Michelin Alpin A4 Reviews - Page 2

Given 86% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.6cr TDi (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Incredible on snow and ice. They sap confidence in the rain though, primarily because they numb the brake pedal and you don't get much feel. Very quiet and refined but compared to summer tyres feel a bit like driving through treacle if it's dry and the air temp is more than 10 degrees c. Perfect for winter though - accelerate steer and brake on snow almost like its not there. Fit them in November and take them off in March, but don't run them in the summer.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Well done. Before I had conti ts830. Michelin is better than conti on dry road. Every feel is the same. Good Tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 170 Quattro (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought for winter and arrived the day before a massive dump of snow which lasted a week. As we live in rural Aberdeenshire I got to experience these on deep snow for my daily commute of 25 miles into Aberdeen. The grip and traction blew me away when compared to a summer tyre and my confidence in the Quattro was reasured. Not driven enough to comment on wear, but performance has left me praying for more cold weather.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2013   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 99% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Ive only just bought a full set of these bad-boys and believe me they really are In my opinion 1 of the best tyres on the market especially If you have any worries about going to work or getting home etc.. they grip to the road like s**t to a blanket... dont even consider buying them cheapo nasty chinese budget tyres as they will reduce fuel consumption, and overhaul performance etc etc.. If you are going to even consider buying these tyres theirs a web-site I used which is called (OPONEO) use them as they are about £20 cheaper then other retailers and I had mine delivered with 3 days... All I can say really to be completey honest with you Is buy them and give it a go.. good luck and I hope they serve you as well as they have served me..
1 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2012   
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Bought a 2nd set of rims for these winter tyres to avoid the pain of removing and refitting and to go for different size and profile - the standard wheel / tyre is 225/45 17 which is too wide for winters on a Golf. The tyres are astounding, snow performance is as if you have 4 wheel drive - steering and braking up and down hill with confidence, but it is "normal" driving on cold / wet / cruddy British roads that surprised - smooth, quiet, comfortable - and 5 mpg better than summer tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5 1.9 TDi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
I bought those in 2008 and now in 2012 I bought them again. Why? Because of so many kilometers I've made with them. Before that I was told Michelin tyre doesn't last long. Wrong. I've drove with them 4 winter seasons and after winter 2011 I didn't change them before summer season on purpose. Grip in wet was still good so I left them on and wear them to the end. There was still 4mm of profile but for snow sake their life was at the end. Lately I'm getting aquaplaning often so they gotta go.

I've probably made around 90000- 100000 km with Michelin alpin A4. Comfort? As long as my CD changer doesn't skip, I'd say great. My style of driving family car is probably average though driving 30km/h over the speed limit is normal for me (I do have radar detector) If I want to be on my job in time. Michelin alpin A4 is good buy IMO. Here where I live winter are like 2 months of dry cold (+4/-20°C)and 1 month of constant snow at least...and since roads are not plowed early in the morning I'm driving in fresh snow quite often. That's why I need good winter tyres; and Michelin alpin A4 gets the job done.
My driving experiences are +20 years including rally.
I consider myself swift but safe driver.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2012   
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
best winter tire in its class, exceptional in all conditions!
1 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2012   
Given 96% while driving a Audi A4 2.8 quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Amazing grip on fresh snow. Other cars could barely move and mine was barely losing any traction !

It was the first time I invested in a set of Winter tyres, and I now fully measure the benefit. These tyres are perfectly decent in the dry and very good in the wet, but it is really in treacherous conditions that they shine the brightest. They could be the difference between getting stuck and getting home if you're caught in a snowfall.

I'll be happy to mount them back on the car next Fall.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2012   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.9 PD100 (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
They are really amazing winter tyres, had always been predictable with deep snow, ice, rain... Definitely buy again!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2012   
Given 83% while driving a Opel vectra c (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Very very good on snow. All types of snow (wet or dry).
On dry, even on winter cold, bad grip in corners.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Vauxhall Zafira 2.0 dti (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
Wow! Yes, that really is a wow!

I fitted these to a Zafira 2.0DTI towards the end of October 2011 and I'm only just looking to replace them in the next few weeks as they are down to nearly 3mm on the lowest.
Now that may not seem a long time but the vehicle in question is used as a taxi, can carry six passengers at times (a lot of weight when cornering or on roundabouts), does a lot of short stop-start nipping about runs as well as 300 mile round trip airport runs and travels from 7500-10000 miles every month. A hard working vehicle with hard working tyres!

This Zafira runs on steel wheels with 195/65/15 so when loaded down and pushed the tyres are working much harder than the 205's used with alloy wheels.

I would sum up these tyres as the best overall performing and longest wearing tyres I have ever had on for winter use and will get 40,000 from them from new to 3mm and by shopping around for circa £300 for all for corners fitted.
Would I buy again... YES, although a local Michelin supplier is trying to convince me on the comparable merits of the Kleber Quadraxer, an all-season tyre thats FULLY winter rated.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2012   
Given 99% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
Exceptional tyres!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2012