Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews - Page 2

Given 93% while driving a BMW 525 (275/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 17,380 spirited miles
Superb dry and wet grip tyre. Nothing much to complaint about, very good tyre. Fitted on my bmw 525 series, Kumho handles my car exceptionally well compared to Yokohama tyres which fail to brake in time during during days.
7 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a Mercedes Benz E 320 CDi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Kumho ps71 has surprised me with its great handling and comfort level. Great priced with all the attributes of Michelin PS4 tyre which I used previously but at less than half the price. Fitted 245/40R18 for my Mercedes E280, been an great all round tyre.
9 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Very responsive tyre with good handling in both wet and dry weather. Noise wise it's much quieter compared to the other high performance tyre that I had previously. Value for money.
Purchased at the 1/2 price of other branded tyre.
14 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2019   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 40% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (225/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Bought as an “upgrade” from lower mid range tyres. Whilst handling and grip is fine under normal driving conditions there is lots of road noise at any speed which is a bit tiring on longer trips but acceptable. However, they are terrible at motorway speeds from 71-76mph, droning that is very intrusive to the point I though I had a wheel bearing going. Removed after 3000 miles as I couldn’t stand it any longer. Swapped to some nangkang NS-2 which are considerably cheaper and possibly seen as an inferior brand but instantly cured my road noise and droning problems.. please don’t waste your money on these!
1 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2019   
Given 41% while driving a Audi A4 Allroad (245/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Bought these less than a year ago and they are down to the wear indicators already, all in all around 14000 straight motorway miles out of these which is bad for a general purpose tyre. The compount seems very soft which seems to help in dry grip but wet performance is poor and tramlining is terrible. Will not buy again.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a BMW 330 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
After trying many different tyres, these offer the best combination of grip, feel and wear. Road noise is impressively low, grip is good in all/most conditions and the tread is quite firm in that the blocks can't be felt moving around even when new.
They feel positive and give good feedback with no noticeable tramlining noticed.
The only downsides are: the wear rate could be better...but, having said that, these tyres in 94XL format, are a fair chunk better than other similarly priced tyres offering similar performance and the limited availability.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2019   
Given 48% while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (245/40 R18) on for 0 miles
Just avoid these! Impossible to get in balance. Tyres are not "round". Didn't even know that it would be possible for tyres that are not even the cheapest on the market and has had decent reviews in test. I feel really fooled and am really disapppointed. Save your money and buy something better!
17 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2018   
Given 70% while driving a Toyota Prius (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 17 average miles
after a year and a half of a love-hate relationship with these tires it was time to end it.

I have to admit - the grip was always phenomenal. sometimes on the wet even better than on dry. breaking really strong, you just new the car would stop really quick if needed. the steering response was great, handling confident, the greatly understeered Prius became a joy to ride even through the curvy country rooads. so, on that part, it is a genuine, pure 10. A+. best of what I drove, ever. easily.

but - there's always a but - at the cost of the comfort. I did cca. 27.000 km with these tires. and had to balance, rebalance and refit and whatnot, 5 different times! 5! TIMES! usually I did it only when switching from winter to summer tires, but here, I had to do it basically after every 5000 km. yes, I did rotate the wheels - front to back, back to front, last time we even took the tires of and switched the alloy rims, just to make sure the rims are not problematic. nothing. we even did inspection of the suspension, as there were also some strange noises coming from underneath the car. and vibrations were present still.

the party would mainly start on the highways, with speeds above 110km/h. small, but annoying vibrations. at 130 vibrations would go away in straight line but would appear during faster long highway turns. a strange noise would appear, somewhere from the front part of the car - first I thought it was my wheel bearing, but since there was no noise during country road and city driving, I assumed it was not the bearing. we even did a check on all four, but the bearings were fine. then we turned the wheels front to back, and the noise would start to come from the back of the car so - tires.

also, these tires are quite a bit "thirsty". they need cca. 0.2 to 0.5 l/100 km more than Michelins I had prior to them and Goodyears I have now. Actually, I can feel less rolling resistance when I am cruising around the city.

so, after a year and a half of love-hate relationship, it was enough. with some 5 mm of thread still left, so plenty of live and grip in them still, I threw them off the car and fitted GoodYear EfficientGrip Performance. completely different car. runs smoothly, much more comfortable and much more quiet in the city and finally with no vibrations on the highway.
2 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2018   
Given 70% while driving a Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I got these to replace the nexen tyres on my mazda 6. Tyres are ok good grip in the wet etc. just to much road noise for me I’ll be going back to nexen su1 tyres asap
12 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2018   
Given 62% while driving a Toyota Auris (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,400 average miles
Having used Kumho winter tyres with good experience, I confidently changed to PS71.
Initial reaction was not as noisy as the old Dunlops, but there is a distinct feeling that the tyres are soft which prompted me to immediately think the fitting station had got it wrong; but the pressures were spot on.
By 700 km from the south coast, via Calais down to Strasbourg the Hybrid "Economy Meter" had climbed from 4.8 lt per 100km to 5.5lt per 100km.
I have now done 1400km and the Economy Meter has stayed at 5.5lt.
Very disapointed, but next month I have to put on the winter tyres. (by law)
My choice but sorry Kumho !
0 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Prius (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,500 average miles
I did some 17.000 km on these tires. The grip is still on the same level, no matter the road, dry or wet. Slowly showing some signs of ware, but still pretty much all of the profile available still - the "checkered" flag marking disappeared on fronts, still some visible on the rears.
Had some problems with vibrations, but after rebalancing these tires are really comfortable. They are a bit louder than when they were new, especially during city braking.
They are not as "eco" as the Michelin Primacy HP I had before, maybe about 0,3-0,5 l/100 km of fuel consumption more, but on the other hand the car really drives nice and also give more information about what is going on under the tires.
Definitely the Kumho Ecsta PS71 are on par with the premium tires (at least comparing to Michelins which were fitted prior), but for a fraction of the price.
20 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda 6 Series (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,856 spirited miles
Had these tyres fitted to front no problems very good tyres hold road well very good in wet conditions,they seem to need a but more air pressure then 32psl so increased to 36psi have kumhos ku 39 sports on rear also good tyres.
11 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2017