Dunlop Sport BluResponse Reviews - Page 2

Given 97% while driving a Skoda (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
One of the best tyres for a standard family car.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2020
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5) (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 35,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted to my dads 130hp passat b5.5 4 years ago. The car is 95% used on straight country roads and the rest is highways. Only used in summer season (april - october). He is an super economy driver but I got the chance to often drive on these tyres when going on long journeys. Quiet and comfy is what first comes to mind. But they also hold reasonably well when pushed with predictable and progressive when about to loose grip. I feel like they are also decent in the dry if you are not really pushing to the limit. No aquaplaning on motorways with reasonable speed. We cannot complain about the wear at all - due to style of driving and conditions. In fact, I would say superb wear! (mileage might be even higher, but I put a conservative number, not 100% sure since It's not on my car.) Drawback: they seem deflated all the time even with higher pressure. Soft sidewalls as with any low fuel consumption Tyre. I don't know If they still make them, but overall we were supper happy with them! They were around 63 GBP in Serbia. Happy motoring everyone! ;)
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020
Given 71% while driving a Vauxhall Agila (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Tyres were good at start but all had cracks in base of tread after 4 years. 1 was replaced after a puncture and has the same issue at a year old. Buy again, never! Bought Dunlops because of the brand, should have bought something else.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2020
Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 61% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Grip is very good, both dry and wet. But my issue with them is horrible tyre deformation after 2 summer seasons. They look like new but all 4 tyres have up and down play and also side to side on some, impossible to get perfect balance from them now. Ruins the chilled and seamless ride of the car.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
haven't driven many cars, only other tyre brand tested was bridgestone on my old car, and i must say they are nothing alike, i mean bridgestone seemed to have better dry grip but worse wet grip and one annoying feature which was the noise they made when doing a spinout at the traffic light. with the dunlops it was a whole new world, more quiet even on rough surface roads, spinnouts were silent and the only way to know i was spining out was from the car going sideways or engine revving higher than it was supposed to. they tend to understeer a bit if you push too hard trough corners but if they had the grip of the bridgestones i'd be scared to push as hard from the fear of rolling over , my car has quite high ground clearance and soft suspensions. they are excelent on wet surface you can predict exactly when and where they will slip and when it's a surprise is usually the fact they don't slip and also the understeer is more pronounced in wet conditions but still controllable . one thing i'd wish for would be the durability, mine are 2 years old now and barely made 8000 km and the front ones seem already gone over the 60% of they'r life while the back ones look at around 75% . the thin sidewalls are a double edged sword they are good for handling on slow speeds but bad for high speeds , good for comfort bad for hitting a curb. had 2 instances when i had to change one because of hitting a curb at 30 km/h , last one actually bent the rim a bit so i guess it was to be expected.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2020
Given 67% while driving a Rover 820 Si Automatic (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 18,650 easy going miles
We had fitted these on the family's Rover 820 4 years ago. The car has never been driven hard / enthusiastically, always in a very normal (perhaps even sedate) manner. While the grip, both wet and dry, always has been very good, today we discovered - by pure chance - that the entire inner part of the front tires was worn down beyond the legal limit and actually the tire's structure underneath the tread was showing! Think of a tire tread with the inner 1/3rd part completely missing. That's exactly what we observed. This is quite unacceptable, horrified the heck out of us and immediately replaced the fronts (both had the same appalling wear issue) and will soon be replacing the rears too - they can be kept for the summer, just. Yes, they have always been comfortable, which perfectly matches the particular car's character. But with such a horrible wear rate, at just 30.000 km (18.650 miles), no thank you. We won't buy again, ever.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2020
Given 67% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Previously tires on this car are Dunlop FastResponse MO, Hankook Ventus Prime K125, good tires with no obvious fault except poor wear. I have also used Michelin Primacy 3 and Michelin Primacy 4 on this car, it was not good performance, especially the Primacy 3 which was very poor on this car. The Dunlop BluResponse are good tires both wet and dry, good braking, good and stable directional stability, good cornering, good handling and response, good comfort and low noise. But the wear rate is incredibly bad, I am not sure how many km I drove with these tires, maybe ca 7000-8000 km and then they were worn to the markers with 99% normal driving and a little testing on the limits. Chunks of the thread was falling of and it seems like a rather poor build quality, most likely dangerous as well especially when driving on fast motorways/highways. Although the driving performance is good without any fault I can not at all recommend these tires based on the horrific wear and the obvious danger with disintegrating thread.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2020
Given 93% while driving a SEAT TSi 1.0 S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
This is an update: After a few thousand miles I can confirm everything I have said about the Dunlop SP Sport Blue Response on my 2017 Seat Ibiza. They suit the car extremely well so I would wager anyone with a very similar car would find the same. Not a ppretty tyre or one to love the looks of- just very functional and you forget about them almost as they get on with the job. Having recently driven another similar car on Conti Eco Contact 6's I was so pleased after to get back into my car. Much smoother over bumps - better straight line stability on the motorways. Reassuring yet informative road feedback and great all round grip. Wear is pretty good so far as well.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2020
Given 93% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought these to replace the orig Continental PC 5's which were pretty good all round. I have to say I just prefer the Dunlops in all areas!! The conti's were good but a little noisy and bumpy and actually at the limit of cornering they would skip as if the square shoulders slipped. The Dunlops are slightly more rounded and seem to stay planted a bit better. They are quieter and smoother over potholes and speed bumps. Having Dunlops in the front and Conti's on the back made the difference noticeable over rough surfaces and speed bumps.
So, in short, I feel the Dunlops are better suited to this car
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Hyundai Getz (185/55 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought a used pair of these tires in mid condition and their performance was still incredible.
Quality rubber that after so many miles on them they had amazing grip especially in the rain when i drove under the storm and i was able to speed up with confidence and split the rivers in half like Jesus! Dry grip was very good too but then i was even more thrilled when i realized that my gas mileage was improved significantly and last but not least they were one of the most quiet on the market too. Hands down these tires are top notch and i would highly recommend them to anyone cause they are simply amazing in every aspect.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2019
Given 92% while driving a Renault Clio III dci 106 (195/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 7 average miles
Great grip in the dry also excellent in the wet , cornering also very good , what I like best is very low noise and very comfortable. The only thing is if you have a tyre of this great quality I replace the front tyres on a front wheel drive car with power steering every year , but the backs will last easily 2 years maybe more with 37psi in them . Normally I put around 36psi in the front tyres because I drive a Diesel engine car and the weight of the Diesel engine is more than a petrol engine . But these tyres are great , tried lots of different tyres before but these are easily the overall winners , not I just keep buying Dunlop Blu response 88V .
Heavy duty weight .
Overall very happy indeed
Excellent tyres ,
Well Done Dunlop .
I can see why Essex Police use them .
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2019
Given 93% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk2 1.33 (1NR FE) (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 33,670 average miles
Purchased 4 tyres in 2015, and at the time whilst doing research l found great reviews ..( these or continental) and then possibly due to the size l found them at a very competitive price,compared to contis..
Once fitted... straight away the car was soo much quieter... oh l have since seen same tyres with different tyres labels so to clarify l purchased x4 Dunlop SP blue response with rating label of fuel C, grip A noise 67..
So C/A/67 2015 , tyres made same year.
Noise comfort handling, everything improved, and l really rate these tyres...
They are at their best in dry conditions and they cope equally well in rain... I have really felt confident with these tyres on car... Seriously
They are a summer tyre, but l kept them on during winter, due to UK rainy winters... They are at their optimal when temperatures are above 7degrees.. ( that was from info l saw) so on a cold winter day, when it drops below 7, to me it was noted that the tyres feel v hard, that aside they still were ok. I got through 3 winters with all 4 tyres, l think as they are so grippy they are made of a softer compound than others, but l for price of tyres, and the fact l got 30k ,3 years l was impressed.. These tyres like many summer tyres are not great in the snow, l just slowed down and took care...
I had 2 punctures, both times were screws, later discovered workmen had dropped some over the road and v frustrating as that aside l wouldn't need tyres like l now do... Also it messes with how long they actually lasted... If you do get 4 ensure u rotate them to maintain even wear... I am opting for same tyres again now lve found C/A/67 rating ones, also was hard to match other tyres with them 3 labels,... I would advise getting the best wet grip tyres u can as here in UK rain is more likely than snow..
I did see all season tyres but they run flat, and then Na in tyre sizes.
I'm going to buy same,as l know what they are like, how good they are and atm can't find a worthy replacement.. l really rate these tyres and l think they are a great combination with my trusty reliable car...
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2019