Volkswagen GTI MK5 (200) Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen GTI MK5 (200).

Do you Drive a Volkswagen GTI MK5 (200)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a GTI MK5 (200) better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (399) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (243) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 79%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (70) 85% 78% 76% 79% 68% 74%
Pirelli P Zero (130) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (152) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Sunny SN3630 (7) 69% 41% 54% 50% 83% 70%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%

Volkswagen GTI MK5 (200) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 4500 spirited miles
The tyres are great.
Great handling, great greep and feedback. I'm sure you could find a better alternative for dry roads, but Michelin shines in the wet as well.

However, I had the tyres for almost 2 full (summer) seasons, buying them 22 months ago.
The tyres, inexplicably ovalized over the past months, while being unused.
Now the tyres, cannot be used on the car after only (almost) 2 YEARS and about 7-8.000 km.
Very very disappointed in the quality of these michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-26 15:18:27
Writing about the Sunny SN3630 given 44% (215-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
Bought my Golf MK5 GTI witht those tires. This car has 200HP. In the dry they have some grip but in the wet the traction control has to kick in every corner. Also with those tires it feels like the car is floating. The wear and price is good, but if you like to have a safe drive, dont buy those tires!
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-01 13:20:33
Writing about the Mohawk M112 given 33% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
These came on a Mark 5 GTI I bought 2nd hand this year and whilst they were nearly new when the car was bought in September 2013, they are going tomorrow in favour of Michelin Pilot Premacys. The road noise is terrible, the lack of grip is scary and the ride comfort is poor. All things considered, they are by far the worse tyres I have ever owned. Spend the bit extra and get something decent.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-28 20:30:27
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 31% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I purchased 4 of these tyres for my Golf GTi MK5 early spring (2013) to replace the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx that the car came with, on the basis that they are one of the best tyres around and the auto tyre tests would back that up. I would have to disagree.

Firstly they look under pressure, with the correct pressures in and even when I up the upped psi they still looked saggy. secondly, the sidewall of the tyre felt like it was folding under the rim when cornering even at moderate speeds, thirdly they feel 'balloony' and lifeless and devoid of feel. They have made a great hot hatch feel terrible.

Only a glimmer of hope for these tyres is that they where more quite -- less road noise than the Dunlop's.

They fronts have lasted about 7-8000 miles of mixed country lanes/dual carriageway/M'Way driving and I do not hang around. The rears still look like new. I will not buy these again, so much I have ordered a set of 4 Pirelli's PZero Rosso Asimmetrico that I had on my last two cars. They do everything well that these do badly. Please note Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-05 20:46:39
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 74% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These were fitted to a Golf Mk5 GTI that I brought.

I replaced them with different wheels and tyres (Vredestein Sessantas) however I noted that these S1 Evo2s were not a bad tyre.

I found they had great dry grip, however in the wet they seemed to lack compared to the other high performance tyres I'm used to. I found the limit was fairly easily reached and when it was reached, there was little feedback from the tyres compared to other high performance tyres I've used . It was quite difficult to judge, with a very "wooden" feeling coming from the tyres.
However when they did break it was quite progressive rather than a sharp cliff/drop off.

As I only had them on for a short time I cannot really comment on wear however they seemed to lose around 2mm over 5000 so I estimate around 18k per pair of tyres on the front, which is slightly more than I would get from a different set of performance tyres (Eagle F1 Assy 2 or the Vredestein Sessantas which I prefer) however the lack of grip and feeling from the road, especially in wet conditions, means I cannot really recommend them unless you are on a budget and cannot stretch to better tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-14 11:55:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 54% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
A decent enough tyre but IMO Bridgestone hasn't really advanced the game far enough from the old RE001 Adrenalin. They have gone from class leader to mid-pack with this tyre. Competitors like the Toyo T1 Sport and Goodyear Eagle F1Asymmetric 2 cost a bit more but are better performers.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-28 02:49:34
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 60% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 11000 average miles
Lots of road noise and a very hard tyre.....Average to say the least....
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-18 00:01:40
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Had a full set of these fitted and instantly noticed increased understeer (it even felt as if the sidewall was bending under lateral forces).The fronts lasted only 4000 miles before they were right down to the treadwear indicator! The rears however have lasted much longer ( the Golf being front wheel drive),however,after taking the car in for the 40,000 mile service , I had mentioned to my mechanic about a possible rear wheel bearing issue only to be told that the inner shoulders of both tyres are ridged (think a beer bottle top)! The rears I should mention have done approx 15,000 miles , but even so for a flagship tyre I found this unacceptable,not to mention cracking on the shoulder and in the grooves.Cant wait to get them off and fit Goodyear Eagle assym 2s to match the front.If you are looking for a premium brand...look elsewhere.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-24 22:00:30
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Having driven a number of leading high performance tyres(Pirelli P Zero Dunlop Sport Maxx,Goodyear Eagle F1 asymmetric,Continental Sport Contact3),I was very pleased with all aspects of this new offering from Goodyear.The handling in both wet and dry was especially pleasing considering my driving style and 200 horses to the front wheels.Compared against the Conti 3s they replaced,the difference is night and day ,with upmost confidence in cornering especially worth mentioning.Would I recommend?,most definately,would I buy again?...yes.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-23 19:21:11
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 96% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Great all round grip & wear.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-07 21:39:43
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 2 given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
GTI MK 5 (200)

I bought these tyres after looking at all the reviews and recommendations for the GOLF GTI, these came up 4th best and found them on ebay for 90 per tyre, bargain!

i had to get these after all the amazing reviews in the rain and ...OMG, they are INCREDIBLE,
i couldn't believe it, even driving this car hard in very wet roads and in fast situations you feel in total control, and my traction control rarely flashes up anymore!

i bought the car with box standard cheap tyres, and having these fitted have changed the whole driving experience of my car!
these tyre are perfect in the UK with all the wet weather! i recommend these tyres to anyone! and anyone who has a car with more power then an average car..

they also have a really smart design "v shape" which looks really cool!
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-04 23:17:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre