Subaru Outback 3.0L Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru Outback 3.0L.

Do you Drive a Subaru Outback 3.0L? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Outback 3.0L better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental AllSeasonContact (24) 83% 92% 86% 88% 79% 83%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (160) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (96) 87% 87% 83% 74% 89% 86%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (90) 90% 82% 81% 79% 81% 80%
Falken Eurowinter HS439 (17) 86% 83% 86% 81% 83% 77%
Federal Formoza FD2 (14) 74% 62% 72% 59% 73% 79%
Sunny SN3970 (45) 71% 49% 55% 54% 64% 55%

Subaru Outback 3.0L Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 78% (215-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Although I live in Cyprus which is practically summer for most of the year, I decided to go for these all season tyres for a few reasons. First of all, whenever it rains here the roads become quite dangerous since the dry grip isn’t great to start with, so when wet they become sludgy and slippery quite easily. Aquaplaning is also an issue in these roads. So a good summer tyre with great wet handling characteristics is in my opinion essential in these conditions. The CrossClimate plus performed very well under these conditions, with good dry grip and handling in very hot conditions as well as excellent wet driving characteristics. Snow driving is almost as good as a good snow tyre and with the Outback’s superb awd system, I was almost unstoppable! What surprised me however was the unbelievably good behaviour of these tyres in sand and deep sludgy mud! They were far superior to any road-biased 4x4 tyre I ever used and this is definitely a great selling point for my needs! Fast driving and sporty handling were never their best attributes but I am ok with that and noise levels above 120 km/h are quite high. But again, this is not something unexpected and it’s quite obvious from the tyre’s aggressive V-esque tread. Wear is very good and tyre behaviour remains almost unchanged as the tyres wear out; something that Michelin excels at achieving. Overall I am very happy with these and would definitely recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-09 13:02:55
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 91% (215-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Genuinely all season tyres. I've had them for 2 summers and 1 winter, 13k miles and 6mm tread remaining. I've had snow, deep standing water, muddy tracks, 32 degree heat on motorways, the lot. Never lost grip, or had any nanny-tech intervening. Highly recommended for an Outback.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-04 16:16:42
Writing about the Sunny SN3970 given 85% (215-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-13 09:32:22
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 95% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Maybe it's because I am changing from mid-range tyres manufacturer to premium but boy what a difference those made. I haven't pushed them to the limit on braking but lateral grip was thoroughly tested.

I am very happy with every penny I've spent on them.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-05 11:52:51
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 63% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 700 average miles
Just first impression (1100 km on Ukrainian roads):
- noise upto 70 km/h is acceptable
- noise after 120 km/h is slightly disturbing
- acceleration became worse even after winter Yokohama tires (strange)
- comfort not very impressive (maybe because I inflated them by 0.3 bars more - 2.4 instead of needed 2.1 due to bad roads)
- grip on dry is rather good
- tires made in Hungary 05th week of 2016
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-20 07:20:29
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS439 given 93% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Only had these tyres for three months so can't give a good score for wear as that is unknown as yet, otherwise an excellent winter tyre, or may even be a good all-weather tyre. Very comfy ride, if a little noisy, but I don't mind that when I know they will stop well in the wet and grip well in ice and snow. For the price I paid (£87 each) these tyres represent excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-28 17:16:31
Writing about the Federal Formoza FD2 given 59% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 31 easy going miles
Not a sports tyre in any way, but having very acceptable handling and grip including wet.

BUT …………..

whilst the ride quality is good, the road noise is awful and shows a very marked difference between different road surfaces. Great with a newly surfaced road with fine tarmac, the drive is almost silent BUT here in Northlands that isn’t 90% of the roads! In my Subaru Outback 3.0L the noise is terrible...... I wont be buying these tyres again just because of the noise!
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-28 00:42:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre