Uniroyal RainSport 3

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainSport 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal RainSport 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 78%
Wear 64%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 76%

Tyre review data from 279 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 2,040,329 miles driven.

The RainSport 3 is ranked 41st of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 19th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 16th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Low wear, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer handling, slow steering in the wet.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.
View Full Test >>

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 21st of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R14 77V   E A 71 6.23kgs
185/55 R14 80H   E A 70 6.25kgs
195/45 R15 78V   E A 71 6.83kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.74kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.74kgs
205/50 R15 86V   E A 71 7.73kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E A 70 6.66kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 70 6.45kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.19kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.19kgs
205/55 R15 88V   E A 71 7.31kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 72 6.62kgs
205/45 R16 83Y   E A 71 7.64kgs
205/45 R16 87Y XL   C A 72 7.64kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   E A 72 7.96kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 72 6.79kgs
205/50 R16 87Y   C A 71 8.18kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 8.21kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 71 8.98kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E A 71 9.92kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.99kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.99kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.23kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.15kgs
205/55 R16 91W XL   E A 71 11.34kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   C A 71 8.44kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 72 8.44kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 8.25kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 9.15kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 9.15kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C A 72 9.09kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.85kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 9.50kgs
225/55 R16 95Y   C A 71 9.76kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.76kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 72 7.64kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 7.52kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.88kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.19kgs
205/45 R17 84V   E A 71 9.50kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 72 8.31kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 8.59kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 71 8.59kgs
215/45 R17 87V   E A 71 8.59kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 11.71kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 72 9.08kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.09kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.03kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.23kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 10.35kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.04kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 10.04kgs
205/50 R17 89V   E A 71 8.95kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 72 8.92kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.76kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 72 9.18kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL   C A 72 9.18kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.10kgs
225/50 R17 94V   E A 71 9.65kgs
225/50 R17 94W   E A 71 14.29kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   E A 71 9.97kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.87kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 9.65kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.90kgs
215/55 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.59kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.56kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 72 10.93kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 10.89kgs
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 72 8.02kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 72 8.14kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.61kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.31kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 11.19kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.39kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 72 11.37kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   E A 71 9.59kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 9.66kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.13kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 71 10.13kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.44kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 12.37kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.88kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.35kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.86kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71 10.93kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 11.76kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.77kgs
235/50 R18 97V   C A 71 11.05kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   E A 71 16.63kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 9.82kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 10.51kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 11.55kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 11.55kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.29kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 10.18kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.06kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 75 11.95kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 72 8.81kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 9.91kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.29kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 10.89kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.40kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 10.79kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.63kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.42kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 11.96kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 73 11.78kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   C A 73 14.04kgs
235/50 R19 99V   C A 71 11.01kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 73 14.61kgs
235/55 R19 105Y XL   C A 72 12.09kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 73 15.05kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 72 10.71kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.39kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 12.56kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 12.24kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.34kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.08kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   C A 73 12.99kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.38kgs
255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 73 14.08kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 72 9.37kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 75 13.66kgs

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainSport 3

2016-06-08 - is there a left & right on the uniroyal rainsport 3

No there isn't. Unlike the Rainsport 2, the Rainsport 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional tyre. This means the tyre has an "inside" and "outside" to be mounted on the wheel, but once mounted the wheel and tyre can go on either side of the car.


2016-06-15 - I have just had uniroyal rain sport 3 fitted on my car in replace of mitchellin tires, are uniroyal comparable to Mitchelin ???? I feel like I have been ripped off as asked and was quoted for Mitchelin tires

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 is an excellent midrange tyre. It should have a similar level of wet grip to a premium Michelin tyre, however we would expect the Uniroyal to wear more quickly. This should have been offset by a cheaper purchase price.


2018-07-19 - I need a set of tyres for my 2010 FIAT Bravo 1.4 90HP, right now I'm using the Barum Bravuris 3HM I'm living in Greece in a mountainous area with lots of rain between the seasons, but I'm also covering long distances around Greece in motorways, After reading lots of reviews on your site, I decided that the perfect match for my car are the Uniroyal Rainsport 3. But the DONLOP Sport MAXX RT and the YOKOHAMA ADVAN FLEVA v701 have olsa grabbed my attention, I'm not sure which one to go with I would appreciate any advice form you between the three sets of tires I've mentioned above.

The Uniroyal RainSport 3 will likely give you the best wet weather performance of the three, but will likely wear slightly quicker than the other two. If rain is the primary issue, I would suggest going with the Uniroyals.


2018-12-17 - Are these suitable for a VW Tiguan 4x4

As long as you can find the correct size and load rating, it is fine to fit the RainSport 3 to your Tiguan.


2019-09-27 - How can assymetric tyres be non-directional. They are correctly fitted inside/outside, but must disperse water differently. Uniroyal's website, insists they are non-directional, but their diagram for water dispersal shows water being driven into the centre of the tyre. Check 3/4 down this page; https://www.uniroyal.co.uk/car/knowledge/tyre-knowledge/how-to-fit-your-rainsport-3-tyres An explanation would be welcome.

I asked them this on the launch, and they told me the difference the direction makes to aquaplaning was almost nothing, so it didn't matter. I agree it looks odd, but then so does the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta.


2019-10-03 - Should I fit them or wait for the Rainsport 5?

The Uniroyal Rainsport 5 is starting to appear in limited sizes, I've not had any official communication about it yet though.


2020-03-04 - I am fitting continental premium contact 6 on front axle, are rainsport 3 ok for rear end. Thanks

With a mixed CPC6 and RS3 fitment you might find the car feeling like it wants to oversteer more as the RS3 has a softer sidewall than the CPC6


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


RainSport 3 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £69.00 - £85.40 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £86.00 - £107.00 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.20 - £100.50 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 25 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a MINI Clubman (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted these to my wifes Mini clubman S as I had previously had them fitted to my Audi RS4. They are an excellent tyre for the money and few tyres can match them in the wet. Road noise is also very good on them.

Like all tyres what works on one car doesn't necessarily mean it will work for all, but at the cost of these they are well worth going for. The rate of wear is a little high, but then its a soft compound that enables high grip levels and its this that leads to the wear rate.

You could spend twice as much on a Michelin PSS or just buy 2 sets of these IF you find they wear out quickly. I still find it staggering that people put wear above grip. Frankly I'd rather know that when I take a corner in the wet or dry, or when I hit the brakes hard (in an emergency for instance) that my tyres will not brake traction. These tyres will out perform alot of higher priced tyres, and will out perform alot of similarly priced tyres that have lower wear rates.

I will definitely buy these again.
188 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2016   
Given 52% while driving a Volvo V70 2.4T (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
fitted to the front of a volvo v70 estate,what a mistake!!!!! bought as a result of "good" reviews,like driving on a noisy bag of custard.WILL NEVER BUY THESE AGAIN.
35 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2019   
Given 33% while driving a BMW 530 D Sport Touring (265/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Fitted a pair of these on the rear of a BMW 530D to replace previous Avons.
I don't know whether there was an issue of compatibility with the Avons which were still on the front, but the handling became totally unpredictable, the rear would break away with no warning, and on most bends, even slight ones, the traction control light would flash on a regular basis, (which it never did before) and this was somewhat disconcerting.
it transformed a vehicle which generally had very good handling into one which became a distinct challenge to drive.
28 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2016   
Have you driven on the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainSport 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainSport 3 >

Latest Uniroyal Rainsport 3 Reviews

Given 40% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK4 GTTDI 150 (205/55 R16) on track for 100 spirited miles
Track Review - Snetterton 13/11/2021 - Wet / damp conditions This was my first ever trackday, I only have a pair of Runway tyres to compare these two in my other set of rims so it's purely subjective. The tyres were a bit worn with around 5 - 6mm in the centres and 3 - 5mm tread on the edges. I also had another pair on my 17" rims that I used on the rear in 205/45/17 size, they performed pretty much the same as the 16's in the wet when I used them but with a bit less feedback due to the stiffer sidewall. On the front in the wet these performed almost identical to the cheapo Runway tyres. In the wet they would severely understeer but were easy enough to handle once you got used to them and learned to modulate brake and throttle inputs carefully. On the rear in the wet there wasn't enough feedback with either size tyre to catch the rear end before it would snap out and spin the car around hence the low feedback rating. With a dry line on the drying track with lots of damp patched the Rainsport 3's felt really nice with good balance front and rear and lots of feedback, however my experience on the road is that even a bad tyre isn't that bad in the dry so can't give lots of points there especially as I didn't use the Runways in these conditions (I'd spun out earlier hitting a curb and damaged the inner sidewall on one so it wouldn't hold air). Overall I would say these are a very mediocre track tyre despite people on forums saying they work well as a wet / intermediate tyre. They are good in the wet on the road but under full speed track conditions they certainly don't seem any better than anything else. In all fairness I was keeping up with cars that should have been faster around the corners but until I get to try some other rubber I can't recommend these for track use over anything else.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2021   
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Second review of these tyres on my MK4 Golf but this time they are low profile 17" versions as oppose to the 16" ones on my other wheels. I only ran these on the rear as the cheapo tyres on the other pair of wheels are really good on the front so far and the ones on the 16's lacked a bit in the dry. Anyway the low profile Rainsport 3's are always planted in all conditions on the rear, plenty of feel, on the road I can't fault their performance with either the stock worn suspension or with my new uprated springs, dampers and brakes. I never tested on the track but on the road they are great on the back. I wouldn't try them on the front, as they are wearing faster on the back than the front tyres even with my 200 bhp remap! I've swapped them from left to right once and both sides have considerably less treat on the outside edge than the rest of the tyres which are on about 5mm, these will be bald in another 4000 miles with another swap round in between. I have yet to do a trackday with the car but I'd say these tyres would be ready to throw away after a handful of dry laps. Also like the 16" tyres these have cracks in the treads and there are little splits on both sidewalls. I've only curbed the front tyres yet they are fine. I won't buy the rainsport 3's again but I'm impressed enough that I might try a pair of the newer rainsport 5's. I'll most likely stick the 16" wheels back on with the full set of these over winter for better grip in bad weather and maybe get a trackday in and do a third review. The lower profile definitely makes a difference as the others were moving around on both back and front in the wet and dry where I'm cornering as fast as with any other car and tyre setup I've had on the lower profiles with precision. They were excellent on the rear even with old worn suspension.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 270 CDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,500 spirited miles
Good dry grip , great wet grip . Sidewalls are a bit too soft so the feedback is a bit distorted .They do wear out quicker than other brands , but offer impressive grip so its a good trade off. I would recommend especially if you get a lot of rain where you live .
0 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Vauxhall INSIGNIA 1.8 PETROL (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 399 spirited miles
My car failed MOT on front tyres so I decided to change all 4. The garage recommended these uniroyal rain sport 3 and told me these are pretty decent and popular tyres. I’ve only had mine for 3 months but I’m highly impressed with these tyres and how they perform, especially in wet! Not much else to say really, hope they last long and for sure I’ll buy them again
0 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a BMW 1 series 2.0l Diesel (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 400 easy going miles
Very good and comfortable tyres. I’ve had 2 sets now and I’m keeping to these. Great value for money
0 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 S (185/45 R14) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I will definitely buy them again! Had mine fitted and lasted me 15k miles, incredibly good on wet and such a comfortable ride compared to some others! It feels safe to drive on any road conditions and it’s definitely worth the price their in
0 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had them fitted in my Mondeo mk4 and vw polo. They’re incredibly good on wet and muddy surfaces also grip very well on dry. Can’t complain about the noise or fuel efficiency they’re are all round good tyres that last long. I would very highly recommend! Personally I think those tyres are one of the best on the market
0 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2021   
Given 75% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK4 GTTDI 150 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
I just bought the Golf and the deal was I had to supply my own wheels so I picked up a cheap set of 16's with a full set of Rainsport 3's with about 5mm tread across the board. Not bad for £130 but I had heard these tyres are no good in the dry. Anyhow after servicing the car (oil and filters), I set about putting it through it's paces on my favorite country roads and I purposefully did a couple of fast drives in pouring rain to try it properly. In the wet these tyres seem pretty capable in terms of laying the power down, general handling and resistance to aquaplane as I drover through the deepest puddles I could find at speed without too much drama. Of course there is some understeer but considering the cars power and it's front wheel drive that is to be expected under acceleration. In the dry especially when it's really warm they don't appear to have much more grip than in the wet, I'm not sure if the understeer is really bad (it's not that bad, I was driving like a peanut) because of the tyres or the car, as I have not had any experience of any Golfs newer than my old Mk2 GTi I don't know. It is pretty heavy for it's size and the suspension after 187000 miles is pretty tired I'd imagine. Also the rear slides fairly, with a flick of the steering you can easily kick the rear out which is not normally that easy on a front drive car. Anyway once you adjust your corner entries and throttle applications to account for the slides it is all pretty progressive and consistent so you can pretty much corner as hard as anything else as long as nothing is coming the other way just in case you get it wrong. I can't give any details on wear as they aren't showing any signs yet, they are ok on the brakes as far as I can tell. The brakes on the Golf are in need of replacement I think as I had to stop and let them cool after losing them doing a couple of laps on my favorite road, they aren't sharp enough to lock the wheels or make the ABS work so I'll sort them with discs, pads and new fluid at some point. Only other thing is the there are cracks in the tread. I also have a set of 17's to try which came with a pair of these so will see if the bigger wheel size makes any difference. Eventually I'm looking to trackday this car so will have the 16's as my wet / winter set and the 17's as my summer / dry set. A lot of work to do and a long way to go yet though.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2021   
Given 51% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
These actual tyres have been on two completely different cars. Initially on a back of rear wheel drive light sports car and now on the front of a mk 10 civic. To be fair the sports car had a full set,all be it a staggered arrangement,the civic has the original Michelin's on the rear. My opinion of this tyre is basically the same result as when it was ran as part of the full set on the sports car. Side wall construction is very soft,the resultant ride quality is excellent,the down side is a loss if any precision to the steering. You end up having to increase the steering lock on all but the slowest inputs. The levels of grip in the dry(once you learn to trust the lack of steering feel) are okay, although,really push on and you're rewarded with an unnerving floating feeling. The result is you tend to just hold back. Wet grip is good, but again,not that difficult to spin up the wheels in 2nd and 3rd gears when coming out of corners which results in a slow drift offline due to understeer. Where this tyre really shines is cutting through standing water. No other tyre I've used manages to mitigate the dragging effect of hitting large puddles as well as this the does, impressive. If I had a full set on the car I'm sure this vague feeling would result in a feeling of impending oversteer ,at least until the tread depth had reduced. Which leads me on to wear rate. Never had enough time on the sports car to assess this,but a combination of a about 300 miles on that car and 1500 on the civic,has resulted in the loss of about 1.5mm. To be expected with such a soft compound I guess. This isn't a terrible tyre by a long shot, certainly if you don't drive particularly fast,but that's its problem,this isn't tyre to go from A to B quickly(bar maybe in the wet) I can't see me ever buying these again.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 35,000 average miles
The absolute business in the wet, but not the tyre to choose for very fast dry road use.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2020   
Given 45% while driving a Toyota Auris (215/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
All seemed well at the start, but 30 months later they have had to be changed due to severe cracking between the treads. Not very good for a car that has done only 5000 miles in that time. I would not buy Uniroyal tyres again.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2020   
Given 92% while driving a Renault Laguna Phase II (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Well not the greatest tyre but on temperature ranges between 5C to 22-25C they are great being unable to either get the ABS kick in or slide them (actually last time I broke a spring in the corner but didn't lost traction). On outside temperature above 25C-30C they definetly start loose grip both in braking ,accelerating and side loading. On rain well this is the greatest tyre I've driven in my 14 years of driving expirience , keeping 90-100km/h during heavy rains and storms(you litterally barely see where the road is) this rubber didn't gave me the slightest loss of confidence about the car handling. Definetly good in going through deeper pockets of water without aquaplaning. In general I would say probably the best road summer all around tyre for normal users but for high horsepower and really sport driving this is not the tyre since the soft compound it has quickly heats up and starts loosing traction rapidly , you would need more harder tyre compound for this.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2020