Firestone RoadHawk Reviews - Page 2

(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate driver back again with my last review on this tyre 205/55r16 91v. Well I had enough of them about a month back these tyre's were not getting any better with time. The warmer the weather went the worse they became I was constantly checking the pressures because they just looked flatter all the time, and the cornering ride wasn't giving any confidence any more.

These tyres maybe ok on the rear of the car but for me not on the front..so they had to go. I have fitted a better/mid/budget tyre the Viking Protech Newgen, after their running in period they has transformed the front end all together the car is now nice to drive again. The Firestones may be ok for some cars they did not do well on my Astra.
Cheers
0 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2019   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I have fitted these tyres on my Giulietta last summer and the car felt worse from the beginning. The ride was rough and there were vibrations felt through the seat and in the steering wheel at high speeds. I tried balancing several times, even at a road force balancing machine that revealed uniformity issues. Indeed, during these 5000 miles I had to rebalance them every so often. As it is mentioned in other posts, the deflection of these tyres is huge, the sidewalls seem very soft and therefore cornering is a mess. I didn't find them quiet either and their wear rate was poor. First, they have around 7mm when they are brand new and they were down to 4.5-5mm in 5000 miles of really average driving. Overall, I cannot recommend this tyre especially when you can buy a premium one at this price range.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Came with car as factory fit, very good dry and wet grip, for normal driving (without any sport driving intentions because when you push them to a limit they start to loose grip easly) handling is more than fine, on higher speeds can get noisy. Most of the time II had feeling that I don't feel what's happening with car, and in my opinion road feedback is not so good. I wouldn't recommend buying these tyres to premium or any other cars than small or city cars. They are ok tyres, although there are better out there for the same price.
6 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 45% while driving a Alfa Romeo GTV (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have these on the front of my alfa gtv 2.0 ,Bit of a mixed bag to be honest feel very grippy in the dry but I dont think they do much for the handling at all have had them push out in the dry on corners and
they seem to cause the front of the car to bounce around. The bigest surprise was the loss of traction in the wet in a straight line , the gtv is no rocket ship but they wheel spin in the wet when the t spark engine hits the power band not good at all, they are being put on the back of the car and replaced with somthing that is a lot firmer
2 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2018   
Given 72% while driving a Nissan 200sx (205/50 R17) on mostly town for 200 average miles
I have recently fitted these tyres to the rear of my car (RWD). So far they have been a comfortable, grippy tyre in the wet and dry, although I have not found its limit yet. The downsides I have found with this tyre are that they don't come with a rim protector, which added to the overall look of the tyre. As a result, the sidewall looks a bit thinner than it is. The sidewall is also very soft, to the touch and to look at. The tyre constantly looks under-inflated when in fact it is not.
And finally the biggest downside - as mentioned by other posters - the tyre only comes with a tread depth of ~6mm when new. This is less than any other new tyre I have bought.
Overall, a good performing, reasonably prices tyre, although there are better out there for the same price.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a SEAT Leon (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
For this price tyres are really good. Excellent dry grip. I recenty bought them and didnt drive at wet condition. Looks like there is less than 8mm of tyre when bought new.They are produced in new Bridgestone factory in Hungary.
They have much better grip then 3,5 years old Michelins, that I had before. On other car I drive new Nokian Line, and this tyre feels the same at road. Sidewall looks a little bit softer when touched then expected. I would allways recommend Continental if you have money, but if budget is too low this tyre does the same job.
11 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2018   
Given 52% while driving a Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 2,200 spirited miles
Just an update on my tyres after a trip to Cornwall, my overall advice is don't put these on the front of the car, the deflection ( bulge ) is too great this is a straight line tyre it does not like sweeping bends at all. It is a very comfy tyre its good in the wet its good in the dry but only at low speeds do not push this tyre it cant take it. Even my partner has commented are they low on pressure, they are on eco pressures at the mo 36psi and they still look low the sidewall just pushes outwards they are weak. The other tyres I have used are of a stiffer side wall and hold themselves on bends and I am not concerned but these on moderate fast roads are a nightmare on the front.
cheers
8 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Tuff Tyre to review, its a very soft tyre compared to others very soft sidewall I am on 36psi on the front to decrease tyre deflection should be 31psi in summer and its still a sponge, dry cornering is noisy because of the tyre flexing straight line is fine also its a very comfy ride. In the wet its brill coz its a soft tyre and is not a worry at all. One thing because this tyre is not sold outside of the UK there are is no information on the sidewall apart from size and speed and load there is no maxx cold psi at all they are not obligated to put any information on the side wall. I spoke to Firestone and they said if you need to know anything about the psi loading you have to phone them to calculate axle weight load rate for them to tell you what air pressure you can inflate the tyre to and they will not tell you treadwear at all..I know its pants.

I will not buy this tyre again because i like to read the information I require from the sidewall, and not have to contact the manufacturer.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Toyota Prius (195/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 1,450 average miles
as to wet grip/road feedback and handling never drove to the limit but normal driving with occasional fairly fast cornering
they hold a 40 degree 1 in 8 bend well at 80+ .....but after having a free health check done on the car after a small repair
found out my 6 months old less than 1500mls travel depths were 5m on both front tyres...
Comfort medium and noise slightly raised.... need to think price over necessity before buying again..
28 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2018   
Vauxhall (195/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 1,000 miles
I feel very safe with these tyre. Much better then Michelin
11 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2018   
Given 88% while driving a Mazda 5 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
not good in snow no grip
29 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2018   
Given 51% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
Shite wear rate you'll be lucky to see 9000 miles out of them. A disgrace!
12 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2017