Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi.

Do you Drive a Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (56) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (111) 89% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (246) 86% 84% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Avon ZV7 (130) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (74) 82% 85% 76% 73% 56% 72%

Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
I had these tyres on for 11 months, I have done about 8000 miles on them and I was horrified when putting air in them today that the front ones have worn through to the wire, admittedly the tracking was out a bit but I've never had this happen before in such a short space of time. I drive a 2010 focus TDCI.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-09 03:47:25
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 76% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
These are replacing Michelin Primacy 3's. Was tempted to get cross climates but the Bridgestone where considerably cheaper at the time and I thought I'd give them a chance.

So far no worries been driving around like I would on the Michelin's and not noticed any difference in grip or comfort over bumps. The ride seems a little better, more direct steering (the Michelin's felt a little squishy).

Hopefully these will handle better in the cold than the Michelin's I had, I don't think they where great in slush or a dusting of snow.

Not noticed much difference in economy, to early. Will update when more miles have been covered.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-23 07:44:14
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 76% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Seems to be a generally a decent tyre, done 20,000 Miles and has 3mm on the front and about 4 on the back.

Grip in the wet and dry seem to be good, they don't seem to lose grip all at once more of a gradual thing.

Performance in the snow hasn't been the best, really struggled with them. My hankook ones where better.

Next time thinking of coss climate or primacy 4.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-08 07:26:06
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 92% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
Fitted these to my 2009 1.8tdci zetec s Focus and love them always used continental before but was advised to try these as the conti were not lasting long on the front (due to running such high bhp) only cover 300 miles so far but with esp off you get really good feed back and not a lot of side wall flex highly recommend
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-30 17:11:59
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 100% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 average miles
The grip and the price is very good, so I can recommend to everything.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-05 14:13:53
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 77% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Have been driving Hankook Ventus Prime 3 on all four corners for more than 4 000 miles now and I suppose I can say a couple of things about them. Got them new ,replacing Michelin Primacy 3 which were already with 30 000 miles under thei belt and were showing signs of wear and slipping while breaking on wet.
Internet advertising on the part of the seller was what brought me onto Hankook. Mainly their price. It was 52 euros per tire.Hawing a previously bad experience with an expensive winter Continental TS 850 I decided to try the budget end of the spectrum.
I was not wrong. It is a good tire allround. Bearing in mind that a 4000 miles is not a long mileage to be assertive in claiming something . The wear of the tires is even on all tires and it is not significant , just as you would expect for more than 4 000 miles .
The only thing tha is obvious and you can hear it now is NOISE. It started being noticeable just after 2500k but it si becoming an issue.If you are used to less noise on a good street,you start to notice it regularly. Thusfar it is the only negative thing to report about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3.
I will update this review as the miles go on and I have more on the quality of the tires. tires
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-12 04:52:53
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
Good set of tyres. Not as good grip in the dry as the conti sport contact 5 however.

Done 15k and I still have 5mm of tread left, so good on wear.

Will probably buy something else next time. This tyre doesn't have any rim protection lip (205 50 17 93w) so I've kerbed my alloys since these were put on
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-25 13:26:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre