Porsche Cayman s Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Porsche Cayman s.

Do you Drive a Porsche Cayman s? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cayman s better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (62) 95% 88% 91% 92% 64% 76%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Jinyu YU63 (52) 78% 62% 67% 66% 72% 72%

Porsche Cayman s Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 83% (265-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Outstanding UUHP tyre. Sharp on the steering with excellent feedback in both the dry and wet. Grip is exceptional once warmed up (takes a few miles to build temperature) and the performance on a wet road is incredible.

Downsides are the tyre has high road noise and transmits sudden shocks into the chassis rather than absorbing in the tyre, not too bad if you have decent damping but something to be aware of if you value comfort and noise. Very much a "sporty" tyre for everyday driving without being too track focussed (ie normal road driving gets enough heat into the tyre to "switch on" the grip)

Cannot comment on wear as only put 2k miles on, but good to see tread depth and the small about of sipes go all the way to the base of the tyre which suggest performance should stay reasonably consistent over the life of the tyre. Tyre wear seems average for a UUHP tyre based on current wear rates.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-22 16:21:18
Writing about the Jinyu YU63 given 54% (265-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Bought a used 2009 Cayman S and the dealer must have installed these tires in the rear (265). They are OK on dry surface. This would be all I care, because I don't go out with my sports car in the rain; but it can and does happen seldom that I get caught in it. The first time I was coming off a ramp to get into a 4 lane highway and I was in 3rd gear taking it easy (70 kms/hr); I hit the gas gently and I found myself almost 90 degrees sideways. Managed to recover. I had the car in sport mode and all driving aids off. The second time I was going up a short hill road and this time the car was in normal mode and -remembering the downright scary moment- all driving aids were on and I was driving at about 40 kms/hr. Well, the car still got itself sideway (this time about 45 degrees or so) and I managed to recover again, however I could tell you how many ripples there are in the concrete wall I almost pasted the car into. I would definitely not recommend this tire, unless you are into drifting when wet. And don't care for your life, that of the others and even less so, your car. I'm installing Michelin PS4 in a month.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-02 03:58:24
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I bought these due to the possitive reviews left in this page. I have to say, for a fair price you get definitely premium tires. The grip is awesome on dry roads and impressively good in wet (more than I expected for this kind of design). The noise is good as zero and the confort is also excellent. But when you try to take very closed cruves at high speed, the grip isn't that good anymore compared to PZero's or The Pilot Sport I had before. When you start taking the close courve you will have to struggle a little bit until suddenly feel and see how the tires start to grip.
So there you have to be careful because you may oversteer. Still, I would probably buy them again because of the price.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-10 17:00:01
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
This is a very good tyre and after owning Michi's PS2's I can say they are as good as you can buy. Its more down to personal preference. The only issue is wear. I drive a Porsche Cayman s and the car eats tyres - Michi's are far superior in this arena as I managed 12000miles before I needed a change!
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-11 13:52:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre