Maxxis Premitra HP5 Reviews - Page 2

Given 60% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Mondeo front tyres bought 30/05/2018 will last approx.3000 miles . Very dissapointing
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018
Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2012 (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Maxxis HP5 is good in the wet. I suppose it can be used for 40000~45000km.
It's a high cost/performance tire.


Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2018
Given 71% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,500 average miles
Bought these at a £60 a corner, which at this size (215/55R16) is a bargain price.
Pros & neutral: The tyres grip very nicely, whether in dry or wet. Handling, while not as good as straight braking, is good and sure. Noise is on par with than any other tyre I remember (and I used mostly premium tyres so far), comfort is fine. Road feedback is fine, as well as progressiveness (for most of their life), and they were quite resistant to aquaplanning. One thing worth mentioning is they bring about a little steering numbness on straight when driving at speed - but that can be an advantage on a motorway, depending how you look at it. I have to say they are better and cheaper than the Avon ZV7s I had before.
Cons: The wear and how they behave at the end of their life.
I've been driving my car, a Vectra diesel, for the last 9 years and from that I know that, with its big lump and torque, it EATS tyres on the front axle like there is no tomorrow. However, after 9500 miles one of the tyres is at the wear mark, which, even taking into account the above, is poor.
The other issue is that upon reaching 2mm thread depth these tyres started losing grip on handling (but not braking) at the slightest sign of dampness. With ease, without warning and any progression, which makes them downright dangerous.
So, to sum it up: good tyres, unexpectedly enjoyable to drive, but wear fast and once 80% worn, they suddenly become terrible, so best if changed early. Whether I would buy again or not depends on whether I could find them at the price I got them last year.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2018
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 78% while driving a Saab Automobile 2.0T (210bhp) (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
David Burford of Saabtech recommended these tyres to me. My Saab 95 had recently passed its MOT, but I got it in my head to change the Michelin Primacy on the rear and Dunlop Sport Bluresponse on the front. I read the reviews on the Maxxis HP5 manufactured by the 9th biggest tyre company in the world, China's Cheng Shin Tyre Company. With reference to whether the wear of the tyre justifies the cost, my review is this: new budget tyres are much better than worn premium tyres. I won't comment on the highly subjective personal ratings, but point out this tyre is A rated for wet grip, C rated for fuel economy, and certified 70db for noise. Saabtech fit the tyre, balanced and disposal of the old tyre for 55 pounds a corner. Well worth it, I'd say.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2018
Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz C350 RWD (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Normally always run continental contact sport 5, but they wear out extremely fast. So decided to go for the hp5 after reading its excellent reviews and ratings for the wet. I always enjoy driving hard in the rain where its safe to do so. (yes i may be a nutter) but i enjoy good grip and traction while doing so. These tyres have mininal slide on full acceleration, can accelerate out of bends too without the car fishtailing but pushed hard enough there is good feedback from the tyre before it wants to fully let go into a drift per say. Very similar to the tyres i have ran before but abit more spongy when throwing the car around. But quality and grip for money, i have ran these tyres down to almost the bead but if driven sensibly i would assume near double the millage that i have done. I will be replacing these tyres with the same set they suit my driving stye and car very well and and cheap isnt the word compared to top tyre manufacturers tyres with almost the same drivability. If you are a spirited driver with a budget these are definitely the tyres to go for
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2018
Given 63% while driving a Volvo C30 1.8 (205/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 6,000 easy going miles
After dubbing a lot between these tyres or Vredestein Ultrac Satin, I chose the Maxxis. Reviews I read were pretty fine, good grip in wet and dry, a little bit higher wear, but a little bit ain't that bad at a price of €62 each, compared to €85 for Vredestein.

Today, after about 10,000kms I thought it was a good idea to check the wear. They've been on the rear axle all the time, so wear shouldn't be too bad. After all, I had Vredestein Sportrac5 before for 46,000km and they're still going strong at the front axle with another 30,000kms done (76,000 in total!). These have to be replaced now, so a good moment to check whether Maxxis is doing well.

Immediately upon checking the wear it seemed my tyre pressure must have been too low. 1.5mm wear at the sides, 0.5 in the middle. But I checked, 2.5bar, as I always had before, and what Volvo advices. I set them to 3bars, but I don't think it will be comfortable..

So.. 1.5mm in 10,000km.. = 6mm in just 40,000km, and they have to be replaced... Just 40,000km on the rear axle.. that's bad. If my former Vredestein would've been on the rear all the time, they might have hit 100,000km.. and the price of Maxxis is certainly not more than half of Vredestein..



Grip in wet and dry is fine. They're pretty noisy, also a bad thing.
I won't buy these tyres again, they wear out far too fast.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2017
Given 87% while driving a Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Put these on the front axle to replace the Michelin Premacy HPs which were brilliant and covered 25000 miles but I wasn't going to pay £110 a corner to replace them. I've driven 10000 miles on these so far and they are wearing well with over 5mm left. They're a bit noisier and don't handle quite as well as the Michelins but they aren't that far behind and at £55 each they're half the price which seems a bargain for a Maxxis tyre
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2017
Given 23% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Hello I’m very careful when choosing my tyres as I’ve experienced poor quality tyres before! I’m in the garage trade! I’m a time served mechanic I currently own a VW golf VII 4 motion 2.0TDI running on tyre size - 2055516 91v now I’ve had maxxis hp5 as a recommendation by a tyre expert in the know! so I’ve been running on the hp 5 shows which a labelled at A for wet grip & C for fuel efficiently I was very suspicious to how they have better grades than the Michelin energy saver that originally came off the car yet maxxis is a lot cheaper, now I I’ve currently done 6231 miles and there not far from legal limit with only 2mm to go before hitting the wear indicator leaving the tyre at 1.6mm that in my opinion is false economy, however I do long journeys 50 miles round trip to work and back daily so maybe tyres getting to much heat or rubber compound to soft but then this does not make sense due to the current low temperature so I’m left confused about the wear! stability is great in a straight line in the dry and wet roads in a straight line however I find it’s not the best at higher speed 50-60 in the wet whilst cornering or manuvering and feels a little of balance compare to Michelin energy saves that came off the car, the wet grip to be fair is good for town driving just don’t expect to drive your car hard or any high speed cornering a little too scary for me I would recommend placing tyre purchases very carefully a higher end mid range a tyre with a brand backed by a premium tyre manufacture the end of the day if I’m to purchase a mid range tyre I’m best looking for the right tyre balance, more focus on wet grip and tyre “wear” unfortunately the tyre labels don’t show wear! Why is this! If tyre wear was graded this would change the way we purchase tyres, a balanced tyres make more sense to me! Overall all the maxis hp5 is not a bad tyre although ive had better tyre grip & tyre wear and would rather spend a little more to improve quality of tyre more miles and wet grip stability please maxxis just not quiet got the balance right, there for I’ve balanced my score on price vs quality and believe it’s a fair balance.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2017
Given 96% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Always had Continental contact 5 fitted to my Seat Leon, when they had done there time i was offered a set of Maxxis HP5s by by local tyre fitter,so at the price i thought id give them a try, must say so far i am very impressed,great feedback,grip in the wet just as good as they do in the dry and very quiet,,7000 miles so far and they seem to be wearing a lot better than the continentals,, I will be buying another set of HP5s when this wear out
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2017
Given 83% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTLi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Had 215/45/17 fitted. So far so good after a few thousand miles. Wet grip is excellent compared to some premium brands I have had in the past costing twice as much. Wear is acceptable but for how much they cost I believe it evens out in the end when coming to fitting new perhaps a couple of months sooner than before. Comfort is decent and noise acceptable. Dry grip very good. Cornering relatively stable. Yes there are better tyres out there, but for someone on a budget these are excellent.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2017
Given 87% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (195/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Very pleasantly surprised by these - they are quite cheap yet very well made, & sturdy - yet the ride is not very hard - its about in the middle I would say. Straight line stability is great - none of this pulling to one side or the other on odd surfaces.Wet grip is amazing and yes I even tried them out briefly in snow and in a quiet car park - these are as good as the best of the other Summer tyres I have ever had .
To be honest I don't know how the wear will pan out - but the rest is so good I would accept less then good wear as they are quite cheap to buy - better handling and feedback than the top tyres I have had so far.
Despite not claiming to have a rim guard there is more there than on my old Falkens which had rim guards!
I love these and will buy more.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2017
Given 70% while driving a Suzuki Swift 1,2 2013 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Applied this Maxxis HP5 on my wife's Suzuki Swift for 6 weeks/2500KM. At the first week these HP5 surprised me very much, I can even drift the little Swift at 80Km/hr on corners without braking it and no tyre crying noise. However, after 1500 KM, I found loud ZZZ noise up the highway driving at over 80Km/hr. Other than bad noise comfort, I actually feel the grips on wet/dry are quite above average. Recommended only for racing enthusiastic people who do not mind the noise. Me I cannot stand it cause it really trigger my tinnitus.
Helpful 204 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2016