Dunlop Sport BluResponse Reviews - Page 4

Given 46% while driving a Suzuki SX4 1.6 LITRE PETROL (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
A newish set of these came with my Suzuki SX4.
They accentuated the cars hard ride, and the steering had a `sticky` feel in the straight ahead position.
They grip well on a warm dry road, but are very poor in the wet .It was very easy to spin the wheels pulling out into moving traffic on a wet road,(no traction control on the SX4).
I am no expert, but the tread design seems little more than slicks with longitudinal grooves, as the lateral grooves very quickly wear away from new.
I know this is contrary to the vast majority of opinion on here, but it is what I have experienced, and I guess the test comparisons are done on brand new tyres
I threw them out at 5mm, and fitted a set of cross climates, which provided the same kind of huge improvement they had done on my Saab 9-3.
Improved steering, wet grip, and ride, and much, much quieter


Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2017
Given 83% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 miles
Its a tire that i would by again. A good all around tire it is silent, it has very good fealing in dry and wet condition. The breaking is perfect. Only in under 12 C temp. The tire is working a lot to give you the preformace you expected to have from it. I would recomend the tire and i was very satisfied with them. Good job Dunlop!!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2017
Given 40% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (195/65 R16) on track for 15,000 average miles
For the first 15.000 km the tyre was ok , silent. After that it becomes very very noise, it was like i had a broken bearing , so noisy are they now, never, but never buy this brand again. When i say noisy, i mean you cannot stay in the car.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2017
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 80% while driving a Opel Corsa C (185/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
Good overall tyres, drove them for 20000 kms in my Corsa C, before a puncture and a bad suspension rendered them useless, the inside tread was long gone. As for grip simply great, no problems whatsoever in wet or dry. Good response in braking and stopping power with little skidding from 80-0. With a good suspension should have lasted for at least 50000 kms.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2017
Given 83% while driving a Honda Jazz (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Bought as replacement tyres on a Honda Jazz Hybrid - OE tyres were Michelin Energy. Wear was in line with the Michelins, while comfort was improved giving the Jazz a rather more compliant ride. Road noise was somewhat improved subjectively. The Michelins are very good tyres for low wear and low mpg, but the Dunlops suited the Jazz Hybrid very well and offered a rather more comfortable ride. Would buy the Dunlops again.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2017
Given 33% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
Fitted Dunlop Sport BluReponse on a Ford Fiesta 1.25 as they were supposed to give similar fuel saving and longevity as Michelin Energy Savers I had previously, but were about 15% cheaper to buy. Driving mostly motorway mileage while alone in the car (low stress). Tyres on the rear wheels wore just as fast as the front, and all four tyres wore unevenly at the shoulders (I keep my tyre pressures slightly high for motorway runs, so they should wear at centre, not shoulders) and also loose balance by about 25% of their wear life, spoiling ride comfort and handling. Tracking was checked several times during the life of the tyres and was always OK, so it was the tyres at fault, not the car. At about 75% life, one rear (low stressed) tyre developed a large bulge between centre-tread and the shoulder and rapidly (over about 1000miles during 1 week) wore through the remaining tread and 2 layers of the steel bands. Fortunately I investigated the severe vibration and found the defect before it blew out, as this would have been potentially fatal. I'll never by a Dunlop Tyre again, and would advise that no-one else does either. The tyres didn't even give the claimed fuel efficiency for which they were bought.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2017
Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I mounted tyres 2 years ago. I drove around 15000km/ 10000 miles with those tyres. I am ok with handling and grip. For that i gave a good point. On the other hand wear is at maximum, they look even worst then my Pirelli P7 mounted by factory 7 years ago in 2010. Conclusion this is like a FORMULA 1 tyre: lasts for 10 laps with max grip and then change.
My car is a passsat with 140HP - family car NOT FORMULA 1 car. I am disappointed for this aspect.
I think they can do better then this.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2017
Given 57% while driving a (205/60 R16 V) on for 0 miles
Not for more 30000kilometes
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2017
Given 96% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (195/65 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 19,160 easy going miles
Very good tyre. I drive daily through a mounting pass and since O got these tyres two years ago it's been real pleasure to speed on the turns. Very stable grip. Wear is promising. I think to be far from halflife as of now. So far very stable on wet. I didn't have any aquaplanning to observe behaiviour since I drive very cautiously. I obay safety first rule because of the bodies I've seen on the road. I think milage and long life pays off the little extra cost. Keeping cruising speed at no more than 100 km/h I get below 5.0 l/100km.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2017
Given 37% while driving a Skoda Yeti (205/55 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
WASTE OF MONEY: I bought a pair of Dunlop Sport BluResponse tyres in December 2016. At the time I chose the brand Dunlop as I thought that it had a good name. I fitted the tyres at the front of my 3 year old Yeti 1.4 diesel Greenline which had done under 40,000 miles on the original Continental tyres that were from new. It is now April and the car has done at the most 6,000 miles and I have 4mm left of thread. My 3 year old original Continental back tyres that have more thread than the 4 month old front Dunlop tyres. Yes they are quiet, have average grip and have good fuel efficiency but i give them zero longevity. I intend to stay well clear away from Dunlop or Good year for that reason.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2017
Given 89% while driving a Opel vectra c (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
After 45.000 km (on heavy car - 1350kg), I can say that these tyres are awesome. Last long, comfortable, superb handling. All the best I can say for them. I'll buy them again.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2017
Given 75% while driving a BMW 118d (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
Replacing the runflats on my BMW 118d, I chose these for the high wet and dry grip ratings and noise levels. While it took a bit of experimentation to get the pressures right (31 front, 30 rear) these are much quieter and more comfortable than the Hankook runflats I had on before. The noise is more of a white noise hiss than the typical roar of a tyre. Very good.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2017