Dunlop Roadsmart

Following the success of the RoadSmart III introduction last year, we have now extended the range to include the RoadSmart III SC. This tyre is designed for the upper levels of the scooter market, such as higher powered touring and sports scooters.

Significantly, it already has an OE fitment with Yamaha and also features a mix of existing RoadSmart III features (iGT, JLB) and new technologies (Camber Thrust Tuning).

This tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop RoadSmart II.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 85%
Wear 82%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 85%

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 57,970 miles driven.

The Roadsmart is ranked 8th of 23 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop Roadsmart
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Dunlop Roadsmart
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop Roadsmart. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Roadsmart Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop Roadsmart Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Kawasaki ER6F (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
My first tyres and first bigger bike. I had couple rear spins and slides on wet surfaces. On dry was good all the time. I can't compare to other tyres as it is first. Mileage 8000 and probably will do another 1000 miles.
Mainly commuting 50 miles round trip a day on A roads.
28 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a Suzuki GSX 1300 RK4 Hayabusa (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I put these on my Hayabusa, and I live in Sardinia where all the roads are twisty windy alp type roads, come across a few straight sections, i was eating through 3 rear tyres a year until now, I am a very hard rider and I have these tyres since November and they seem like new done about 2,500 miles still looking good, next month I'll be really pushing them to see how good they really are, waiting for the really hot weather 27°c +, july august 40°c +, so I'll be back with more use when I go to change them. I may be fortunite enough to get a year
9 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2012   
Given 87% while driving a Yamaha FZ6 (160/60 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
10.000 km of Dunlop Roadsmart in my back tyre of Yamaha XJ6. Really nice grip in wet and dry, inclusive when the tyre is cold.
I'm going to change the back tyre for a new Roadsmart again.
4 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2014   
Have you driven on the Dunlop Roadsmart tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Roadsmart? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Roadsmart >

Latest Dunlop Roadsmart Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Triumph Trophy 1200 (120/70 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Great grip for a front tyre. Very neutral as I like. Grip is excellent on dry, very good on wet. Now, on the wear side, the centre rubber lasted but the softer shoulders were gone by 20.000 km. In fact they were the first tyres where my front went before the rear. Overall a very good tyre with correct price. Replaced with Roadsmart 3.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Aprilia (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,500 spirited miles
04 tuono factory 1000 v twin 130 bhp 85lb ft on these tyres 3500 hard miles and not near the limit brill tyre in the wet or dry will buy again
1 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 79% while driving a Honda Honda CB600F Hornet (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
New shape Honda Hornet (2009). Bike came with Michelin Pilot Power E, which I had to change at 7800 miles due to the rear squaring off and on the legal limit.

I ride a mixture of roads, ranging from the odd commute into Central London (15 miles each way), some motorway/fast A road slogs, but I enjoy playing along B and country roads.

Tyres are quite neutral steering and are very firm at correct front/rear pressures. Grip in wet is much better than the Michelins, however in the dry there is less feel although within 100 miles I was leaning over right to the edge of the tyres. VERY hard wearing (took 800 miles to remove all of centre chicken strips!).

Overall the tyres are very good but I don't think they suit the way I ride this bike. I like to feel the rear tyre bite into the tarmac when I give it the beans, which I have now lost. The firmer construction may suit heavier bikes and/or those looking for all round/commuting/longer life tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2011   
Given 79% while driving a Triumph Sprint RS (180/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Terrific tire. Went to these after Metzler Z6, and Pirelli Diablo Stradas, both of which were quite good but gave no warning before wearing to the threads. I used to completely deflate the rear tire just so I could physically feel how thin it was getting.

The Roadsmarts are very neutral steering, which took some getting used to. They're way more grippy on the sides and give huge confidence dry and wet. I probably get about the same mileage, (around 6k) and they will eventually square off like any tire, but there are wear bars and the squaring seems to have much less effect on the handling. Would definitely buy again. Also looking at the BT0-23's as I would like to have quicker steering.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2011   
Given 61% while driving a Suzuki (180/55 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 3,250 average miles
Came as standard on my bike.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2011   
Given 100% while driving a Suzuki GSXR 750 K2 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Ignoring the stigma of Dunlop, I purchased these when they where first out, The tyre fitted was about to put something else on (I cant remember, Probably pilots) when he suggested I try these with £15 knocked off, I agreed.

I drove out of the garage wondering if I was foolish to stick Dunlops on.

It didnt take long before I was cornering faster, Riding in the wet faster and having the confidence that made me feel like I was Rossi.

I'm going back to fit my fourth set on, Curious about the Dunlop SportSmarts, But I wish to remain with such an outstanding and long lasting tyre I can trust.

I highly recommend these, But far too many people bash my opinion for the mere fact these are Dunlops. Try them, Your riding WILL improve!!!
0 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2011   
Given 99% while driving a Honda CBR600 FS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Roadsmarts are Dunlops 1st bash at a premium sports touring tyre.

I bought a 1995 CBR600F with some BT-020 thrown on them, hated them with a passion.
Constantly slipping out on the rear in the wet, gave me no confidence at all.

I put a pair of Roadsmarts on and was totally amazed. I actually started to love riding the bike, rather than liking it if that makes any sense.

Would definatley get these again, and im gonna put them on my ZXR400 which have conti road attacks on there that i also hate. Not my choice though, they came with the bike.



In short.... Roadsmarts are the best out there right now.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2011