Michelin Pilot Street

The Michelin Pilot Street is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

Tyre review data from 20 tyre reviews averaging 63% over 73,850 miles driven.

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 60%
Handling 63%
Wear 68%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 51%

The Pilot Street is ranked 28th of 30 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Pilot Street

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Street

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Street. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Michelin Pilot Street Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Yamaha R3 (145/40 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Quite good if you want to ride in nice weather. Get rid of these tires if you'd like to ride during wet days as well! I ride on r3 with these tires and I don't feel confident at all with them!
I used to ride honda 125CBR in UK for more then one year, and to be honest, the grip on smaller tires (you know how tires of 125 bikes are) was MUCH BETTER then the grip on my much wider michelin pilot tires now. I've done already about 3k KM with them and had about 4-5 situations when I nearly felt down during wet days (I have really good experience how to ride in rain from UK but these horrible tires surprise me all the time).
If you want to ride just in nice weather - they're ok but still I think it's better to pay little extra to have decent tires, it can save your life, don't save money on it.
If it's possible that you will be catched by rain or you just want to ride during rainy weather - don't even think about buying this, honestly.
Helpful 125 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2016
Given 59% while driving a Yamaha 2015 MT 125 A (130/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,400 spirited miles
Dry Grip - never had any drama or issue's. They were flawless, however never gave a feeling of security, likely due to the harder compound and vague feedback.

Wet Grip - very poor for the type of tyre this aims to be. I found that I would often have "oh sh*t" moments with these in the wet, and frequently it'd feel like I was going to lose the front even at a slow pace. Look elsewhere if you want good wet weather performance.

Road Feedback - I felt these offers poor feedback until they were on the edge of grip. They hardly let you know what is going on until they are starting to slip. In the wet for example, they do not communicate anything until they are starting to slip. At this point however, they actually communicate quite well.

Handling - these tyre's tip in nicely and are quite predictable once you get used to their numb feedback, as they are very consistent tyre's.

Wear - very disappointing for sporty commuting tyres. I got just over 5k at the rear when I needed to start thinking about replacing them, was barely 1mm off of the minimum depth indicator, on a sub 140kg 125cc with 15hp... Not impressive at all.

Comfort - not amazing but not bad, feels overall like a pretty stiff tyre but isn't outright uncomfortable.

Buy again - personally, I was looking at getting different tyre's near enough the whole time I had these on my bike. I wanted something with more confidence, the only thing that stopped me was the fact I was going to be selling the bike and wouldn't get my money's worth out of a new set. The 100/80/17 130/70/17 sizing of my bike's tyres also made it difficult to find many higher end tyre options. But I wanted to get some Pirelli Diablo Rosso III's. However, for the price and how much grip they have in the dry, as well as they relatively playful handling, these are definitely the not bad.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2023
Given 43% while driving a Honda (120/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Fitted to a Honda NT 650 - fine if not brilliant in the dry but slightest hint of moisture on the road and they squirm around like a snake - utterly deadly in the wet. Lasted 4000miles on the rear and 5500 on the front - not impressive at all and I'm pleased to be rid of them. They seem to absorb road deviations pretty well but are particularly noisy on all surfaces.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2022
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Street tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Street? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Street >

Latest Michelin Pilot Street Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (170/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
Lowsided on wet road, totaled the bike. Felt like it was a good tire until it wasn't. This tire cost me more than any other tire would. Wasn't going fast, but it was still to fast for this tyre.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2022
Given 53% while driving a Yamaha FZ150i (120/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 50 spirited miles
When the road is hot the grip is indeed the best, but when it rains it is a bit dangerous
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 99% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (130/70 R17) on mostly town for 0 miles
Excellent
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Kawasaki Ninja 250 (135/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,800 spirited miles
Honestly I see a lot of bad reviews for the Tyre. I can’t really fault them myself.
I've had them on my ninja 250 for a bit over a year and 11,000km later they still look new with a good profile, no squaring or anything. The smallest tread depth is on the front with 1.9mm to go until the wear bars. 2.5mm on the rear.
PS tyre size on the rear is a 140/70.17 my tyre size isn't listed.

I have had one worrying moment in the dry where I felt the front slipping, but it gripped back after what felt like sideways ABS. Road surface was smooth, warm day and I didn't see anything on the road on that pass or on inspection the following day. I was riding briskly but not pushing it.
No faulting wet weather performance, in fact it feels better in the wet than in the dry (though I ride more cautiously)

I regularly mess around breaking traction when its safe to do so, to see where the limits line. When I try endo's/stoppies I lock up 50% of the time, 50% of the time I lift the rear wheel, that seems good enough for me - rear wheel off the ground in my last rainy ride.
I'm definitely not a super fast rider (1cm chicken strips and my knees are still intact) but I do ride aggressively in a spirited manner. I mostly use my ninja to commute (on twisty country roads), hence the upright riding.
My other bike is a Street Triple 675 hence not using the ninja to its maximum capabilities.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019
Given 86% while driving a Kawasaki Ninja 250 (135/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,300 spirited miles
Honestly I see a lot of bad reviews for the Tyre. I cant really fault them myself.
I've had them on my ninja 250 for a bit over a year and 10,000km later they still look new with a good profile, no squaring or anything.
I have had one worrying moment in the dry where I felt the front slipping, but it gripped back after what felt like sideways ABS. Road surface was smooth, warm day and I didn't see anything on the road on that pass or on inspection the following day.
No faulting wet weather performance, in fact it feels better in the wet than in the dry (though I ride more cautiously) - rear wheel off the ground in my last rainy ride
I regularly faf around breaking traction to see where the limits line, trying endo's / stoppies whatever, I lock up 50% of the time, 50% of the time I lift the rear wheel, that seems good enough for me.
I'm definitely not a super fast rider (1cm chicken strips and my knees are still intact) but i do ride aggressively in a spirited manor. I mostly use my ninja to commute (on twisty country roads), hence the upright riding.
Other bike is a Street Triple 675 hence not using the ninja to its maximum capabilities
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2019
Honda (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 miles
Terrible tyres. I normally get 15000 km from a set. These hit the wear marker at 5500 km. Now I've done 6500 km and they are almost slicks.

They do grip well and I can lean the bike with confidence, but they are not half the price of Michelin Pilot 4s which have lasted me well over twice the km these pieces of shut did.
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2019
Given 36% while driving a Yamaha YZF R125 (225/45 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
If you have enough money you should buy better tyres.
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2018
Given 42% while driving a Yamaha FZ150i (130/90 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
Changed front & rear Pilot Street (non radial). And been riding for 3 months now. Dry grip is ok. Not good but usable under normal riding. But if push these tyres a bit more, then u will wish u spend a little more for a better tyres. Wet grip is unusable, quite slippery n not as expected or advertised by Michelin. Straight road is ok. But very slippery in wet condition in corners. Just need to slow n keep most upright at the corners on wet roads. I regreted buying them as I feel my life is worth much more then these tyres. Need to ride slowly n carefully at the meantime. Save up money to change these Michelin tyres. Never again I shall buy another Michelin tyres.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2018
Given 26% while driving a Honda CBR 600F4i (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
A truly dreadful tyre they wear uneven making them dangerous on anything faster than a push bike
I have done around 500 miles on these tyres and kacked my self on every corner
They wouldn’t warm up in the Sahara never mind in old blitty
Pay a little more for pilot power
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2018
Given 43% while driving a Yamaha YZF R125 (225/45 R18 P) on mostly town for 50 average miles
Truly dreadful tyres. Whilst they are a good grippy tyre in wet and dry the manufacture is desperately poor.
The Michelin Pilot Street front tyre 2.75 18 had such a bulge or offset moulding the bike could not be ridden faster than 25mph without massive vibration and the handlebars banging up and down. The rear Michelin Pilot Street 90/90/18 was only marginally better. As a new biker it took me a while to discover what the problem was. It never occurred to me that tyres could be so mishapen.
My replacement Continental tyre is perfectly formed and smooth as silk.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2017
Given 26% while driving a (155/60 R17) on for 0 miles
Very bad tyres.Wet grip is very bad.Does not give confidence to the rider.Not at all recommended.Even the cheaper MRF tyres are much better than michelin tyres. Dont buy these tyres and save your life
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2017
Given 67% while driving a Yamaha YZF R125 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I have Michelin Pilot Street as rear tyre on my R125. Pretty bad in wet conditions, and slips doing hard cornering on dry ground. Impossible to kneedrag with these tyres.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2016