MINI Cooper SD Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the MINI Cooper SD.

Do you Drive a MINI Cooper SD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cooper SD better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (53) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (238) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 80%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (18) 88% 87% 80% 78% 68% 78%
Pirelli P Zero (127) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%

MINI Cooper SD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 55% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 easy going miles
Dry grip is good, wet grip less so - slow corners when the tyres are cold can be tricky if you're not paying attention. They're as noisy and comfortable as any other run flat I've used. Previous tyres were Primacy 3 - they are still on the rear, and still have 5mm left after 25k miles, 5k of which the spent on the front. The Hankook's, which are on the front, are down to 4mm after 7k, all of which has been motorway school run. I am quite forgiving on the tyres, due to their cost, and the price of fuel, and the car is always in 'green' mode - that moderates acceleration, and I'd expect them to last much longer than they have. I had hoped for 20k, but expect 10k now.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-18 10:57:37
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given NAN% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Have had the previous version of run flats * 2 covering approx. 60000 miles this is a significant improvement in respect of road noise grip and handling, just driving as the car was new and I have 130 000 miles, car now pulls and has full grip, corners and B roads stability improved, would recommend
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-13 07:12:03
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 91% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on for 120000 spirited miles
I ran several sets of these on my R56 mini cooper S and now run them on my F56 cooper SD. Love them as summer tyres on both cars. When I got the new SD it was running Dunlop sport maxx RT tyres and was rather prone to understeer on wet country roads (alarming and disappointing compared to the older car). I worried that it was caused by the heavier diesel engine, but replacing the tyres with Bridgestone RE050's fixed the issue completely.
As I said, great as summer tyres for the mini. They do loose a bit of traction on cold wet roads around 5 Deg C. For winter months I use Bridgestone Blizzak LM32 tyres which have a less ultimate grip in the warm, but are better in cold conditions, are very progressive and maintain decent turn in that some other winter tyres don't.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-30 22:29:33
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 47% (205-40-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Only run for a short time. They grip well, but we're horrible to drive on a car with otherwise excellent sporty handling. The sidewalls are too soft which causes a lack of feedback on turn in (no feedback at all until the tyre leans over and grips). Worse still, the lack of turn in is immediately followed by a loose feeling at the rear of the car as the rears lean over and bite.

I blew out two of the four tyres in a deep pothole a week after purchase, so I've taken the opportunity to replace the whole set with the cheaper Bridgestone Blizzak lm32 tyres I usuallly buy. Wish I'd stuck to them instead of listening to the reviews on these continentals.

The continentals do have good grip and I think would be ok on a family saloon, but not on a sporty car.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-30 14:28:37
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 69% (225-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 28000 spirited miles
Lasted well on Mini Paceman 28,000 miles! These were run flats and started to tram line. Replaced with non runflats, much better
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-02 12:07:04
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 88% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-08 17:34:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre