Volvo V70 2.5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo V70 2.5 .

Do you Drive a Volvo V70 2.5 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a V70 2.5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Cooper WeatherMaster Snow (7) 82% 85% 83% 78% 80% 82%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (51) 82% 74% 75% 73% 85% 75%
Jinyu YH12 (28) 81% 74% 79% 69% 79% 80%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Maxxis MA P1 (19) 80% 66% 72% 64% 76% 71%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (57) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
General AltiMAX HP (11) 75% 64% 60% 52% 55% 61%
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Autogrip Grip 200 (7) 68% 44% 42% 44% 45% 32%

Volvo V70 2.5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Autogrip Grip 200 given 54% (205-55-16-)
Driving on for 2000 miles
Brought as 2 new budget fronts for my V70mk1. Good tyres APART from the unbearable whining noise above 30mph. Checked pressure, in range and even checked wheel bearing it was that bad. Eventually got so fed up with the noise ditched them for new tyres, no noise, sorted.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-20 10:54:17
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster Snow given NAN% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
I’m not a tyre expert and I don’t push a car to its limits so I don’t feel qualified to score these tyres but I will say this... I acquired these tyres second hand last year on the advice of my garage; they had very little wear. I drove from London to Les Arcs, Val d’Isere and Celerina and back and there was a lot of snow on the roads and I felt the Cooper Weathermaster Snows handled admirably. This year, I drove to Lech with them. 6 feet of snow but the roads had been cleared. All good until the final 400 metres of unusually steep road... I couldn’t get my car up there! All manner of other cars (without chains) made it up and down daily, My local hotelier (who’d lived on that road all his life) couldn’t, either. We even tried reversing up (to have more weight on the driving tyres). In the end, I had to put chains on. “Not good tyres,” was his verdict. Mine is: they’re fine if driven in towns and motorways and not aggressively on ordinary (ie not very steep) mountain roads.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-06 15:31:40
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given 83% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Scotland - Volvo V70 - an excellent tyre well suited to the northern climate.
Wet grip is excellent in winter and summer, and deep water at speed doesn't upset them. You can fly into a cold wet roundabout and nothing scary will happen, they stick and keep on trying at the limit – i.e. progressive. Summer wet grip is also excellent with no apparent degradation in grip.
Never got stuck in snow, not that they've had to deal with a lot of it.
Also excellent in the dry, the only time I noticed any “squidging up” was on a hot summer's day down in Kent when the tarmac temp must have been in the high 30s.
Steering response remains good with only a little tread-block “wibble-wobble” (the sort you can get with blocky tread patterns, as experienced in greater amounts on other all-season tyres). You might notice it a bit on a performance car.
They are well worn down now but still excellent wet grip, no increase in noise or any rumbling. As for noise, a wee bit noisier and you get a bit of whirring in fast corners.
I'd buy them again but will try the Michelin cross-climates, just to see if that makes any difference to the steering response.

I suppose an acid test is this – in light snow/ice I take this car rather than my Toyota RAV4 (4x4) as the Volvo on the Bridgestones steers/stops noticeably better than the RAV4 on it's Kuhmo summers – I'd say for snow traction the RAV4 on its summers/4wd is equal to the Bridgestones on 2wd. (Note though the RAV4's tyres are too wide for snow, but it does have a ride height benefit which makes a difference on deeper stuff). I wish the Bridgestones came in the RAV4's wheel size - I'd put them straight on...
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-17 16:27:56
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12 average miles
have these in XL format on the front of an ageing Volvo V70 auto, maybe it's the XL variant making the difference but they have been fantastic... quiet, sure footed and lasted over 12k on a car that normally requires new tyres after about 7-8k..... they have done a mixture of dual / motorway and very wet Welsh country roads and are about to be replaced with 2.5-3mm left on them..... and just because it's a Volvo I do not drive like the pipe and trilby brigade
couple of things that may contribute towards my success with them, as said previous, XL variant used, which for some reason carries a double B rating whereas the 91s are higher... car is always fully geo-tracked on a hunter machine, wheels also balanced on Hunter equipment and tyres nitrogen filled, that said have used other tyres with lesser results.....
they seem well suited to my vehicle and that could also be part of the success, have had some tyres which were great on one car and awful on another
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-12 18:53:54
Writing about the Jinyu YH12 given 100% (195-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
I overcame my initial prejudices, read the good reviews these tyres had and bought a pair. They are as good as most people say and I am really pleased with them. I will have no hesitation in buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-06 06:28:07
Writing about the Maxxis MA P1 given 84% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
fitted these to the wives V70 auto, being a non-turbo did not need high performance but with the weight of the engine / auto box did want good wear... straight away I noticed the stiffness of the side walls as opposed to the budget tyres I had on before, this made for better cornering and ride comfort... found the tyres fairly quiet, even now they are down to 2mm... what surprised me even more was their ability to grip in the deluge after the recent dry spell with such little grip left.. do not know exact mileage but it is around the 12,000 mile mark, which is double what the falkens gave me previous... and as an extra they come with a free lifetime warranty againts defects and damage.... will I buy again? trying to decide between these and the new XL ventus prime 2 from Hankook
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-03 18:32:46
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 82% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
My Volvo is a big heavy FWD car that puts a lot of pressure on the front tyres. These tyres replaced a set of Continentals and its really hard to judge replacing worn tyres with new, but I can safely say that these tyres are among the best I have ever fitted to my trusty old steed. Fully laden on fast wet bends and roudabouts they give me nothing but great grip and confidence. I cannot comment on wear as they have only done 3k. They must be one of the best value tyres on the market.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-04 15:22:14
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Just suffered a blow out on the front off-side, tried to replace the General Tyre but the local dealer didn't have them. Afer some discussion, I had two Uniroyal Rain Expert tyres fitted on the front (front wheel drive V70 Volvo) what a difference! 60% less road noise, better quality of ride, sticks to the road like glue! Excellent tyres, I'm going back next week to replace the two on the back (even though they don't really need it yet!)
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-28 17:57:32
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 69% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Just put them on, half the price of the Pirelli P6000s that they replaced. No complaints, have driven in wet and dry and don't notice any difference from the Pirellis. The only way to check the difference between tyres is on the track- you will very, very seldom reach the limit on the road ( I raced single seaters for 10 years so I know what I'm talking about). Don't know about wear or whether I'd buy again as only covered 1000 miles so far.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-31 12:40:11
Writing about the General AltiMAX HP given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I can not say many bad things about these tyres, When it come to buying these they were a cheaper tyre compare to other tyre i.e bridgestone and continental's.

Not only are they cheaper they have performed much better then any other tyre i have driven on they are very good when it come's to wet weather compared to other tyres mainly because of there directional pattern. Also the very good feature i like is how if your not good with telling were the wear bars are or even understanding them it has a bit of text saying "Replacement Tyre Monitor" Which once wore down turn into "Replace Tyre" very neat extra.

But any way back to writing about the qaulity of the tyre, now sadly they havent got the best comfort in the world but to be honest it isnt to noticble but i rather and a 4 star comfort tyre and a 10 star wear tyre then a 10 star comfort tyre and a 4 star wear tyre. That the main and only draw back i can find with in these tyre now i found many people call this a mid range tyre to be honest place that sold them to me told me there a premium tyre and i 100% agree with them. I Highly recommend people to try these as i rate the highly and will carry on buying these over many other brands as like i said it says me alot of money and i get much better tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-28 19:02:49
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 86% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
Using them in a Volvo V70 for ordinary easy driving. car is poor on streering feel anyway but tyres performed well all round and life was looking at 25-27k on the front which is fine on this size car
Would definately buy again
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-04 18:03:48
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 87% (185-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
These tyres came on my V70 when I bought it 2nd hand. I wouldn't normally buy a premium brand like Dunlop, but having a blowout on a cheap low profile tyre in my last car made me think differently. Anyway, these tyres have performed brilliantly at motorway speeds, on icy roads (even going up and down hills) and taken all sorts of country abuse (potholes, unsurfaced tracks etc) without complaint. I've just ordered another set!
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-26 16:33:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre