235/40 17 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 235/40 17.
Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (37) 97% 75% 92% 93% 75% 71%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (139) 91% 88% 82% 79% 71% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Nankang AR 1 (23) 91% 48% 87% 89% 78% 71%
Nexen N9000 (12) 84% 80% 81% 80% 77% 77%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Nankang NS2R (42) 91% 66% 84% 85% 72% 55%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Bridgestone Potenza RE720 (20) 84% 77% 75% 77% 64% 70%
Uniroyal RainSport (24) 79% 87% 70% 78% 72% 74%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Federal 595RSR (47) 87% 67% 77% 81% 73% 58%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Zeetex HP1000 (11) 79% 71% 74% 63% 79% 73%
Fulda Carat Exelero (16) 74% 79% 69% 73% 72% 69%
Wanli S1063 (78) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Maxxis MA V1 (19) 69% 61% 61% 53% 65% 61%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Wanli S1088 (83) 57% 35% 41% 38% 58% 38%
Triangle TR968 (68) 54% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38%

235/40 17 Tyre Review Highlights

Wanli S1088 rated 71% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Diese Reifen eignen sich nur für die Front eines Roadsters mit RWD. Nirgendwo sonst. Unterschätzt, meistens auf falschen Autos und hinten verlegt.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-12 09:51:19
Nankang AR 1 rated 90% while driving a BMW 328i Coupe
Driving on for 3000 miles
I bought this tires set for my E36 328i and mainly used this tires on track, sometimes daily commute to work if I feel lucky ;) So far, this tires is simple excellent on the track. Great feedback, turn in sharp. It will tell you once it is at its limit. Even if you slightly oversteer, it will grip back as long as you have are sensitive on gas pedal. I managed to cut down 3 seconds from 47s to 44s on one of the local track and around 5s from 1.31s to 1.26s on another local track (worth to mention that also my previous tires is just summer performance tires RE003 - but it is still a really good one). Once it is at the right temperature, it grips like shit on toilet. One more thing I really like from this tires is that it only take 1 2 turns to warm up, so you can go pretty much all in right from the beginning. My car is 1300kg so normally I start at 28 psi cold and usually ends up at around 34-35 psi.

Daily drive, it is super noisy. But it is semi-slick so you can't complain much about it. Tires make the whole car feels heavy - yes this tires is super heavy.

Also, I like the tread pattern design.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-29 01:16:14
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R rated 77% while driving a Subaru BRZ
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Ich bin derzeit auf meinem dritten Satz von AD08Rs. Alle 3 Sets wurden in den letzten 2 Jahren in verschiedenen Lebensphasen erworben, daher würde ich davon ausgehen, dass meine Überprüfung für meinen Anwendungsfall ziemlich umfassend sein sollte.

Der erste Satz, den ich bekam, war von einem Freund, der relativ neu war und noch etwa 85% Faden hatte. Das 2. Set tauchte als gebrauchtes Set mit einer Lebensdauer von ca. 60% sehr günstig auf und ich bekam das 3. Set neu.

Für den täglichen Gebrauch:
Ehrlich gesagt, ein überraschend gut erzogener, rennorientierter Reifen für die Straße. Kein wirkliches Drama. Es ist absolut akzeptabel in Bezug auf Konformität und Geräuschentwicklung (da ich ziemlich steife Gewindefahrwerke habe und der Auspuff nicht gerade leise ist). Lief vorher RE003 Potenza's, der eher ein Reifen mit Straßenvorspannung ist, und ich bemerke kaum, wenn überhaupt, einen Unterschied im Komfort. Trockener Grip ist zweifellos für den täglichen Straßengebrauch übermäßig. Vertrauen Sie mir, ich werde es im Trockenen kaum jemals vermissen. Bei Nässe verhalten sie sich auch gut. Wenn sie neu sind, ist das Fahren auf der Autobahn mit 100-120 km / h keine große Sache, aber natürlich nicht verrückt werden und es wird dir gut gehen. Tragen Sie diese, von denen ich annehmen würde, dass sie auch in Ordnung sind, wenn Sie zwischen Spur und täglicher Ausrichtung wechseln. Da ich eine Reihe von Streckentagen hatte, habe ich den Fehler gemacht, eine ziemlich aggressive Streckenausrichtung beizubehalten, und dennoch dauerten sie 6 Monate mit einer Kombination aus täglicher Fahr- und Streckenarbeit.

Für die Strecke:
In Bezug auf den absoluten Grip sind sie großartig. Vergleichbar mit dem R888R und allem anderen im oberen Bereich der straßenzulässigen Leistungsreifen, wenn nicht sogar besser. Sie lassen sehr progressiv los und Sie werden hören, dass sie kreischen, lange bevor sie Sie aufgeben. Eine Beschwerde, die ich habe, ist Feedback. Vielleicht ist es die spezifische Ausrichtung, die ich laufe, oder eine seltsame Lenkgeometrie im Spiel, aber sie fühlen sich taub an. Wenn sie geradeaus gehen, in der Mitte der Kurve, bei voller Verriegelung, beim Brechen, fühlen sie sich für mich einfach taub. Wenn Sie zum ersten Mal mit ihnen unterwegs sind, werden Sie einige Zeit brauchen, um ihre Grenzen zu kennen, da Sie Ihre anderen Sinne loswerden müssen, um zu bestimmen, ob Sie sich außerhalb der Kurve in diese Wand implantieren oder nicht. 14.

Abgesehen von dem fehlenden Feedback insgesamt ein sehr guter Reifen.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-21 09:56:11
Nankang AR 1 rated 61% while driving a Lotus Elise
Driving on track for 1000 spirited miles
Ich fuhr den Reifen in 205/45/16 vorne und 235/40/17 hinten auf einem Lotus Elise mit rund 250 PS.
Der Reifen wurde nur für den Einsatz auf der Rennstrecke gekauft, ich kann das Straßenverhalten nicht beurteilen.
Ich fahre Session-Events mit einer Session zwischen 30 und 45 Minuten Fahrt, 45 Minuten Pause, Session, Pause usw. Nach meiner Erfahrung kann dies für einen Reifen sehr anspruchsvoll sein, da sie sich dazwischen nicht vollständig abkühlen können und einige Reifen dazu neigen, sich am zu überhitzen Ende des Tages.
Auf einem Straßenkurs stellte ich fest, dass dieser Reifen eine relativ kurze Aufwärmzeit hat, obwohl einige Leute etwas anderes kommentierten. Normalerweise erreichte der Reifen innerhalb weniger Runden Betriebstemperaturen und der Kaltgriff ist so schlecht wie erwartet, was bedeutet, dass er begrenzt ist. Dieser Reifen ist jedoch wirklich gut darin, die Bestrafung für den ganzen Tag ohne Überhitzungsprobleme zu ertragen. Es ist der erste Reifen, den ich in dieser Preisklasse habe und der einen ganzen Tag hält.

Ich fand den Reifen sehr empfindlich gegenüber Druckänderungen. Das Verhalten des Reifens kann sich innerhalb eines Drucks von 0,1 bar vollständig ändern. Bei zu geringem Luftdruck ist der Griff weniger das Problem als vielmehr ein sehr taubes Feedback über die Griffniveaus und stark verringerte Lenkinformationen. Ich habe mich bei 1,8 bar vorne und 2,0 bar hinten niedergelassen, wenn es heiß ist, aber ich denke, dies ist möglicherweise nicht die letzte Schlussfolgerung.
Wenn der Reifen warm ist, der richtige Druck herrscht und die Straße trocken ist, wird der Reifen kommunikativer und bietet den hohen Grip, den man von einem Semi-Slick erwartet. Dieser Griff in meinen Händen ist jedoch nicht so einfach auszunutzen, da die Kommunikation so viel geringer ist als bei einem guten Straßenreifen. Zum Beispiel war der Reifen in meinen Händen nur 2 Sekunden schneller als ein Yokohama AD 08R auf Bilster Berg. Ich gehe davon aus, dass es noch mehr zu haben gibt, aber auch für einen Hobbyfahrer wie mich ist es nicht so einfach, die Grenzen auf sichere Weise zu finden.
Wenn der Reifen feucht ist, ist er überraschend gut für einen Semi-Slick, aber wenn er nass ist, wird er aufgrund des Fehlens eines negativen Profils von einem sportlichen Straßenreifen übertroffen. Außerdem hatte ich ein paar böse Überraschungen, als das Heck bei Nässe ziemlich spontan herauskam, aber am Ende des Tages ist dies eindeutig kein Straßenreifen.

Profi:
Keine Überhitzung auch nach langen Sessions mit aggressivem Fahrstil
Hoher Grip für den Preis
Schnelles Aufwärmen

Con:
Nicht die kommunikativste
Empfindlich gegen Reifendruckänderungen
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-10 14:25:52
Kumho Ecsta KU39 rated 73% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 miles
Die neuen KU39-seitigen Versionen sind viel besser als die Vorgängermodelle.

Läuft immer noch die alte Version auf der Vorderseite und wird so schnell wie möglich durch die neuesten KU39 ersetzt.

Ordentlicher Allround-Reifen, der für meinen MR2 Turbo in Ordnung ist, da er bei Nässe ein bisschen langweilig ist!
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-13 15:50:44
Nexen N9000 rated 89% while driving a Mazda 3 Series
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Hi,
This is an update to the Aug-13 review on this website.
Overall Nexen N9000 is a GREAT tyre & will match many premium brand, eg Brigestone Potenza RE-11.
Loudness: I find that they are NOT any worse compare to other premium-tyres. As rubber ages, they ALL harden & the noise rises. Those who know 2011 Mazda3, it WILL show up ANY loud tyres.
Wear: I fitted these to the FRONT wheels because FWD cars chew front tyres. The rubber is perfect for Adelaide's mild weather: winter days are approx. 10 degree Celsius. They have 8 mm thread height when new & do wear well.
Buy again: YES. The reason being for the price ($AUD 135 each fitted & balanced or 17"), it is one of the best 'bang for buck' tyre for mild weather climate.
Recently, I drove them on the Great Ocean Road & did it grip for a 3+ years old tyres :-) We also drove on sealed country roads, both wet & dry. The air temp. range from 10 to 20 degree Celsius.
This review was based on spirited driving to the limit of adhesion of the tyres.
I am looking for a replacement.....may be Achilles ATR Sport 2 ? & definitely NOT the version 1.
Thanks for reading.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-22 11:53:42
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL rated 43% while driving a BMW M3
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
There tires are really bad. They came on my car when I bought it, they had about 1000 miles on them at the time. Dry traction is okay. Wet traction is scary. Never tried them in snow. They are also the very loud. I thought I had wheel bearings going out at speed. During tight slow turns in a parking lot I thought my LSD was growling. Now that I have new tires I can actually hear the exhaust note (stock exhaust). Lane changes on rutted roads can be a nasty experience too. The car would snap in and out of the ruts throwing the car latterly. I don't know that I will ever look at a tire with the "V" pattern tread the same way again. Stay away from these tires. If they are your only option in stock, order something else wait patiently for them to come in and then be glad you did. They wear pretty slowly, but I am counting that as a con because it means you will be stuck with these awful tires for even longer.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-04 17:06:16
Federal 595RSR rated NAN% while driving a MINI Cooper S
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Lasted about 6k on the front. Great grip in the dry, not so great in the wet, corners very well, would buy again
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-20 11:20:31
Zeetex HP1000 rated 78% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
On rear axle so hard to say about braking. I believe may be one of the best cheap tyres. I have Continental 5 on front to compare.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-22 14:16:33
Nankang NS2R rated 89% while driving a BMW E36 M3 Evo Coupe
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
i have fitted square set-up on my e36 m3 3.2 track car, specifically built for nurburgring. i ran (on recommendation to me from race drivers of same car), 4x 235/40/17, square setup - and was advised best to use the 180 street compound, rather than the 120 track. this apprently is the better tyre as grip is equal to the 120, but they handle the heat better.

the tyres, for the money, were fantastic. this was the first time i have used the car on track, since its been stripped etc, so i dont have much to compare to... but generally.... the grip was very good, maybe not quite as good as a r888, but certainly in line with federal 595-rs if not slightly better, but im comparing that to on another car so its not a fair comparison.

the tyres look great, and are quite wide tread pattern. they have a small rim protector too. they gripped well both in dry and wet. the broke away safely and progressivly, and didnt get overheated etc. i did around 40 fast laps of the ring (8.12 BTG is my best time on these tyres). i ran them quite hard pressures, again on recommedation. 32 cold, aiming for 40 hot. this seems high, but works.

best of all was the tyre wear. i did 1000 miles to the track and back on motorway, and 40x laps at a good pace... and they are hardly worn at all. infact they still look virtually new. i would expect less than 1mm had been worn away, and they come with 7mm from new i think anyway.

overall a very good tyre for the money, and certainly worth trying. they are half the cost of r888 and i think they are likely 90-95% as grippy... but thats just my expectation. would be interesting to compare them to other tyres in the future, but for the budget minded trackday, they are great




tyre reviewed on 2015-12-05 09:48:29
Wanli S1063 rated 69% while driving a Toyota
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I wouldn't describe these tyres as killers as many do they seem quite competent and I have them on a fast car.

However, they seem to make steering vague, as another reviewer noticed I have had to have them re-sealed on the rims for slow deflation and they wear down the center ( like 2mm left center and 5mm outer ) even though I have them correctly inflated.

So while they aren't horrendous take them off dangerous - I think they have reliability issues
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-03 23:53:22
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 rated 81% while driving a BMW 328i
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
A good all round tyre! No complaints!
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-07 01:44:26
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 rated 93% while driving a BMW 328i
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Great tyre when warmed up - I cant find a tyre that will match it!
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-07 01:27:40
Triangle TR968 rated 23% while driving a Audi A4 B5 1,8T Sport
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
These were fitted to the car when I bought it as the previous ones were on the limit and the dealer said he would fit two new ones. I thought I was getting a good deal until I drove on them. The car sounded completely different and sounded like I was driving on corrugated roofing. A terrible noise. The steering had less feel and when it rained a few days after getting the car that was it for me. The car understeered quite considerably even at low/average speeds on rural roads I was on; you didn't have to be pushing it to realise these tyres are appalling cheap, nasty rubbish. There is no way I would trust these tyres on the motorway. After 1 week and about 110 miles I got them replaced with some Goodyear Eagles and now it feels like the car I test drove. Read the reviews on here and I can understand why people call them 'death-traps'.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-02 18:53:05
Federal 595RSR rated 80% while driving a Toyota GT86
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Superb!! I really enjoy the dry grip and exceptional braking that I get from these tyres. Not yet sure how long they'll last, but my first 4000 miles show very little wear despite a lot of spirited driving. A very pleasant surprise!!
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-25 22:09:09
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre