Passenger Car Summer Electric Vehicle Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer electric vehicle tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus iON S (3) 75% 85% 80% 80% 0% 97%
Michelin Pilot Sport EV (7) 77% 54% 71% 76% 66% 79%
Michelin Energy EV (5) 68% 63% 58% 58% 33% 58%

Passenger Car Summer Electric Vehicle Tyres with no reviews

Continental Conti eContact, Hankook iON Evo, Kumho Wattrun VS31, Nexen N Fera Sport EV, Pirelli P Zero HL, Sailun ERANGE EV, Yokohama Advan Sport EV V108

Passenger Car Summer Electric Vehicle Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Hankook iON Evo rated 83% while driving a Tesla Model 3 Performance
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
I had the Hankook ION Evo tires installed to replace the stock Pirelli P Zero (PZ4) Elect tires on my Tesla Model 3 Performance.
There are pros and cons compared to the stock Pirelli tires:

Pros:

- Quieter
- More comfortable
- Better grip in rain and wet conditions
- Slightly lighter steering feel
- Slightly easier acceleration straight of the line
- More efficient (+/- 1% less battery consumption per trip)

Cons:

- Steering feel and response are less direct
- Grip during hard cornering is not great
- Overall sportiness is diminished

For the daily (very) sporty driver, it may not be recommended, but for anyone outside this category, it is definitely worth considering.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-04 16:42:14
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 60% while driving a SEAT Cupra Born
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Awful howling cavity noise at around 200hz on anything but the smoothest of roads. I've driven other lower profile tires which were a lot quieter than these. Otherwise an ok performance tire.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-15 18:18:33
Hankook Ventus iON S rated 75% while driving a Tesla Model S
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
After the preliminary review (200 miles - Tesla Model S, 11 Aug 2023) I thought I'd come back with extra thoughts several thousand miles in:

- The efficiency gains is accurate, these helped me get some of the lowest Wh/mile I've achieved in my Model S covering quite some miles in France over the summer, and then over the autumn. I've had my MS for 130k miles so have a good feel on what is achievable, and they did very well.
- They are definitely more refined from a noise perspective.

However - I do drive "enthusiastically" and having driven them a lot more now I can state confidently that these tyres are greasier than the PS5s I had before. They are progressive in their loss of grip, so you have good feeling and there's not a moment of surprise where you suddenly lose your back-end, which obviously is a positive, and therefore I was not uncomfortable driving these, but in dry cornering they just don't hold up as well as I would want, and you feel the car sliding a little.

My wife also has a Model S with these tyres on. She is not an aggressive driver but she also noticed that they are greasier too.

I've since sold my MS and have a X. When the summer tyres on that need replacing I am very unlikely to buy these again (if they even do the size) - I just miss the grip too much. For my wife, we may stick with the Hankook's for the efficiency/noise as she is not an aggressive driver and the cost saving, and refinement/efficiency are probably worth the compromise on grip.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-15 12:38:24
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 100% while driving a Skoda
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Had these tyres fitted to a Skoda Enyaq for 6 months now. 100% delighted with them. I've found them perfect in the wet and same in dry conditions. Much smoother ride than the factory bridgestones that the car came with. No obvious wear on the tyres yet so I think the compound of these tyres is much more suited to a heavy EV.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-24 06:21:55
Hankook Ventus iON S rated 94% while driving a Nissan Ariya
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
These are a replacement for Bridgestone Alenza 001 on my Nissan Ariya. The main issue with the Alenza being a lack of wet road grip. This has been resolved by the fitment of the Hankook Ion's which immediately have given me the wet traction I desired. They also feel better keyed into the road with more feedback and less understeer. The tyres have more foam noise treatment than th Alenza's and appear marginally quieter.

This tyre is being used on the Highland revision of the Tesla Model 3, where it's claimed this will bring additional range. I'll be monitoring efficiency and wear rates through the life of the tyre. Tread depth starts at 6.8mm which is typical for EV specific tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-22 14:30:46
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 47% while driving a
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
Michelin Pilot sport should stand for performance tyre, which is not the case for these PS EV.
Overall behave as a medium class tyre or even budget tyre.
Low grip in dry and unpredictable.
Not awful in wet , but also not at Pilot Sport standard.
For sure will not buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-14 14:38:52
Hankook Ventus iON S rated 84% while driving a Tesla Model S
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
Given there aren't any consumer reviews on here yet, I thought I'd give my preliminary view after running them maybe 200 miles.

I bought these off the back of an autobild comparison on the exact car I have (Model S, 19" alloys) where they outperformed the OEM and where about par with Pilot Sport 5 (which is what I was running before).

So far, I'm broadly in agreement with that comparison. Pros vs PS5 (or PS4 which I had before that, or Primacy 3 OEM which it came with)

- Quieter: without a shadow of doubt. Makes the car feel more refined.
- Efficiency: hard to be 100% sure yet, as driving style, weather, temperature etc affect the efficiency of EVs, but I do believe that there is an improvement in line with that mentioned in the autobild review (~5%)
- Price: I think it was about £730 for 4 tyres vs £850 for PS5

Cons:
- Handling in dry is perhaps marginally worse, but I'm being quite picky on that. I'd say that they are ever so slightly greasier in corners, but it's marginal. It could even be due to the new compound not being worn enough.

TBC:
- Handling in wet
- Longevity

So far I'm not displeased. Will try to remember to come back in a few months time when I've driven 5-6k miles.
tyre reviewed on 2023-08-11 10:53:49
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 47% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
Never had such a poor tyre. Skids over manhole covers and slides for no apparent reason on mildly damp roads even at low speeds. Provides no confidence when driving and potentially extremely dangerous. Would expect a budget tyre to perform better. Michelin should be embarrassed to have this tyre in their range.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-16 23:34:56
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 86% while driving a Tesla Model Y Perf
Driving on mostly country roads for 10500 spirited miles
I have a staggered setup with 255/40R21 in the front and 275/40R21 on the rears I love these tires. They are quite grippy and I find them good not excellent but good in the wet. Yes there are better rain tires but the are not as good in the dry. It's always a compromise. In the winter I'm driving on CrossClimate 2 SUV in 275/40R20 all around and they are better in the rain but much worse in the dry...all about the season and the compromises.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-18 17:15:52
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 53% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 easy going miles
As good it is on dry roads, as disastrous it is in the wet. Comfort and noise are exemplary - the best I have experienced. Road feedback is smooth and pleasant. Full power start is no issue with 605 Nm of torque - there is no slip at all. But this tyre gets very dangerous even after a few drops of rain - the stopping distance is ridiculous, the car feels like driving on ice... Even on dry, the first touch of the brakes, if it's more rapid upsets the tyres and makes them slip a bit (all four by the way). I don't even get it how Michelin released such a (premium) product?! It even has a B rating for wet braking. The wear is not as good as I hoped, too (but this might be because of the high weight). I got it factory fitted but will never buy it again for sure Stay away from this model if you don't live in Cyprus or OAE... Shame on you, Michelin!
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-05 06:28:46
Michelin Pilot Sport EV rated 61% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Handle fine in dry conditions, but once it’s a bit wet or there’s gravel on the road, it’s like ice skating
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-07 16:17:40
Michelin Energy EV rated 42% while driving a Renault Zoe
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 easy going miles
These came on our Renault Zoe, we try and maximise range so can't comment on their performance and handling but premature ageing is definitely an issue. After 16,000 miles/4 years the front's have plenty of tread but the blocks are starting to break up and the sidewalls and shoulders are badly perished. Rears are in better condition than the fronts were but still have aged badly. Following an (all too common) front puncture we replaced both fronts with generic brands. The OEM Michelin EV are expensive and hard to source.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-14 18:37:04
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre