Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews - Page 2

Given 83% while driving a Volvo 940 turbo (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
These are entirely decent tyres. Good points are wear and general grip. Comfort is decent as are noise levels even though they are not as quiet on rough surfaces. The negatives are aquaplaning resistance is a bit lower than I hoped for but I think it is a trade-off due to the directional tread needing to push all the water out to the sides. The other thing is high speed stability is not as good as tyres with grooves running around the tread but the Cross Climate Plus isn't a tyre focused for 180km/hr or so on autobahns. They provide decent feedback to ne able to use all the available grip in all conditions and after 2 years and 20000 miles, they still have just under 5mm of tread. I have never had tyres last so long. For this reason they are economical to run and I have not noticed a difference in noise or handling characteristics unlike the nasty Federal tyres they replaced. I have found they wear evenly but they will wear the shoulders if the tempo in bends is not kept in check.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2021
Given 41% while driving a Lexus IS300 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I have used Crossclimate and Crossclimate Plus, both with good ride comfort and reasonable cabin noise. The earlier model had an issue with punctures - this one doesn't. However, while initially handling and wet road performance was good with the CC+, by the second year (I use these as winters and have a separate summer set of wheels and tyres) I found the tyres to steer scarily in wet conditions and moved them to the rear, where they have been fine. The Gen 1 Lexus IS300 SportCross barely has traction control and power to the rear wheels usually slip easily but wet braking has been fine (not handling). I have not used them in snow and ice as there hasn't been any for the last two years in the north London area. However, I bought Continental All Season Contact for the front axle and while the ride is harder and cabin noise the same, handling in cold, wet winters is much better on the Continentals. Both the Michelin and Continental all season tyres cause much heavier steering that when using my summer tyre set, however.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2021
Given 62% while driving a Ford Focus (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Car has vague steering at times, some wobbly steering on certain surfaces, noise is loud and sidewalls are very soft on lose surfaces as had a crack appear today and very loud noise
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2021
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a Volvo v70 D5 (255/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 35 average miles
Expected better, but the heavier front end (diesel) and driving style doesn't help life span.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021
Given 78% while driving a Subaru Outback 3.0L (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Although I live in Cyprus which is practically summer for most of the year, I decided to go for these all season tyres for a few reasons. First of all, whenever it rains here the roads become quite dangerous since the dry grip isn’t great to start with, so when wet they become sludgy and slippery quite easily. Aquaplaning is also an issue in these roads. So a good summer tyre with great wet handling characteristics is in my opinion essential in these conditions. The CrossClimate plus performed very well under these conditions, with good dry grip and handling in very hot conditions as well as excellent wet driving characteristics. Snow driving is almost as good as a good snow tyre and with the Outback’s superb awd system, I was almost unstoppable! What surprised me however was the unbelievably good behaviour of these tyres in sand and deep sludgy mud! They were far superior to any road-biased 4x4 tyre I ever used and this is definitely a great selling point for my needs! Fast driving and sporty handling were never their best attributes but I am ok with that and noise levels above 120 km/h are quite high. But again, this is not something unexpected and it’s quite obvious from the tyre’s aggressive V-esque tread. Wear is very good and tyre behaviour remains almost unchanged as the tyres wear out; something that Michelin excels at achieving. Overall I am very happy with these and would definitely recommend them.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.3Multijet 75bhp (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These are the first all season tyres I try. Fitted to my Fiat Punto because I'm not going to use it a lot, I have to admit that in winter the Crossclimates offer performances comparable to a winter tyre: in the snow and in very cold conditions they are very grippy and safe. In warm dry conditions they are much better than a winter tyre, even if they still feel a bit soft, especially in corners. In the wet they are good, with a safe response. Overall I am very satisfied, the only 2 weak points I mention are the noise (I think they are noisier than my previous winter tyres) and the wear, because from Michelin I was expecting less thread degratation, which is already noticeable after only 1000 miles.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2021
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
I bought a pair of these last winter for my work van as I was unhappy with the performance of the Vredestine Quadrac 5's I had fitted. These tyres are excellent for winter, great grip on cold, wet roads and I zero problems with aquaplaning despite hitting huge puddles across the motorway at speed. Snow performance was disappointing though as the Quadrac 5's were better despite being quite poor everywhere else as a winter tyre. My problems with the Cross Climates are mediocre warm weather performance as the tread feels too soft when hot, high price and very high wear. The edges were starting to look really low after just 6000 miles on the front and the rest of the tyres were down to 4mm. I have since put them on the rear and done around 1500 miles and should hopefully get another winter with them on the front as I'm not using this van for work or as my primary transport anymore. If I was to buy more all season tyres I would probably go for Goodyear Vectors, they performed well on my BMW 1 series over a winter and those same tyres will be tested next winter on my Golf diesel to see how they hold up after a decent amount of miles. First impressions are good but they only did 2 or 3000 miles on the front of a rear wheel drive car.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Fitted for 2 years now, and, after recent snow, Have experienced all conditions. For general use, excluding very progressive driving, I cannot fault these tyres. At first fitting, road noise slightly higher than previous summer Conti's until bedded in. Very impressed with comfort and handling on all road surfaces. Water clearance is good, and, with present tread depth, no aquaplaning. Provide high confidence in snow - yes they will break traction, particularly on cornering, but only when pushed. But they give far greater control than summer tyres in snow. On compressed snow/ice their advantages are limited however. Most impressed with wear rate. At 18k, with relaxed driving style, still have 4mm front, 5mm rear, and have just stopped front to rear. As these have directional tread they cannot be switched to alternate sides (for a diagonal switch). I have these also fitted to my Ford S-Max (15). Even more impressed with those - though being 225's gives the comfort. I will certainly be sticking with these and looking forward to the latest upgrade in compound. Having previously been a summer/winter wheel switcher every six months for about five seasons (on my old Galaxy), these really are a great compromise.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2021
Given 89% while driving a BMW X3 (225/60 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Replaced the original Pirelli Cintrirano P7 run flats on my wife's BMW X3, which she had for 30k miles from new. The Crossclimate+ are better in every way. Obviously they are much lighter as they are not run flat tyres and as such the car as a whole feels lighter and more responsive. Also comfort, handling and noise are significantly better and improve the vehicle a great deal. In my opinion these are the perfect none performance tyres for the UK.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
Fitted to a Skoda Superb 4x4 V6 and changed from summer Bridgestone Potenza. It's a new car to me but I am very impressed with the tyres. In the recent snow and ice there was no hint of the car becoming stuck with only minor slippage on ice. This was on a mini roundabout so maybe the white paint made it worse… On dry and wet roads it's really like a summer tyre but with a little less feedback. This for me is a good thing but others would disagree. You get a very comfy ride even on low profile tyres as fitted on my car. Only down side really is the noise at speeds over 40mph on crappy UK roads. On the M25 there is a drone in most areas, but when the tarmac is sometimes good there is no noise at all. At low speeds noise is very good, quieter than any other tyre I have used. These do not ride like other all seasons (I have Goodyear Vector Gen 2 and Vredestein Quatrac on other cars). The Michelin emulate a summer tyre in terms of ride harshness and and steering characteristics. I would buy again for performance cars but would probably go for cheaper versions for lower powered cars. I have driven in snow and ice in Finland and Iceland with studded tyres so know these are not as good as Nordics, but they are more than adequate for UK and most of Europe.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2021
Given 70% while driving a Ford Mondeo (215/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
Fitted to rear only so cant comment on many of the sections. Can only comment on snow and ice due to recent snow in the UK recently and fitted to a Mondeo hatchback. They do grip well albeit slide a little but given the very few sipes and not on the driving wheels they seem pretty good. In terms of dry and wrt grip again cant really comment but don't feel as squishy as my Goodyear vector 4 seasons G2 on the rear during the summer (my review is on there but they were on the driving wheels but the rears did squirm at sweeping bends on hot days). SO overall if you can get a good price Id say they are worth it but don't expect it to handle exactly like a summer tyre but that's your compromise to have grip all year round. In terms of wear I haven't checked the exact depth but they are on the rear so will last ages anyway and its a Michelin so it will last a good while. Comfort wise again on the rear only so cant really comment.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2021
Given 91% while driving a Citroën C3 Pluriel (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,250 spirited miles
I have a Citroen C3 Pluriel and as I live in London but have to drive in all conditions across the SE I heeded advice here to go with these MCC+. They replaced some awful rubber (Powertrac CityTour) that should have put me off buying the car. I am used to Pirelli, Goodyear, Conti, and Michelin so I thought I knew what good tyres feel like. However, after the old rubber, driving on the CrossClimate Plus was a revelation. The steering was lighter, the car changed direction more quickly. It was like a new car. It was fantastic. The 65 profile more than protects the rims and in 2,250 miles and 18 months of city driving the rims are fine. The car is so noisy on a motorway I can't hear the radio on 11, never mind the tyres, but I can't knock the CrossClimate for that. Twice cars in front have stopped hard unexpectedly and there was a bit of squirming but CrossClimates pulled the car up in time on both dry and damp surfaces. I've not tried them on mud, snow or ice but I'm very happy with the MCC+ and will fit some more to another car soon. Thanks for all the advice Mr Tyre Reviews.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2021