SUV and 4x4 All Season Ultra High Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed suv and 4x4 all season ultra high performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Toyo Proxes ST (12) 92% 88% 89% 73% 92% 91%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV (3) 90% 90% 87% 87% 93% 67%

SUV and 4x4 All Season Ultra High Performance Tyres with no reviews

Continental CrossContact LX Sport, Pirelli Scorpion Zero All Season

SUV and 4x4 All Season Ultra High Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Continental CrossContact LX Sport rated 57% while driving a Land Rover Discovery Sport
Driving on track for 13000 average miles
Tyre wear is terrible would never buy these tyres again went to Continental for reason why tyres wear was so bad and no satisfactory reason given Have had to replace 4 tyres in less than 2 years with less than 13,000 miles completed Fitted new on land rover discovery sport would not buy this model next time if these are the standard fit to tyres
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-04 09:05:21
Continental CrossContact LX Sport rated 60% while driving a Nissan Pathfinder
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
Great tyre all-rounder but the wear & tear meant replacing them after only 13,000 mls. As far as I'm concerned; this is unacceptable especially when you consider I was driving a brand new vehicle with a wheel alignment and rotation @ 7,000mls.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-25 04:53:39
Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV rated 93% while driving a Vauxhall Antara
Driving on mostly country roads for 25 average miles
Got these on my Vauxhall Antara. 4 wheel drive. Only got 15,000 miles on original fit Dunlop Sports. I have done 25,000 on my Vredesteins , just had mot and have got 6MM of tread still. Should get an easy 40,000 miles. These are the best wearing tyres i have ever had in 40 years of driving multiple vehicles. Will definately buy again. Thats if they ever wear out.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-16 19:48:29
Vredestein Quatrac 3 SUV rated 81% while driving a Mazda Tribute 2004
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 average miles
Had these tires for 4 winters and have over 45000 miles on them. I find the wet traction to be almost as good as the dry traction to the ABS point. Winter performance is as good as my last pair of blizzak non studded winter tires.. Obviously winter reduces grip and a little more slip occurs but this should be expected - braking and cornering and tracking are top notch for studless winters, never left surprised and roads never felt dangerous. Tires have become a little noisy but my wife hasnt complained yet so cant be that bad - unlike other reviews.

I think these tires are misunderstood and reviewed poorly..

The first year I learned these tires need special attention. Aggressive driving in the dry will wear these tires rapidly (Saved them by rotating and letting the wear catch up). Also they have 6ply constuction so load ratings are different - so like big 4x4 tires the inflation needed to be reduced - which if not adhered to will wear them out super rapidly! Mine wore evenly 10-15psi less than the manufacturer recomended psi without affecting fuel economy.

I had great experience with these and would recomend them to everyone with an SUV who is not going to drive like they stole it. I think of them as Winter tires that work safely in the summer wet or dry but will fail quickly for high performance summer use.

Cant have everything.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 01:31:53
Toyo Proxes ST rated 42% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
The table on this site ranked the Toyo Proxes ST yres well above the Bridgestone Duellers for wet grip....total rubbish. From experience I can add that the Toyo's have much less wet grip and steering response....particularly in wet conditions but also in dry conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-22 06:03:24
Toyo Proxes ST rated 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
On 2004 Mercedes Ml350. Very heavy full time 4x4 but Proxes STII's grip extremely well even fast cornering on wet country roads. Do not aquaplane when water is across road. That is important as I live in rural area and roads often have water on them in winter. Could not get tyre to slip. Feels very safe. Can't hear any noise when windows down except wind. Driven on long highway trips as well as poor country roads. Done 14,000 kms and hardly worn. Will replace with same.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-17 09:18:28
Toyo Proxes ST rated 94% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Very quiet. Seem to be lasting well. Good grip in all conditions except deep snow, but not too bad. I would deffinitly buy again for RR TDV8. Good all round tyre, I don't drive flat out all the time but when I want to I have total confidence in these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-06 14:32:54
Toyo Proxes ST rated 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on a combination of roads for 62000 easy going miles
Fitted a set of the sts to my ML 270 at 22k miles just ordered a new set the car has 84k on the clock so great value 62k on one set of tyres wow.

Only just hit the wear blocks a superb tyre good on road ok off road fair in the snow and ice.

tyre reviewed on 2013-06-03 12:54:37
Toyo Proxes ST rated 91% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg
Driving on mostly town for 12500 average miles
After using the premium brands, Conti, Bridge, Pir, I tried Toyo Proxes ST, WOW managed approx. 12500miles on front set and 15000miles on rears normally get between 8-10k on others, always even tyre wear and good rim protector on Toyo Proxes ST . Yes spirited driving some times, not always, due to tyre and fuel prices. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-24 21:01:49
Toyo Proxes ST rated 91% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg
Driving on mostly country roads for 60000 spirited miles
05 V8. Drive fast; want grip, comfort, and quiet. The original equip Conti performed but sadly lasted only 17k! ( I thought this was a fluke until reading this blog. ) The dealer was no help so I went to a local tire store instead (why don't dealers wake up?!) The store convinced me to try the Toyo Proxes - I was reluctant to chance losing the quiet and grip of the Conti- but the store guaranteed The Toyos would perform these tasks as well as the Contis and further, that I would get 35-40k. The Proxes ST delivered. The ride was even smoother, stickier, and quieter. That set went 40k with even wear (regular rotation). I am ready for a new set and will be going back to Toyo and the newest Proxes. I should give credit to the store - Les Schwab Tires - an oasis of old fashioned service and value.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-29 03:19:09
Toyo Proxes ST rated 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML
Driving on mostly motorways for 55000 average miles
These tires are amazing. After six years and more than 85000kms they still behave very well on dry and wet. Actually their performance on wet or even flooded roads is exceptional. I’ve done several kms on mountain roads, driving on sharp stones without any problems. On the other hand they have little grip on snow. If you are looking for summer high performance tires this is a good and recommended choice.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-21 16:45:09
Toyo Proxes ST rated 94% while driving a BMW X5
Driving on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
I do not know how the folks at Toyo are going to better this .... Was on Michelin daimaRis before this... On sedans I've always liked michelin...they're quiet and responsive... On the X5...it's a nightmare... I thought I was Driving on go-karts...because of that, the x5 felt nervous on high speeds and corners... It felt the car was at 180km/hr when I was driving 140km\hr....

The Toyo Proxes ST2...are just like my michelins on my sedan...quiet, low rolling resistance, a good balance of soft and firm ride on the road... And it feels steady on high speeds..and corners...

I don't know how the folks at Toyo are going to top this with their ST3.... 😃

Meantime I'm loving it...
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-18 11:40:39
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre