Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews - Page 2

Given 73% while driving a Audi RS4 Quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Really surprised about the grip levels, especially in the wet. Balance is towards too much understeer in my case, and some delay at the rear axle can be felt with spirited driving and at high speeds in autobahn. For normal driving is a good tyre, but it doesn't communicate too much through the steering; maybe comfort is the worst area, showing a little too sharp feel over most impacts and some small aftershake. Noise levels are average. Wear seems to be very good as they have more than 12kkm and they look...well, worn, but normal, no cracks or weird things after many twisties, Europe trips and even some Nordschleife action. Would definitely buy again for a family car that does motorway and mild country roads, but not for a weekend car.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2021
Volvo V70D5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Have these tires on my Volvo V70 D5 2wd manual. Have drivin about 30000km on them. Got them installed when I bought the car, used when I test drove the car at first It had worn michelins, they where much softer and as I remember less noisy and more comfortable. At that test drive I did not drive aggressively so I cannot comment on the feel on the old tires but they lacked a lot of grip. The Premium contact 6 hooks to the ground really good pulling away in dry or wet. But I feel a lot torque steer and sensitivity to tracks or unevenness in the road. When you launch or drive aggressively the tires hook really good but demands a lot of the driver in terms of holding the wheel and react to unevenness in the road. I would like a more forgiving tire. Tire wear is bad (wearing fast(, but the wear pattern is very good wearing evenly. Reason I bought the tire was I was so happy with the grip, comfort, performance and wear life (60000km) om my Premium contact 5 I had on the previous car. I do not think I would by the same tire again I will try out a new tire, not because of the cost per km and the nasty jerks in the wheel I get.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021
Audi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Replaced Conti Sport Contact 5 with these. Very very Happy, they dont grip as well as the SC5, But then these Last MUCH longer than the SC5's did. Dry grip is excellent for what they are. Braking is stable and swift. We had some recent unseasonal winter Rain storms here in Pretoria, Aquaplaning on highway on some deep streams/puddles was very controlled, and predictable: no clenching moments ;) . Not noisy at all ( compared to the Falkens before I ran the SC5.) Will stick to these untill the 7's come out...
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2021
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 700 spirited miles
I am using these tires on my 2015 160 hp automatic scirocco. This is the only tire that stops my car without activating ABS. Before buying this, I was looking at Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Since Michelin is a very smooth tire and our roads are really bad in Turkey, I chosed PC6. I am really happy with them. The feedback your are getting from your car is amazing. Note: Some people wrote things about the noise. I don't think that there is a problem about noise. I am using them for 2k km, I don't have any problem.
Helpful 80 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2021
Given 56% while driving a Ford S Max (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Good tyre. Awful value for money! They're not bad. But they're not great. At all. Hugely expensive and therefore very disappointing. Impression that they are melting onto the road in got weather. Wear is the same as a budget tyre. Handling good, but not progressive enough at the limit. Heavy steering feel and only good in wet. Nothing like the old conti 2's back in the day. If you drive or park on loose gravel, you'll be spending more time picking out pieces of gravel from the tyres than driving due to groove sizes. More than half worn after 20,000 Km Mostly smooth French motorways with some very spirited A road driving thrown in.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2021
Given 89% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Fitted PremiumContact 6s to my mapped Yeti 170tdi 4x4 having run Sportcontact 5s on it previously, & because they really impressed by how much they improved the car after Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance & Dunlop SP01 tyres. The Yeti also has Eibach springs & Bilstein dampers fitted so dynamically is pretty impressive & will keep any decent warm hatch honest. Subjectively it's also a better car than my much newer (albeit quicker) Audi S3, so it deserves & can make use of good tyres. The Premium Contact 6s have noticeably better ride quality over significant bumps than the SC5, yet still retained 95% of that tyre's brilliant subjective feel. Wet & dry grip were really impressive, & it's only suffered any performance drop off once below about 2.5mm of tread. Their only slightly weakness is aquaplaining resistance especially later in life & when compared to a premium new winter tyre, but that's probably unfair as they have deeper tread from new than any summer tyre anyway. Other than that the PremiumContact 6 has been a very impressive tyre. Regretting buying Michelin PS4 tyres for my S3 now, wish I'd put these on the S3 instead. Wear wise, the PC6 has outlasted the SC5 as they've done around 30K miles in total. Would definitely highly recommend & buy again.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020
Given 89% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Had those tires for one summer (and than i bought different wheels). They are just very very good, wet or dry always fun to drive with them. My only negativ for those tires is comfort level(both comfort and noise).. but i i gues we cant have all ... Thats actually only reason im switching for goodyear eagle asym5 for my new rims.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Renault Latitude (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I recently replaced to premiumcontact6 from michelin primacy3. My dad and I used primacy3 for 50000 miles and we know the limits for primacy3. However Continental surprised us with its wet and dry handling. In last 2000 miles I checked the limits of premiumcontact6 several times and it surprised me. It gives a strong confidence to driver which also can be dangerous. I totally recommend it.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2020
Given 79% while driving a BMW 320D (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 14,000 spirited miles
This is second review, first one was at 2000 miles, this one at ~14000. Dry grip is okay, but not what I expected. But I'm impressed by the wet grip! There's almost no difference in speed I can go through the corner when wet compared to dry. It's pretty amazing. I like how easy it's to drive them fast. I would probably buy them again.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
The Continental Premium Contact 6 are great tires in dry and wet as well. I mostly drive mountain roads and of course the spirited way to drive, at this pricetag I'm a bit disapointed of the mileage of about 6000 miles. I have an alfa romeo 159 TBI with 200hp lowered wit kw suspension, next summer season I am likely to try some other tyres. These are my first "performance oriented" tyres, therefore I can't compare them to other brands yet. I hope this review can provide any help and keep the gas burning.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2020
Given 72% while driving a Honda Legend 3.5 V6 SH AWD (KB1) (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
All-round performance is very good. Dry and wet grip are great and although my car is heavy on the front the tyres are masking that very well. At the limit, there is obvious understeer, but always easily predictable, even on wet surfaces. But unfortunately the tyres can be very noisy. On average it is not bad, but on rough (asphalt) concrete there are lots of noise and vibrations delivered into the cabin and mainly into the steering wheel. I do not remember other tires were exhibiting the same behaviour. But the only direct comparison, I have on the same road is with my winter tires - Goodyear Vector 4Season Gen2 - which are a little noisier overall but are not so picky about surfaces.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Honestly can't fault it, best tyre I've had so far. Comfy but sporty, best for average spirited use IMO.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2020