Vredestein Snowtrac 3 Reviews - Page 3

Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall AstrA 1.6 estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Fitted to a Rover 420sldi I used to drive 23 miles each way to work in the North East of Scotland. I never once couldn't get to work no matter how deep the snow.
I now have an Astra 1.6 petrol down in Yorkshire and fitted a set just before the winter of 2009. We live on a 1 in 5 cobbled hill and the car clawed it's way to the top thoughout the deep snow. Amazing grip in snow and slush but they also work realy well when it's just plain cold. I keep them on the back during the summer and the wear is negligible. We fitted Maxxis winter tyres to my wifes van and they are also really good but not quite on a par with the Snowtrac. (Couldn't get the Snowtrac in the right size for the van). I would make winter tyres mandatory for snow covered roads - they are a life saver!
0 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2010   
Given 90% while driving a Audi A4 2.5tdi Quattro Avant Sport (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 90 spirited miles
Three years ago I bought 2nd hand steel wheels and a set of winter tyres.
1/. My wife had to travel a one hour round trip to see her mother & shed start out with ice on country lanes on a frosty morning
2/. we take the car skiing, Les Gets and on to Courcheval some times to Italy or Austria.
Can always drive round the resort and see Many Anglais have caught on now.
Last winter we were NEVER stuck, ice covered Shropshire back roads, collecting the post as the postman wont drive, medicine from the Doc. for the sick, passing Dicos all two & 1/2 tons stuck a couple of times pulling the out the ditch Ha Ha
0 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2010   
Given 86% while driving a BMW E39 5 series (205/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
The best winter tyre I had so far. No amount of snow can surprise you even with RWD and an empty car!
0 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2010   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.8 sport (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Amazing grip in the snow - fitted to my Astra! This winter, if there was enough clearance, I could happily drive in any amount of snow or ice. Better grip than some Kia 4x4s that were struggling. I was overtaking other cars using the snow filled lane that nobody else would venture into! So far they seem fine in the dry as well and I don't think I'll take them off in the summer since the car 10 years old now. In the dry they are quite a bit less grippy and stable on corners than my previous Vredestien Sportrac summer tyres but still perfectly fine.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2010   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 73,000 spirited miles
Until the bad weather set in - 21st December 2009 - we had been using Toyo all-season tyres on my wife's Yaris automatic and with some careful driving we actually managed to get home from High Wycombe on the awful night of 21 Dec 2009 - 8 miles in five hours. I then decided that there must be a better way, particularly if the appalling weather looked set to continue.

I did some basic internet research about winter tyres and realised that 'winter' did not mean simply snowbound. In fact I had never appreciated or understood the differences in structure and performance characteristic between all-season and 'winter tyres.

Next day I went to my local Merit tyres centre in Little Chalfont, Bucks and they suggested I have a look at Vredestein Snowtrac3s for our car. They also suggested I but a set of basis 14" 5.5J steel wheels on which to fit them. Two days later the Snowtrac3's were fitted and over the next three weeks the Yaris did not put a foot wrong during some of the worst road weather conditions in the Chilterns in the past 30 years.

So sure footed are the tyres that my wife calls them her "Fred Astaire's".

My Toyo's are in storage, free of charge, at the tyre shop until March - small charge to swap tyre sets of ?18 - when the Tokyo's will be refitted.

Absolutely sold on the concept of using winter tyres particularly as the bleeding hearts at the Bucks CC Highways Division show no sign of understanding that the first "essential/front-line service" that local authorities need to have as a priority is the 'infrastructure and the ability to ensure that everything that needs to work has the ability to do so."

0 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2010   
Given 75% while driving a Jaguar X Type 2.0D Sport Premium (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Switched over to winter tyres shortly after the snowfall over Christmas/New Year. I'd been meaning to get some for a while but just never got round to it. They're fitted on a spare set of steel wheels and the difference compared to the Summer tyres I had on is just amazing. I can stop when I would normally just slide and I can drive around and get up/down hills where other cars are just spinning.
It's too early to say about wear or dry grip as I haven't had them long enough and the roads haven't really been dry but they are designed as Severe Weather Tyres with the Snowflake in the Mountain symbol and for the job I bought them for they have been faultless. I'll come back and edit the review once the winter is over.

Yes I would buy them again and if I can get them in the sizes for my other car I will buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2010