Kumho Ecsta PS71 Reviews - Page 2

Given 71% while driving a MINI R56 Factory John Cooper Works (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have a set of these in runflat on a '13 Mini cooper JCW. They stick very well in the dry, you have to be really pushing to get understeer. In the wet they will easily spin up a wheel under full throttle in 2nd, but cornering is very confidence inspiring. My dislike is that these tyres cause the car to wander on the road quite badly, following dips and camber and needing steering correction, this may be because I have the runflat version. They are also quite noisy especially on less perfect surfaces, again may be because of runflat. Will be replacing them with pilot sport 4, but I am happy with the performance/price.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2021
Given 97% while driving a Holden Ute SS (265/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Look good handle well especially at the limit, plenty of feedback from tyres
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2021
Given 92% while driving a Honda Accord (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
I got the kumho PS71 tires for my Honda Accord Coupe. And I absolutely love them. Kumho has very good reputation in the tire industry and this is definitely no exception. The tires handle extremely well. And they cannot believe how quiet they are on the road.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2021
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 66% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I bought this tires for the front of my car, I had some Hankook S1 Evo2 at the end of their life, and decide to go for this tires after see some good comments, But there really not that amazing. They are good tires if you just want to make kms... They grip ok, but if you like to drive in the mountains and as fast as possible, and not the best choice. I changed to the Hankook S1 Evo3, they are not that expensive and are much better. I give than a 8/10 for daily drive 6/10 for sporty drive.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2021
Given 89% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 30 spirited miles
Loads of grip in the wet and dry I've never been able to loose traction on these tyres until they're worn out. Aquaplaning is something of the past with these tyres. They're a bit noisy and car be a bit rough on back roads especially in the South of Ireland where the council can't be bothered to fix any road that isn't a Motor-way to Dublin. The tyres are also very predictable, they handle extremely well to the point you can make it around the harshest of turns on a main road at at least 80mph without breaking a sweat. My front tyres were baldy after 9 months which is pretty good considering I do roughly 40,000 miles a year and I have a pretty heavy foot. Id recommend these tyres to anyone who enjoys driving a bit over the speed limit and doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg for good performance tyres. They truly are the best budget performance tyre that'll still beat expensive performance tyres.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2021
Given 71% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Bought a car with kumhos on. Was a bit suspicious, but I was surprised. It handled well, and didn’t cause me any scares. When compared to UHP tyres, it doesn’t shine, but it’s far better than a budget tyre. After having a puncture and only being able to fit a budget tyre, i could appreciate the reasonable grip it has. No real scares in the wet.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
Had crappy budget tyres on before. Made the switch to these because they were a good price. Car feels so much better now. Great grip around corners in wet and dry, car feels much more fun and safer to drive now
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen CC (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I consider that they are incredible tires, what surprised me the most was on the road I put them to the test with all my driving skills for more than 20 years and I was really surprised how good they feel, it was dry and wet from 100 miles to 150 miles per hour for 3 hours was amazing.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2021
Given 71% while driving a BMW 320d touring (255/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
They were very grippy tyres that wore evenly. I wouldn’t buy again because the rear left was finished after 9,000 miles.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2020
Given 84% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
When I bought a car the previous owner had put Kumho PS71 on. I was sceptical at first but they are pretty sticky and suit the car pretty well. Pretty predictable. Never stepped out on me unexpectedly. Solid turn in response. No unexpected understeer. Wet performance was surprisingly good, never had any moments. Relatively loud, but nothing terrible. Have bought again.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I drove with this tyres in a combination of road. First on the highway (about 10.000 km) and then in the city and and the surroundings (about 7.000 km). Wear was a little higher on the highway, about 15%, compared to mixed driving.
After 17-18.000 km the tyres have about 5.5-6.2 mm remaining, from 8.5 mm as they had at purchase, which is ok for a UHP tire and the quality in road.

I had no problems with them in terms of balance, even when you can switch between them (face with back after 10.000 km).

I am not the most sporty driver but I do not drive like an old man :D , so for my needs they are excellent, never gave me emotions.

The only complaint is that they are a bit noisy for my taste, especially when they are cold. If they did not have this minus, I would not have considered another tire.

Finally;

They are absolut great for those people who not drive in the rally race, or those who pushing to the limit their car, but with the minus about the noise, could be a litter better.

Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2020
Given 50% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Purchased these Kumho’s to try something different, I usual use Conti, Dunlop or Bridgestone.

I found them average in the dry but shocking in the wet. They did not like any patches of water and pulled the car into water spots but then in the dry they felt like any other tyre driving normal but did not take long to reach the limits when driving hard.

I will be going back to my normal choice next time.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019