Avon Storm 3D XM

The Avon Storm 3D XM is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 31,808 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 7th.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 65%
Wear 84%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 54%

The Storm 3D XM is ranked 26th of 30 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Avon Storm 2 Ultra.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

7th

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

7th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Motorrad Premium Touring Motorcycle Tyre Test
7th of 7 tyres
  • Under ideal road conditions the Storm 3D can hold its own, but once the goin gets tough, or wet, the Avon is best avoided
View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Avon Storm 3D XM

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Avon Storm 3D XM. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon Storm 3D XM Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Kawasaki zx9r (190/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I'm on a kawasaki zx9r and I've gone to these tyres following three sets of the storm 2 ultras, mileage on both have been similar between 5-7000, 7000 if you stick to back lanes and twisties, I take these tyres right to the edge within the first hundred miles on a dry road, I've done the NC500 in pouring rain three times, one of those the water was actually bouncing inches off the road it was that heavy and the tyre never flackered even at 80+ mph so god knows what the rest of these people expect from a tyre in the wet. I've had the majority of makes over the years on this bike and others over 750 cc and once these are warm they stick like s*it to a blanket at any speed, I also ride throughout the Winter and though they do take longer to reach temperature the only slide I've had was in dodging a pullout not a mile from my home as I momentarily locked up the back end, the car braked and stopped right in front of me as I slithered into it till releasing both brakes and swerving around the guy. I have years of experience, was a dispatch rider for in London for several of those, I don't hang about in any conditions and for an all round winter summer sports/tourer tyre these are phenomenal on this size/weight of bike. I notice the whiners on here were on lardarse busa's and what I would call an 'adventure' bike, no these tyres very likely didn't suit an off road machine pootling along and not getting warm or an overweight fugly and anyone comparing a bridgestone to these is out of their depth, get your suspension set up properly and ride it like you nicked it and these are top totty.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Yamaha XJR1300sp (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Excellent tyres. I had heard that the front wears un-even but that wasn't the case with me both tyres wore evenly. I had also been told you will change 2 front tyres to one back tyre but that also wasn't the case with me. Very confident on tight bends with these tyres. The bike is a heavy machine but I could get the knee down once these tyres had warmed up. I had a different xjr before with different tyres and I never felt the confidence that I got from these. Now that doesn't mean you can bump up the price on them because there good. I did notice they have gone up this year by 40 euros a set. And if they go up anymore il be switching to pirelli to try them. I honestly can't fault these tyres I've 10,700 km done and there's probably another 200km left in them. It's predessecior I did have a problem with, trying to plug a hole and it was having none of it, would not take the plug nó matter what I did.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2022
Given 53% while driving a Yamaha XT1200Z (155/70 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Used on my Super Tenere. Over road imperfections and in the wet the tyre is nasty. I started off liking them in the dry, but over time have began to hate them.
Helpful 91 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2015
Have you driven on the Avon Storm 3D XM tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon Storm 3D XM? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Avon Storm 3D XM >

Latest Avon Storm 3D XM Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Triumph Sprint RS (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Changed to these from Bridgestones - feels now like a bit of a mistake! Though only a year old, the rubber on the front - particularly the edges - has noticeably hardened. That, along with some really obvious cupping of the tread, meant that the feedback in bends had gone. It was uncomfortable leaning the bike over as it felt insecure and it was no longer tracking a line nicely. In the wet, the grip was still there, but the feel from the front was extra vague. The rear had fared better, but had developed some square-off. Though both front and rear had at least 1000 miles left in them in them before reaching tread-depth limit, it was no longer a pleasure to ride on them.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2024
Given 44% while driving a Triumph tiger 1050 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,800 average miles
In perfect conditions the tyres are ok but given some damp or uneven surface they are very poor. They seem to squirm in corners and this really challenges confidence in them
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 81% while driving a Yamaha FZR1000 3LE (130/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I've found these tyres very good in almost all areas, wet handling a little twitchy but definitely had worse. Fantastic value. I'll certainly be buying again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Suzuki GSX 1300 RK4 Hayabusa (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Had storm 3ds no probs bought xm had on about 600 miles on Busa i feel like tyre moving to much on wheel and few water groves started to split ? I ride 2 up dont hang about but others been ok but xm unsure doesnt seem as planted moving about
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2019
Given 63% while driving a Yamaha FZS 1000 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought these as a friend had them over a summer of riding, and said for a cheap tyre they were good. I got them at the end of summer, and fitted them to my Fazer 1000 commuter. Dry handling is as good as any other mileage tyre with decent feedback, but in the wet, cold winter weather, they’re not so good! The rear spins up much earlier than expected, and with very little warning. The front isn’t good on tar banding, or smooth wet tarmac. And in cold greasy conditions, I’ve had several slips and slides. Dry weather they’re ok, and wear seems to me better than most. Wet weather I’ve got no faith in them. Can’t wait to change them as I’m a 365 UK rider,!
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2019
Given 79% while driving a Suzuki GSXR1000 K1 (190/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These are a real step up from the bridgestone bt023s I had fitted previously. The front end is noticeably better, especially at low speeds. Wet weather performance is spot on and the tyre is holding up well to prolonged motorway journeys with no squaring off. They are a bit slower to turn in although the pay off is they're more stable on the side of the tyre. Perfect as a winter sports touring/commuting tyre.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2018
Given 77% while driving a Honda ST1100 Pan European (160/70 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 9,500 spirited miles
I have had three sets of these and found them a vast improvement over the Storm II Ultra.
I ride a mixture of solo and pillion in a progressive style. Average mileage is 9500 miles usually front wears first, dunno why??
Grip in the wet is good only ever had one slide, the front let go but recovered immediately, but three other bikes did the same on the same corner so must have been surface related.
Grip the dry is terrific with no complaints.
The down side on my bike the steering wobbles at around 30mph, only noticeable with hands off the bars or on a roundabout, the Storm II ultra was worse, does not do this with other tyre makes, but these are such good value I will forgive that as I don`t tend to ride hands free.
In summary, good value tyres with excellent mileage and good grip, my tyre of choice.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2016
Given 50% while driving a Suzuki (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
I've got a pair of these on my GSXR 600, mainly for the winter as I heard they are good in the wet but i've never had such a bad experience with tyres (mainly the back), it's the first time anything has shaken my confidence in wet riding, never been so far sideways!! I find they follow every almost groove in the road and i've played with different pressures and rear sus setting but nothing helps... back to the Bridgestone for me!
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2015