them is that on a spirited A road run, it feels very skitish over rough surfaces and you back off the power somewhat.

They are not cheap either £130.00 per corner (17") and much better options are available.

In short... AVOID this particular Potenza.

Currently considering Dunlop SportMaxxTT and Potenza SO2.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-09 12:33:11
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 83% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-07 16:15:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre