Motorcycle Summer Touring Tyres

Below are all the reviewed motorcycle summer touring tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nankang WF2 Sportiac (6) 100% 90% 94% 70% 82% 85%
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (26) 86% 70% 75% 75% 88% 83%
Maxxis Supermaxx ST (13) 82% 73% 72% 73% 31% 73%

Motorcycle Summer Touring Tyres with no reviews

Avon StreetRunner AV83, Continental ContiGo, Dunlop Arrowmax Streetsmart, Maxxis M6002 V1, Maxxis M6011 Touring, Michelin Power Pure SC, Nankang WF1 Sportiac

Motorcycle Summer Touring Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated 54% while driving a KTM 790 Duke
Driving on a combination of roads for 3100 spirited miles
Dry Grip - really impressive for the price point. Never any drama and very consistent grip all the way to the edge of the tyre.

Wet Grip - again, incredible for the price. Great feel of grip levels and never sliding all over the place for as long as you're sensible with that right wrist.

Road Feedback - while the road feedback was great in the wet due to the low grip threshold, this completely changed in the dry. Whilst I had a rough idea what was going on, it was never a feeling of complete security especially when pushing the tyre. While grip levels to the edge of the tyre was never an issue, feel was. It almost felt like you would hit a barrier where the tyre would just stop communicating what the front end is doing, leaving to a constant feeling mid corner of "oh sh*t am I about to lose the front?" For proper spirited riding on the road, this can be almost scary at times.

Handling - while the handling wasn't bad, it also wasn't great. Tip in was incredibly sluggish, and this is what makes it lose points big time. Once it is tipped in, mid corner adjustments are easy and actually quick pleasant, but quickly flicking back and forth on these tyres feels like more of a workout rather than fun. I find that a real shame.

Wear - the worst point of this tyre, and downright embarrassing for how Maxxis advertise it. A sport-touring tyre, that gets mileage as if it were a hypersport tyre, terrible. While sure it has a lot of grip for what is a sport-touring tyre, I'm 3100 miles in and at the rear it's at the wear bars and it is incredibly squared off. When much nicer (but also far more expensive) hypersport tyres get similar mileage whilst also being far far more enjoyable to ride, I seriously expect better. Not only that but at this point of wear levels, the poor road feedback only gets worse. The front is still doing alright though, it seems like the typical 2x rear for every 1x front.

Comfort - actually quite a strong point of this tyre, it feels wonderfully comfortable over harsh bumps given its decent mid corner support.

Buy Again - absolutely not, while the £175 price for a pair of 120/70/17 180/55/17 tyres is great, you can also get Maxxis' Supermaxx Sport MA-SP tyres for the same price, which are a far more sporty offering whilst having a duel compound tread, likely leading to even better performance at the same sort of mileage. However, for just £100 more or even less if you can get a good deal, you can find the likes of Metzeler M9-RR's or Pirelli Diablo Rosso 3's. Far better tyres which will also should get you more miles both front and rear. I've personally (now that I have worn out the rear) picked up a cracking deal on a pair of Avon 3D Ultra Evo's for just £175, I'm not even going to bother saving some money and buying another rear to make the most out of the front tyre, I really feel these Maxxis tyres are spoiling my bikes handling.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-07 16:09:13
Dunlop Arrowmax Streetsmart rated 72% while driving a Honda CB500S
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I use my bike mostly for commuting, but I have done a bit of touring too. These tyres have never let me down, but do seem to wear out fairly quickly in the centre-band, I had to change my first rear tyre after 6000 miles. I am now starting to look at a set of new tyres after the current rear has done 4500 miles. I probably would buy these again, I don't have any specific problems with them as such, but I do not push my bike to its limits often at all.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-12 20:18:54
Nankang WF2 Sportiac rated 89% while driving a Honda CBR650R
Driving on mostly motorways for 3106 spirited miles
it's a very good price/performance tire to choose , well grip at summer time, would like to buy again
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-17 08:38:24
Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated 79% while driving a
Driving on track for 2000 average miles
i had these fitted two years ago due to the appeal of the cost. although i don't typically do much mileage on my Gsxr these have been used for commuting, weekend rides and occasional track use first impressions was the more sporty nature of the profile for a sports touring tyre, they seem to hold up well even on a wet novice trackday at Outlon park. i believe these were the original choice of tyre for the Chris Walker track school and its easy to see why as these seem to offer good consistent grip in all conditions. the only downside is they seem to take time to generate heat. in terms of wear im roughly 2,000 miles into these and wear seems consistent (however as mentioned i do a lot of novice track days on these)
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-12 11:38:59
Avon StreetRunner AV83 rated 43% while driving a Kawasaki Z250SL
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Dealer fitted this tire on second hand Z250. Dissapointing tyre, performance is okeyish but definitelly not inspiring. Have this tyre on the rear, it keeps sliding in the corners (even after 1000miles).
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-10 22:42:22
Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated NAN% while driving a BMW R1200RT
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Like most riders, if I was loaded I would have replaced the excellent Michelins on my GTR1400, not loaded, I found a YouTube video with (I think) Chris Walker and his mates testing the ST tyres on a circuit on several bikes, including an equally heavy / powerful ZZR1400. Well these guys tried their best to get the bikes moving, and regardless of what they did, the tyres held up. The following day journalists who were at the track to the bikes on the roads with the used tyres, they loved them too. I invested £130 in a pair, scrubbed them in, and on Scottish Highland roads (where I now live) pushed them more and more to see if I done the right thing or sell them off and go back to the dealer tyres. Shouldn't have doubted myself, great in the dry and equally confidence 'making progress' in the wet. All I can say is blòody great tyres and will put a pair on my new bike R1200RT for my NC500 in under 24hrs in June 2021. Definitely money well spent.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-17 09:57:05
Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated 36% while driving a Suzuki TL1000R
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 miles
Good in the dry, wears very quickly in the centre for a sports touring tyre. As soon as it squares off its horrible picking up any imperfections on the road. In the wet absolutely no feel & if it's cold as well the front slips, rear slides & if neither of these are happening the you've no idea what they're doing. They're cheap but cheap doesn't make up for how they feel in the wet
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-17 23:27:03
Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated 76% while driving a Triumph Sprint RS
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
This was my second st of Maxxis St. After the last set I was going to buy something more premium, but I was skint; and these only cost £130 a set.. If anything my opinion of these tyres is even better than the first set, Grip and handling at this price, or anywhere under £200 is unbeatable. These were fitted to the review bikes at the launch of the KTM 790, and non of those hacks had anything bad to say about these tyres, despite some initial reservations. They are honestly the best tyres I have ever used in the wet that are not just purely wet focused. They were developed with the assistance of BSB legend Chris Walker, and he did a great job. However, they are only a single compound tyre, and they wear like buggery. My bike has just got an MOT advisory for the rear after less than 5000. You can tell they are a soft compound by the tearing on the edges after any enthusiastic cornering ;-) I would highly recommend these tyre if you don't do a high mileage, and ride anything under 130HP I am going to try Avon ST, next.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-04 15:33:44
Nankang WF2 Sportiac rated 86% while driving a Honda CB1100RS
Driving on mostly country roads for 3200 average miles
high grips in the dry day
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-02 08:44:11
Avon Storm 2 Ultra rated 54% while driving a Kawasaki Zx7r
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Good tyre overall very neutral felt heavy and took some time to heat up. More bottom end touring.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-18 19:00:06
Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated 60% while driving a
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Standard Oe tyres on ktm 790 duke works well once the heats in the tyre and between 12-20 works best have had them break traction a few times. Super hard carcass tread pattern old tech. Wear rate looks quick. Will switch over asap
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-18 18:55:58
Maxxis Supermaxx ST rated 61% while driving a
Driving on mostly country roads for 3500 average miles
Decent tyre in warm weather, gives you good feel and feedback when there are nice and warm. Tends to step out on me in colder weather and made me lose a lot confidence in the tyres. Got 3500miles on the back and it's almost done for, tyre wear could be a lot better! There better tires price/quality wise on the market in my opinion.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-06 09:00:48
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre