Land Rover Range Rover P38 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Range Rover P38.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Range Rover P38? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Range Rover P38 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Avon Ranger (13) 89% 90% 86% 78% 95% 78%
Avon Ranger Sport (1) 100% 100% 80% 80% 70% 80%
Maxxis Marauder II MAS2 (8) 95% 83% 75% 80% 82% 85%
Linglong Green Max HP010 (11) 80% 76% 77% 78% 84% 77%
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (10) 83% 90% 79% 70% 62% 80%
Kumho Ecsta X3 KL17 ASYMMETRIC (2) 95% 80% 70% 35% 0% 75%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (31) 86% 79% 75% 74% 53% 72%
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (11) 85% 65% 66% 69% 79% 67%
Toyo Open Country AT plus (2) 75% 50% 65% 75% 45% 65%
Achilles Desert Hawk HT (5) 74% 64% 62% 60% 65% 54%
Falken ZIEX ZE329 (9) 73% 54% 56% 58% 35% 49%

Land Rover Range Rover P38 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon Ranger given 93% (155-65-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
i have run these on my range rover on and of road very happy with the results superb tyre just a shame i cant get replacement anymore when i find a tyre that fits my needs i like to stick with it
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-29 12:48:17
Writing about the Toyo Open Country AT plus given 82% (285-60-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Good combination of offroady tire and on road behavior. Quiet on high speeds, bit less comfort but good feedback from the strong sidewalls.
Good dry grip from the relative soft rubber, expect good snow handling.
Have about 5000km on the tires and no visable wear yet.
I have not yet driven these in the wet and snow, wil update.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-22 09:31:31
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 86% (255-50-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
Weatherproof SUV on Range Rover P38 diesel. During the hottest summer for years and 6000 miles (2000 around Scotland) only wore down 2mm. I have used them in wet and very pleased with the grip over that from Pirelli Scorpions it previously had. As an off-roader I have used them at our 4x4 site, as well as going to marshal at others. They do very well and are actually better off-road than Falken AT we also have. The Nokians have a kevlar type layer in the sidewalls to give better protection against damage and punctures.

Will buy them again and also when the time comes see if I can get them for our other vehicles.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-30 18:08:35
Writing about the Linglong Green Max HP010 given 96% (255-65-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre on my 1996 2.5 DSE Range Rover, will buy again definately.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-11 13:56:36
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE329 given 20% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
So noisy i had to take them off. complete waste of money!
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-03 16:43:54
Writing about the Maxxis Marauder II MAS2 given 94% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-12 23:46:07
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta X3 KL17 ASYMMETRIC given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Just purchased two new for the front of my Range P38. The car was originally running on Scorpion ST's but they are now no longer produced and the newer model Scorpions didn't look as good for the money. Paid £165 for two and thus far feel good. The weather and driving conditions have been hot (30 degrees) but so far so good. Well worth the money and feel more responsive than the Scorpions that have just been removed.

I will update more as I use these tyres as I think they are a bargain for the money
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-18 20:34:40
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk HT given 72% (255-50-19-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 average miles
These were fitted to my range rover when I bought it, having seen the name I was a bit dubious as to their ability. I haven't driven far, but so far so good, they have good traction in wet and dry, with no noticeable wheel spin. The temperature is quiet low at the moment but haven't experienced ice or snow. I think with having 4wd it is helping a little but generally i can't complain. I will give further feed back in a month or so.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-01 22:20:36
Writing about the Avon Ranger Sport given 86% (225-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Work well in sticky mud, grip reasonably in snow and ice.. Great on the motorway.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-21 22:00:38
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact UHP given 79% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Put a pair of these on the front of a Range Rover, lovely tyre but they
wore out in just 5k (gentle) miles. My Range Rover is driven very calmly
and I couldn't believe that these tyres were worn out in just 5k. Shame,
as definitely would have bought again if wear was accetable.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-23 14:21:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre