Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Reviews - Page 3

Given 74% while driving a Mazda MX5 (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
soft tyre (soft sidewalls too) that kind of kills the joy of the Mx5, doesn't respond prompty to steering input (but then again Mx5 is light so it's not su bad). Great in wet weather. Wear is not terrific. They get a small plus for looks too :)
0 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2014   
Given 30% while driving a Ford S Max (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Really disappointing tyres. Just replaced a set after a years driving and, having rotated them once, the fronts were right at the thread wear indicators - after only 12,000 miles. Was disappointed from the start due to road noise and the general deterioration in the handling of the car (the Rainsports replaced a worn set of Goodyear Efficient Grips, but yet the handling was worse with the new tyres). In my experience, the wet grip that these tyres are supposed to be famous for was nothing special once the tyres had worn a little. Not a great tyre, won't be buying the again. I replaced them with a set of Pirellis and the car is back to what it was, reduced road noise and massively improved handling.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (195/45 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 40,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres in july 2010 and I have done just under 40,ooo miles on them I have driven carefully on them so they lasted a longer time than normal I would recommend this espiecally for those who want good grip in wetter months
0 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 64% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.9 cdti 150 bhp (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 22,000 average miles
I have had these tyres fitted for some 22k miles and although the initial performance was excellent, once the wear was below around 4-5mm issues started to occur. Road noise increased dramaticaly with a drone being audible (proven to eb the tyres by swapping front/rear). I would not buy these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2014   
Given 71% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
I have these on an Octavia 140 tdi and a Corrado VR6. The grip in the dry is excellent. The wet grip is incredible and gives me extreme confidence. They are also very comfortable tyres, however the side walls are extremely soft and you can feel the car move around on them, which is very un-nerving to until you get used to them. It feels like the car is about to slide but then the flex stope and the grip is seems limitless. They have also worn very quickly. I've only got about 9k max out of a set on the octavia, with one of them wearing a saw tooth pattern which got so noisy I thought a wheel bearing was failing. Although the grip was amazing and you can get used to the tire wall wallow, I would not buy them again as they barely lasted 10 months.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 19, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 30,000 average miles
Fitted a full set of these to my car twice now. Have had bfg and goodyear on before and these are the best by far. I live in the countryside and the roads are very windy and full of potholes. When it rains there are often large puddles everywhere. The tyres perform brilliantly in those conditions. The only slight grumbles are 1) they wear a little too quickly and 2) they are not that robust (I too had one burst when I ran over one of the many potholes). In summary I prefer to have safe predictable tyres that maybe don't last as long as others but at least they are reasonable value.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2013   
Given 91% while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Excellent all-round tyre, but soft side walls always make the tyres look under-inflated.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2013   
Given 66% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Great tyres from the start and wet grip is excellent. However as they are a directional tyre once you are down to about 5mm they step on the outside and the road noise is appalling. This happened on more than one set on both from and rear. The performance was not effected but the noise I would liken to having a wheel bearing go. I would only recommend these tyres to those of us unfortunate enough to be deaf.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2013   
Given 70% while driving a Toyota Celica GT4 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
This is my second review of these tyres as I've now had two sets and driven 3 years with them. In my first review I was very pleased with them, but now having lost 2 tyres to potholes, and one tyre wall to rub up along a kerb, I can confirm that the sidewall is just too soft and I can confirm they are quite noisey.
Fantastic in the wet, really good in the dry, but at the price of them they are just too expensive to loose to an average pothole on a dark wet night.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp) (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
320hp front wheel drive an they was amazing , wet grip no problem ,dry grip no problem,snow i just drove over it like it was raining people where stuck and i wad doing 50 mph up hill ,a little bit soft just put a few more psi in the tyer an its all good , had pilot sport 3 on b4 an they where only better in high speed corneing , very good tyer for sports car
0 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2013   
Given 74% while driving a Volvo 850 T5 Estate (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Overall a good tyre, nothing remarkable about it but gives confidence in the wet. Only driven for 2000 miles so far, small amount of understeer in the dry but track true in the wet. Dry performance is not their forte, slight vagueness on the limit and lack of feel. They seem to get worse as they get hotter. However I am really unable to fault them in the wet. I would not hesitate in buying them again. Having said that I would prefer Contisports if I had the extra money.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Citro├źn C5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Went aquaplaning last year, didn't like it at all. Bought these, problem never came back. Must be something in it! They seem as positive and durable as any of the big makes, but I think they wear a bit quicker than the Michelins.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2013