Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21

The BluEarth-4S AW21 incorporates Yokohama’s latest winter-tyre technologies to provide drivers with outstanding performance on icy and snowy winter roads as well as excellent dry and wet performance under more normal driving conditions. The tyre also features a newly developed tread pattern that features an optimal balance of edge area and surface contact area.

Tyre review data from 7 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 6,024 miles driven, and 4 tests with an average result of 16th.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 70%
Wear 55%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 73%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 77%

First On MarketMarch 2018
Wheel Size14 - 22"
Width155 - 295mm
Profile35 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - E
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The BluEarth 4S AW21 is ranked 27th of 58 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Tests Included

4

Best Result

6th

Worst Result

23rd

Average Result

16th

Latest Tyre Test Results

The Best All Season Tyres for 2024
6th of 7 tyres
  • Very high levels of grip in snow, best ice braking, lower purchase price.
  • Low levels of grip in the wet, long dry braking, very high rolling resistance.
  • The Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 is another tyre that is better in the snow and ice than the dry and wet. It's not a bad product, and it was very good in the snow, but perhaps a bit too good for an all season tyre as it was firmly outclassed when not in winter conditions.
View Full Test >>

2024 Tyre Tests

2023 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
185/60R14 82 HDC70
175/65R14 82 TDC70
15 inch
195/55R15 89 VDB72
185/65R15 92 VDC70
195/65R15 91 HDB70
185/65R15 88 HDC70
16 inch
215/70R16 100 HDB72
205/55R16 94 VDB72
215/60R16 99 VCB72
205/55R16 91 VDB72
205/60R16 96 VDB72
215/60R16 99 HCB72
205/60R16 96 HDB72
17 inch
225/50R17 98 VCB72
205/50R17 93 VDB72
215/55R17 98 WCB72
225/45R17 94 VDB72
225/60R17 103 VCB72
225/45R17 94 WDB72
215/45R17 91 WDB72
235/65R17 108 WCB72
18 inch
245/45R18 100 YCB72
235/60R18 107 WCB72
245/40R18 97 YDB72
225/40R18 92 WDB72
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLDB71
20 inch
255/45R20 105 W XLCB73
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 >>

Questions and Answers for the Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21

2018-12-11 - New XC60 4x4 (235/55/R19 V) comes with Latitude road tyres that are no use to me. I live on Dartmoor hence mud and stones plus some ice and snow. I need a sturdy all season tyre capable of a bit of off road but also capable of dealing with poor road conditions with gravel potholes and stones. Strong sidewalls. Currently using Yokohama Geolandars which last for ever but probably aren't the best in snow or in the wet. Looking at Scorpion Verde all season FSL with rim protector band. But the Verde is runflat M&S which seems like a good idea but how good on stones off road? Any suggestions - most other makes only have an H speed rating - I should have V though I'm not likely to exceed 130!

I'm afraid I'm currently out of my depth when it comes to SUV. This test includes both all season and AT tyres which are legal winter tyres and will give you an idea regarding the balance of performance.


2023-12-27 - Despite its mid-low ratings in all the tests, do you know something more about the Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 thanks

I'm afraid not, all the data I know is on the site.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £75.99 - £81.55 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £79.99 - £109.82 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £155.42 - £155.42 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/60 R16 £113.58 - £144.99 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £107.14 - £136.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £92.71 - £113.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £176.93 - £176.93 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 60 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Honda CRV (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Great looking tyre with plenty of all round uniform tread.
Helpful 200 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2018
Given 70% while driving a Suzuki vitara s 1,4 boosterjet (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 10 easy going miles
The first 2 years with these tyres was brilliant! Smooth drive quiet with very little road noise noticed. Summer months the tyres were fine not very sporty, noticed as the temperatures got up to 30°c they felt very soft going around corners.
Autumn into winter is were these tyres are great! The wet grip is excellent and feels like a normal summer tyre. When the snow arrived I was really impressed how much grip they gave going up hills even braking on snow was very good. Into the 3rd year of ownership and cracks started to appear on the tread blocks where it contacts the road, also noticed that road noise has increased with the ride feeling harsher than before. Seems like most all season tyres suffer from this hardening of the tyre surface into the 3rd year of use. I doubt I would buy these again due to this.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2023
Given 95% while driving a BMW 435d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
They have been excellent over the winter months, they feel very solid on seriously wet roads and motorways and when it has been icy there hasn’t been any slip or loss of traction when accelerating or braking. No use in snowy conditions or warm hot weather as yet. Very glad I swapped my Primacy 3’s, nice in the dry but to me they didn’t feel solid particularly on wet motorways, these are a vast improvement in the wet.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022
Have you driven on the Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 >

Latest Yokohama BluEarth 4S AW21 Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Subaru XV 2.0 D (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
OE tyres G95A by Yokohama, M+S designed with not that good performance on wet. Tyres are somewhat designed for "all terrain" use, Geolandar series, so it was not a surprise. Then I switched to G055 M+S tyres over again, good tread wear, good in the wet and in the dry, sufficient in the snow as the G95A was -the AWD proved axcellent and overtaking winter tyres equipped cars-. Last I put on weather control A005 from Bridgestone, very good in dry and et, but too winter oriented and soft compound, tread wear not an asset at all -blistering noted on the edges after 30,000 km, trew them away. I drove 80,000 miles with the liste tyres, then I put on the 4S AW21, giving credit to Yokohama first real all season tyre. They are developed from a summer tyre as far as I know, I hope this is true as the tread depth is not excessive. So far so good, wet and dry performance is very good, cornering in the wet is excellent wiht my car. Only lihgt snow tested, but I do not pretend that much as I rely on the AWD and even a fair performance becomes a good performance thanks to the symmetrical AWD with the viscous centre diff and limited slip, so the snow and ice ratings are not a reason of choice for me. First impression was they are a bit better than the Bridgestone A005, but performance may dramatically change according to tyre size and vehicle, on my car this tyre by far outperforms the bridgestone A005, althouhg my expectation was not to that direction.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2020
Given 51% while driving a Skoda (205/60 R19 H) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
I fitted 2 YOKOHAMA "BLUE EARTH" tyres to the front of my car May 2017.After only 14,632 miles one had a crack running the full circumference of the outer tread next to the outer wall. I found it very difficult to contact YOKOHAMA and l still had no reply after 3 weeks. AVON ZV5 same size fitted to the same position on the same vehicle reached 21,145 .Fitted to the rear 28,000, performance wet and dry roads was very similar to that of the YOKOHAMA.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Volkswagen (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I can't comment on snow and ice grip as yet but dry and wet grip perfectly acceptable (Golf MK 6 1.2 TSI) through some spirited driving. Only downside is steering feel when manoeuvring - tyres give very odd sensation but nothing so bad that would stop me buying again
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2020