Falken ZE512 Reviews - Page 2

Given 40% while driving a Nissan 1995 240sx (200sx, or Silvia in other regions) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
These tires came on a set of wheels I purchased from a friend of mine, and only the rear tires were the Falken ZE512's. On dry pavement, the tires did a pretty good job of holding the road, except for on rough surfaces where the rear of the car would tend to slide out randomly. In the rain, I had to take off in second gear to keep from spinning these poor tires, and when I would shift from second to third gear, the tires would break loose again. The tires were new when I got them, and 12k miles later, one is bald, the other popped right where the tread meets the sidewall. They ride terribly, though they are quiet.

I would NEVER buy these tires again.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2008
Given 40% while driving a Citro├źn Saxo VTR (185/55 R14) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Right I drive a Saxo VTR, good tyres are hard to come by these days so I got the fk512s and well not very good. Dry grip is ok but on twisty damp roads they just slide with no warning, so you may be staring into the wrong side of a ditch. Even at slow speeds in the wet 10mph they slide with a ? turn of the steering wheel with acceleration not good. They wore out after 8000 miles that's very fast far faster than any other tyres I've used. The fk921 are so much better just had them put on and they handle like theses should of
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2008
Given 57% while driving a Audi A6 (235/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Budget price but you get what you pay for. Average in all aspects apart but wear is poor. 12k and the tyres have had it. Mainly motorway miles in 7 months! Previous tyres were Pirelli P Zero Rosso - 16K not much more milage but the overall performance of tyre was alot better. Prior to these even, Continental sport contact 2 lasted 18K and were on par with the Pirelli's.
Having looked at the reviews I going to try the Falken 452 's as the reviews have been quite good for an affordable tyre.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2008
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 53% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 16v Sporting (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
Seem a very thin tyre, the rear of my car wears its original Bridgstone Potenza REO50A tyres, which are still like new. The front tyres lasted 16.5k which I thought was poor, so I got Falkens, which have a treadwear rating of more than twice as good. No Way, dead after 8.5k miles of motorway driving. Tracking is spot on. These tyres look very stretched, and there is no sidewall to speak of at all causing some marks on my wheels. They are cheap and ride better than the Bridgestones, but I now need new ones yet again, I wouldnt bother with these again. While dry grip is comparable to the very expensive B'stones, wet grip is just not there in comparison and now they are pretty worn they are appauling, even with a 1.4 Fiat.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2008
Given 53% while driving a Vauxhall Omega (225/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 30 spirited miles
Replaced my Nexens (see other review)on the front as I'd read good reviews on Blackcircles. Better grip wet and dry and good feel from the tyre but wear has been awful - I've done 12,000 miles in a year (most miles motorway trips) and they need replacing already. Remember this is a rear wheel drive and I don't scrub when parking.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2008
Given 24% while driving a Volvo S60 TS (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 13 average miles
I had michelin PS2 best tyre i ever had.then i was shocked how such a tyre can be on the market.horrible qualities in every aspekt.extreamly noisy.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2008
Given 60% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
Tyres were bought due to its cheap price and because they are meant to be grippy in the dry. The tyre compound is fairly soft so i was expecting good grip in wet and dry conditions. With the tyres freshly fitted they where tested on an airfield prior to a rally event, the sidewalls are very soft so no treahb remained. Large chunks and scrapes of rubber where taken out of the thread due to the harsh surface. Even though the tyre was losing rubber the grip was good on the asphalt and concrete. After having these tyres for a month, the rear tyre had to be replaced as rough surface from roadworks managed to cut trough to the carcass...?45 tyre in the bin! Wet performance @ 3mm tread has been reasonable but greasy country roads with enthusiastic driving did equal one too many tank slappers as the front tyres lost all grip and the car managed to aquaplane.
For the price these tyres are great on dry surfaces and perform well when driven hard. They do not perform to well on wet or greasy roads even with the softer compound (tyres do warm up very well)
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2008
Given 21% while driving a Ford Sapphire Cosworth 4x4 (205/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
When i ran my Eagle F1's to the limit i was low on cash and enjoying a rare month or two between jobs , "these ZE512 tyres are an absolute bargain".....the local Falken pushing ATS chief fibber told me..."real grippy!"
This however was not my experience.
On the F1's the car ran true,and cornered like it was on rails.I would buy these again!
My lovely new Falkens made the car feel unstable under acceleration and braking, tram lining in between. Cornering in the dry was ruined,no feel and a jelly like sidewall made it feel as if the tyres were coming off the rims on turn in..with time this didn't improve...wet handling i can only assume was developed by Fairy
So save hard,sell things,work more shifts i don't know....raid the kids piggy bank if you have to...But please don't waste your ackers on these, it IS false economy..consider yourself warned..lol
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2008
Given 50% while driving a Lexus IS200 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 66,000 average miles
False economy. Nearly failed an MOT after 11,000 miles. Compound too soft, feels more like a rubber band than a hefty tyre. Good roadholding in wet and dry for average driver and respectable in country lanes. Doesn't take kindly to urban warfare in the back doubles on the way to work. Can't handle the odd 'kerb' and potholes, strips lumps out of them. Very harsh response to driving into even the smallest pothole. Pucker factor 10 - you think you've ripped the front suspension off. One tyre was condemned for a split on the inside rim? Probably a pothole? Also had a puncture in another and the tyre shredded internally by the time the car came to a halt. Practically brand new and had to be replaced. I had never heard of them and only bought them because they were given such a glowing review by an online tyre sales site - blackcircles.com. They gave them all the credentials of a genuine article but it's like everything else in life, you get what you pay for. If this site had been around at the time I wouldn't have fallen prey to a salesman's hype. I wouldn't buy them again and couldn't, in all conscience, recommend them.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2007
Given 36% while driving a Lexus IS200 (215/45 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 14,000 easy going miles
I do about 400miles a week motorway driving and these tyres lasted about 14K and were worn on the inner edges front and bold on the centre on the rears! The have a soft sidewall, No rim protection and are absolutely rubbish when it comes to wear. Budget tyres = Budget performance and wear I would never buy these again even if they were offered for free everytime. Thats how disgusted I was with these tyres.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2007
Given 80% while driving a Nissan Primera (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These tyres are great, and really complement the Primera's chassis.
They're very soft compound wise, so the tyre won't be lasting you years, but I'd rather replace a tyre each year that wears quickly, and performs well, than use a poor performing tyre that lasts for ever!

I'd reccomend these to anyone!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2007
Given 62% while driving a Nissan 200sx (195/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
The 512 is a pretty good all round tyre. It seems to be wearing really well and is quite quiet.

Great for the price though I fancy trying something grippier next like a Toyo T1R.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2007