Ford Mustang GT Convertible Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Mustang GT Convertible.

Do you Drive a Ford Mustang GT Convertible? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mustang GT Convertible better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodride All Season Elite Z 401 (4) 88% 78% 78% 75% 90% 88%
Momo Outrun M3 (20) 81% 68% 71% 75% 70% 81%
Nitto NT555 G2 (5) 80% 63% 83% 78% 73% 68%
Primewell PZ900 (59) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%

Ford Mustang GT Convertible Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nitto NT555 G2 given 63% (285-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
These tires perform best when you can get them hot. Under 60 degrees (F) they are noticeably slicker, I only run these tires in the late spring and summer. These tires have a fairly rigid sidewall so don't expect them to ride like a grand touring tire. The amount of feedback in the tire is pretty good. I found these tires like to pull the car into the ruts of the road. I get the tires spinning pretty often at intersections and in parking lots and so far haven't had any excess wear or chunking issues. You can get away with the speed limit in light rain, but in moderate and heavy rain you will be going at least 5-10 mph under the posted speed. Expect the rear end to slide out often and expect fairly long stopping distances in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-14 09:52:58
Writing about the Goodride All Season Elite Z 401 given 65% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Update after almost a year:

it's a winter tyre in the first place. Snow traction, braking, cold wet roads, sludge, the tyre performs fine.

Delayed steering response has indeed been noticeable.

As soon the outside temperature is above 10-15°C then the car becomes unstable above 80km/h. This was a little disappointing but since I have another set of rims with summer tyres I will keep using them in the winter.

They were also fitted on a small Hyundai rental car and I would say that the performance was acceptable in summer conditions.

For a small car they are fine. Heavy and high performance I rather use them in winter only.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-30 14:09:19
Writing about the Primewell PZ900 given 76% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I purchased these tires because of price about 5yrs ago. They handle great, almost no road noise. Very happy for such a low cost tire.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-10 10:52:26
Writing about the Momo Outrun M3 given 88% (245-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-03 09:08:22
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 88% (285-30-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
These came mounted with a staggered set of 20" Black Giovanna Dalar wheels installed on a modified 5Spd 2006 Ford Mustang GT Convertible w/ 25k miles. 20x10 rear/ 20x9 front. The fronts are PHI-R's and the rear PHI 2's. Read reviews all over the net and had some doubts due to the lack of info on these. After researching I found the reviews were 50/50 positive-negative online on various sites. I did notice (and read elsewhere) that the tread pattern was almost exactly the same as the Continental Sport Contact 2 - even to the sidewall. Speaking of which, the sidewall on these Accelera's ARE THE BEST I've ever seen on a tire - and, again, almost exactly the same as the Conti SC2's. After 2 weeks of driving, the tires are great. They ride smooth and quiet. Turn in response is crisp and feedback is excellent - almost telekinetic. I tend to drive like a maniac and so far (2 weeks) the tires can handle what I've thrown at them. High speed cornering and straights, weaving in and out thru traffic they ride beautifully even with going +2 on the wheel size and width. Usually with wider tires, understeer occurs but these tires are accurate. I HAVE NOT driven them in the rain or snow. I spend way too much time, money and effort detailing my car to show-room clean and refuse to just drive it in the rain, let alone snow. I have 2 Jeep Grand Cherokees for that. Also, the Mustang has way too much torque to drive in rain/ snow. Even with the brand new 235/50-18 BFG Sport Comp 2's I had mounted on the stock wheels, the Mustang still spun in the rain accelerating from 1st gear. I'm a hardcore auto enthusiast/ experienced DIY mechanic and have run many performance tires on 5 different sports cars: BFG KDW 2, Goodyear Gatorbacks, Firestone SZ50, BFG Sport Comps 2, Pirelli P Zero Rosso, Yokohama's, Falken FK452, Bridgestone Potenza RE050, Dunlop Direzza's, and so on. I can say these Accelera's are EVERY bit as good as any I've driven on and for the price, BETTER. I'd buy these again although I'd like to try the Goodyear F1 Supercar 305/30-20 on the rear wheels and 255/35 front. I'll be back to update my review after 5000/10000 miles although I only put about 5000 miles/ year on this car.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-28 00:55:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre