SEAT Leon TDi SE 110 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the SEAT Leon TDi SE 110.

Do you Drive a SEAT Leon TDi SE 110? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Leon TDi SE 110 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (85) 89% 86% 84% 84% 86% 84%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (215) 87% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86%
Gislaved Ultra Speed (10) 84% 71% 79% 65% 77% 67%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (124) 77% 67% 61% 59% 70% 71%

SEAT Leon TDi SE 110 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Gislaved Ultra Speed given 89% (195-65-15-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 22000 average miles
Nice tires low cost.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-22 14:59:59
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 92% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bough these to replace my very worn Conti Premium Contact 5's as the conti's were £46 a corner and these were £24, but got better test results.

I drive my cars on the limit most of the time out of traffic, I go through a set of summers in a year even swapping front to back, so I'm a "spirited driver".

These seem just as good as the Conti's so far in comfort and shock absorbtion (I have to use an unadopted road on my commute) and take the punishment I give them (potholes at 30-40 mph).

I'm not sure if it's the sidewalls or tread, but the car seems slightly more nervous on quick changes of direction compared to the Conti's, but not in a way to stop me pushing as they seem progressive and don't bite, even in the wet.

In standing water and heavy weather they've been brilliant, better than the Conti's.

They have also improved my "lap time" from my mate's house to mine, shaving a minute off my 11 minute record vs the Conti's, but that could be just because they're new.

If prices stay the same, I'd recommend these as the best for your VAG Golf/Leon/A3 etc as they're just as good if not better in some situations, but 40% cheaper
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-04 15:56:40
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
Fitted to O4 Seat Leon TDI that does a mixture of country roads and motorway miles. I drive fairly sensibly but like to have a blast once in a while.

Good points
-Very good in the dry
-Very good in the wet (not so good when 50% worn)
-Low noise
-Good fuel efficiency (I get 50 mpg driving sensibly)

Bad points
-Wear rate - mine have done 22,000 in 12 months and still have 3-4mm but now it's getting wet they are nowhere near as sure footed.
-Soft tyre walls - tend to roll a bit when pushed round corners and like others I keep checking my tyre pressures!

Overall - not a bad tyre - I like grip and it has loads in the dry - you can push the tyre and it feels good. Likewise in the wet they have good grip and you tend to know what the limits are. Now that they are on 3-4mm they are noticeably less grippy on damp roads and will be replaced soon so I have new rubber for the winter season.

Only been on the car 12m but have done 22,000+ miles so not actually that bad. I know that if I drove the car harder or had them on a higher spec car you could easily scrub them by 10,000 miles. It's a trade off for grip vs wear rate. I previously had Goodrich G-Grip and they lasted 33,000 miles but probably not as grippy but still very good in wet/dry.

For the money the GY are a good tyre but if you are a spirited driver or don't want the squidgy sidewalls you may want to reconsider.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-29 10:09:04
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
This is an interesting one. I agree with some of the positives but also some of the negatives.
I have a fwd TDI and just wanted well priced tyres that would stick to the road in wet and dry conditions.
I used to run Goodrich G-Grip which I thought were pretty good (could get 30,000m out of a set). Changed to Goodyears and thought they were ok.

Positives
Good grip in wet and dry - feel sure footed and predictable
Very confident in standing water (low aquaplaning risk)
Fuel economy good (c.50 mpg)
Very predictable grip

Negatives
Poor wear rate - c.22,000 miles
Soft sidewalls so some `wobble` at speed on corners
More prone to punctures? I've had 2 in 3 months.

My driving has changed from main roads to more country lanes so it may be harsh to blame the tyre for punctures. Both were small nails.
The wear rate and more noticeably weaker side walls could be because I push the car a bit more on the country roads so again it's subjective.

There is the always the trade off of grip v's wear rate so you can't have everything.

Overall they aren't a bad tyre. I feel safe using them and if you are a commuter and not planning to push them too hard then they aren't a bad tyre. Maybe not the best for the more free-spirited dirver - but again, you get what you pay for!

I will probably change to something with a stronger side wall (might go back to the Goodrich if I can find them).
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-22 11:31:09
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 90% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Awesome tyres! I've had them on the last 3 cars I owned and each time they improved the car more which is impressive.

Even in the wet they grip well but your still able to slide the car but still be in control as well which really does make them such a good tyre in my mind. I have told other fellow like minded drivers to buy these, they have and they too have stuck to these since. Great Tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2008-04-18 18:30:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre