Uniroyal RainSport 2

The Uniroyal RainSport 2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainSport and this tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal RainSport 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 76%
Wear 76%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 82%

Tyre review data from 226 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 2,156,251 miles driven.

The RainSport 2 is ranked 27th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 18th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test - 14th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly strong in the wet
  • Negative - Weaker on dry pavement, relatively high fuel consumption and wear
View Full Test >>

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 7th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R14 77V   F B 71 6.15kgs
215/40 R16 86W XL   E B 72 7.96kgs
255/40 R17 94W   F B 72 10.59kgs
255/40 R17 94W   E B 72 10.96kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainSport 2

2018-07-06 - in which direction should the tyres be fitted

The Uniroyal Rainsport 3 has a directional rotation arrow on each sidewall.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


RainSport 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Reviews

Mazda Mx5 2008 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
I got rainsport 2 fitted to my wife's mx5 after she complained that the car felt as though it was sliding on bends in the wet. I took car for a run in the wet and the car was a death trap the Mazda dealer had fitted nexen tyres to car they were okay in the dry but deadly in the wet. I went straight to the garage and got rainsport 2 fitted this completely changed the car awesome tyres
25 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2017   
Given 50% while driving a Citro├źn C5 Estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 35,000 spirited miles
Had them on the rears for the last 12 month as it's came with the car.
I've done 35k on them on rears (80% on the motorways) an it's just half-worn. The grip was not the worst, kept me well on the motorway in the shallow water. However for the last 5-8k noise exactly the same as dying hub bearing on 40-55 mph and vibration sound on over 60mph. As soon as I dropped them onto the fronts noise became incredibly loud and slight vibration on the steering wheel, although after they've been balanced well. Road feedback just below an average and no comfort at all.

Definitely will never buy again.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2014   
Given 80% while driving a Renault twingo (195/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Well, they are a little bit noisy and maybe uncomfortable. I bought them in the begining of the summer drought and I thought: "aghhh, what a mistake"... And then the rain fell... And I fell in love with this tyre.
The way Uniroyal Rainsport 2 performed in wet conditions was absolutely breathtaking. I have never experienced anything like that. Gave me so much confidence that I waited for the rain to fall just to take my Twingo133 for a ride, it grips like hell and you just enjoy cruising and speeding around as the water sprays from V-shape lines behind you.

Downsides? There are some, but I forgive them all.
Anyway, let me mention it: on dry and hot conditions, the tyre turns slowly, as the "side-wall" is a bit soft. It is strange in the begining as the car dives in a corner with a milisecond delay, but it's not a problem once you get used on it.
4 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2016   
Have you driven on the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainSport 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainSport 2 >

Latest Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These tyres are a great all rounder used them in snow/ice and track days they have great grip in dry but found they over heat when pushed in the dry. The grip in the wet is amazing nearly as much as in the dry. I found the side walls to be a bit soft and at times felt as though the tyres would be pulled off of the rims. Due to the soft compound these tyres did wear quickly.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2017   
Given 63% while driving a Lexus GS450h (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 38,000 easy going miles
Replaced the manufacturer's recommended tyres with these after good reviews and sporty appearance. Not cheap! Road noise, especially at motorway speeds, excessive.
Wear rate unacceptable for a semi-premium tyre. Will not buy again.
Currently have Nexen 6000 front tyres which are quieter, look good and are wearing much more slowly.
Michelin on the back - too soon to report.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 54% while driving a Toyota 2006 Avalon (215/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
They were fitted to the car when we bought it, rears were near new and the fronts were about half worn. Grip in the wet is fine, dry grip is OK but not as good as I'd expect from a high performance summer tyre, the sidewalls are soft so the ride is comfortable but the handling a bit imprecise compared with other high performance summer tyres. The tyres can be a bit noisy on some road surfaces but not too bad.
After about 10k miles of mostly motorway / autobahn driving the fronts are worn out, and whilst the rears still have about 4-5mm of tread, the LH rear is making a horrible noise and vibration at 4-50 mph, and again from 70-90 mph. Wheels bearings, wheel, brakes, suspension etc all in good condition so it has to be from the tyre.
Looking at other tyres to replace these.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 29, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen fox (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
There's nothing worse than having to do an emergency stop or manuovre in the wet. But with these tyres, the only problem will be other cars not being able to stop behind you.

Handle very, very well in damp to very wet weather, the car handles almost like the road is dry. I do like to push to the limit from time to time, and sometimes I can't reach the limit of these.

I have used these on a vw polo and vw fox, and will always buy these again as I value wet weather confidence over outright dry weather performance.

Fitted all 4 tyres from new and still loads of tread left so far after around 21000 miles and over nearly 3 years.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
These tyre certainly perform well - I've used them on 3 different cars. A 2 litre petrol Mondeo, a 2.0 litre TDCI Mondeo and a 2.0 TDCI SRI Astra hatch. They grip well in the dry, seem resistant to aquaplaning in the wet whilst they have good tread depth. Wear rate is fairly high - but with empathetic driving, I reckon 9k - 10k miles is about the most you can expect - less if you drive in a more spirited way. Road noise is a little higher than some and whilst new, the tread depth is very high - so feedback and progression is a little odd until they settle down. Side walls are not as strong as other tyres so avoid potholes or rocks - one of my 8 pairs developed an egg shaped buldge as a result of driving over a stone, but was sorted quickly under warranty. Good tyres overall - when you can find them but not cheap.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2015   
Given 84% while driving a Renault Clio 182 (225/45 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Had an almost new set of these on the front when I purchased my car, after a 18 months and 20 k miles they finally need replacing. Had no issues in the wet or dry so will give the Rainsport 3s a go for sure!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2015   
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 31,068 average miles
I bought this tyres 4 years ago. They are 215/55ZR16 93W. Grip of this tyres is excellent. This tyres are looking very narrowly. I won't buy them again because there is RainSport 3 tyre a newer model.
Everyone who drive VW Sharan 2001-09 on 16 wheel buy XL tyres. I have made a mistake buying standard tyres instead XL. I will replace them with RainSport 3 XL
0 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2015   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus ST170 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 20 average miles
great tyres on my st170!
0 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2015   
Given 81% while driving a BMW (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I tried these tyres after looking at all the mid range tyres. Uniroyal is a subsidiary of continental, so knew they must be ok. Added to that they are advertised as a rain tyre and let's face it we have a lot of damp or wet days in the uk. I fitted then to an E60 BMW Diesel....wow. What great tyres. I have never been so impressed by any tyre at this price. I have had them all in the past. Goodyear, conti,Bridgestone,falken,kumho and toyo etc...
The car is hugely powerful with loads of torque and the tyres have worn surprisingly well. They have worn evenly across the car and I have got about 15k from them. This includes some seriously sprited driving at Le Mans. I have been so impressed, I'm now renewing all four with uniroyal rs3. I can not recommend this tyre highly enough.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2014   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo v70 D5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I've got around 19K miles out of my last set of these on a fairly heavy Volvo V70 diesel which I use for towing and some fairly lively driving when not towing. Am up to 16K on the second set which are now nearing the end of their life.

Interestingly my mum has the same car but only managed about 12k miles even with her plodding around - 4 wheel alignment has hopefully now increased.

So, in terms of wear, on a well set up car the wear is good (must swap around i.e. front / back) but if set up is wrong the wear can be excessive.

Great tyre though.

Now to see what the RS3s are like
0 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen fox (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Fantastic in the wet! I can throw the car into tight corners at speeds I would never ever consider on other tyres. Have done round 10, 000 miles on them, I swap them for winter tyres around november - march, but they have lasted well, look nearly new, and I love them
0 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2014   
Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
When new, they feel fine, just like any other new tyre. As soon as they are getting within 4 or 5 mm of the wear indicators, they start to get noisy and this only gets worse. At low speed, they jitter and rumble; over about 50 a whine like a failing wheel bearing starts and gets worse the faster you go. They also tramline somewhat, and feel somewhat sketchy in turns (once again, only felt once worn).

On the plus side, they give fantastic grip in the wet, but this does not make up for the abysmal wear characteristics and the noise. The rolling resistance is higher than for most tyres; this'll cost you a couple of percent of your fuel economy.

Overall, avoid these tyres. The wet grip isn't worth the other downsides; they don't even last particularly well.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014