Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews - Page 5

Given 80% while driving a BMW 320D (205/55 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
Dry and wet grip is lower than expectation.
They are really easy to drive fast, and road feedback is good, but amount of grip I expected is just not there.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2019
Given 99% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Excellent dry and wet grip, low fuel consumption, low wear, extremely comfortable, very good handling even in the wet road, sport tyres. I hope this features continue till the end.

The only negative thing i can say this tire is that it has a little bit noisy, but not sure. (225/45/R17 91Y)

I can definitely buy this tyre again!
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2019
Given 100% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (235/50 R18 R) on mostly country roads for 30 spirited miles
I have just replaced the three different tyres on my recently purchased Volvo XC70 for the Continental Premium Contact 6 and the transformation is nothing short of amazing. Can’t comment on wet grip or longevity but I can honestly state these are the best tyres I have ever used on any vehicle. Handling, dry grip, road noise and comfort are 10/10 for me. Bought four of them for £508 inc vat which makes them outstanding value for money whilst delivering a sensational driving experience. Early days but I have been driving a wide range of cars for the last 36 years and I am regretting never having used a Continental tyre before. My previous cars have been VW Beetle, Triumph, Ford Cortina Mk111, Vauxhall Cavalier x 2, Vauxhall Carlton x 2, Audi A4, Nissan 200 SX, Peugeot 405 x 2, Mercedes CLK 230 Kompressor, Mercedes C Class Estate, Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressor, Nissan Navara Aventura, Mitsubishi Outlander, Ford Transit Connect, Land Rover Freelander, Land Rover Discovery 3, Land Rover Defender, Range Rover Sport 3.0 TDV6 x 2, Volvo XC70 x 3 and I wish I had fitted Continentals years ago on all of them.............if I could have.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2019
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 89% while driving a SEAT Exeo (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 24,800 average miles
Perfect handling. Comfortable even in cold weather. 40000km and 1.4 mm before the legal limit. Better than Michelin PS3 and Hankook Ventus Prime 3
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Previously had Yokohama’s but these are ten times better. Much better grip and traction. More noticeable in the wet.
Helpful 70 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. auto (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Very nice tires. Is that I would like a little less noisy and a little more comfortable.

But I hardly buy them next time, like any other products of this brand. Bought 2 months ago and since then I can not find the rear tires 255/35/r18 (although promised in two weeks). Today I learned that the company is going to ship them to Cyprus no earlier than in 3-6 months. Buy expensive tires and not find them a pair or a replacement - personal dislike to Continental.

And they are not even in large stores that they send to us.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019
Given 64% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Dont understand the praise these tyres are receiving in the reviews, yes these tyres are noticeably quieter than my previous tyres, Dunlop Sport Maxx RT, and are definatley more comfortable, however at any speed above say 40mph when turning into a corner or worse a series of bends they feel like tyres made out of jelly, its like as if the soft side wall has to flex initially before it transmits the turn of the steering wheel to the front road wheels, ( unlike with the previous Dunlops I had fitted where the initial turn in was sharp and precise ) on a series of tight bends these tyres are positively dangerous in my opinion due to the fact that the rubber compound used is just too soft.( which also contributes to the poor wear rate of these tyres). Thankfully I only bought 2 so can put these on the rear when a better alternatives are found for the front
Looks like the ideal tyre, ie, quiet and comfortable and precise sharp handling is still a pipedream, its either soft quiet comfortable tyres with vague handling on the one hand or precise handling but hard riding and uncomfortable tyres on the other despite the manufactures claims these latest tyres provide the best of both worlds.if you like cruising buy these tyres if not I would recommend finding a sharper better handling alternative.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2018
Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus ST (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Righteo... The Ol' PS4 vs. CPC6 battle.
After having the PS4 on my 13' FOCST for 52,000km's it was time to replace.
Did I really really WANT the CPC6??.. No, but my local shop had them on special for $150 less than the PS4 so I decided to.. after conferring with TyreReviews.co.uk to give them a go.
The issue is with any top tier tyre.. the actual OBJECTIVE differences are almost non existent. So, are they just as good in grip/performance objectively??... Yes. But subjectively, they actually seem a little grippier in the dry compared to the PS4. (driving a 70km route each way to work, I get a pretty consistent test comparison. WET grip, I don't push it to the limit, so again objectively they seem on par, no worse at least.
Comfort.. sidewall seems a little stiffer compared with the PS4.
All in all - Pretty much same same but different. The only real Elephant in the room is longevity / wear. We all know Conti's wear considerably less than Michelin. I'm not expecting 50,000km. But anything less than 40,000 will be unacceptable.
One thing I will add Sidewall design is terrible on the CPC6.. they look terrible due to, I assume the noise reduction panelling. And there seems to be a real difference in the mould release between Michelin and Continental. Michelin have the traditional tyre spikes on the sidewall, Conti do not.. and use an almost Godlike mould release agent. It too me 3 cleaning steps with Lacquer Thinner to remove completely. You must do this otherwise your tyre shine of choice just won't stick.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018
Given 86% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
They are great tyres overall, handling and grip is excellent. The only downside is the wear, after about 20000 km (2 seasons) they seem more used than I would prefer. I don't feel any decrease in performance yet but I wouldn't use them after 40000 km (25000 miles) which in my opinion is 20-25% lower than could be expected from this price category. This is even with front-rear rotation.
This is an excellent choice if you wouldn't drive too much in one season. I would recommend something else for those who drive a lot and want long lasting tyres.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2018
Given 97% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I initally ordered Michelin PS4, but since they were out of stock, i had to go for those PC6.
It feels like i have another car. Great great comfort, grip is excellent, and even if the sidewall is really soft compared to other premium tires (91Y) the car feels really precise.
Would buy them again for sure.
Wear should be a problem since the tyre composition is soft, but that's not a problem for me, as they provide maximum comfort.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2018
Given 86% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 R Design (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,300 spirited miles
Perfect traction control during cornering at high speed. Overall very good tyre in safety and performance aspect. I see only one disadvantage - high wear.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2018
Given 85% while driving a BMW 130 (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Had the tyres on all four wheels for a few weeks now, and had a four wheel alignment done, so I feel I can speak with some insight. Honestly, probably not quite what I expected, given the various test results. Feel, feedback and communication are absolutely top notch. Can't fault them in these respects. What slightly surprises me is that they don't seem all that grippy. Dry grip is OK. Wet grip is slightly weak. Now, I will add one caveat here. The 130i in rare SE spec has two allowable tyre size options as standard: either 205/50 17 front and rear, which I've got, or 205/50 17 front and 225/45 17 rear. I'm glad I've got the former, as it allows me to swap tyres front to back to extend life. But, if I had wider rears, I would probably have enough grip. However, does this really matter? In a world where car enthusiasts are bemoaning the ever increasing grip levels manufacturers are adding to cars at the expense of balance, poise and adjustabilty, handling limits, and therefore fun, are becoming more and more out of touch at road legal speeds. These tyres warn me that I'm reaching the limits well before I actually do. They are a triumph of subjective feel over outright grip. Not one for the max power brigade. But if you understand and appreciate the difference between roadholding (how high the limit) and handling (the nature in which it gets there), these might be for you.

My last car was a Clio 182, and I went from Michelin Pilot Sport 3 (very grippy, but tramlining and not enough warning towards limit) to Continental PremiumContact 2 (less grip, but nicer feel). When I bought the tyres for this 130i, I nearly went for the new Michelin Pilot Sport 4, but I chose the Contis instead and saved £50. Next time I might try the Pilot Sport 4. I expect they will grip better, but I have a funny feeling I will prefer the subjective feel of these Contis.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2017