Uniroyal RainExpert Reviews - Page 2

Given 90% while driving a Renault Grand Scenic (205/60 R16 H) on mostly town for 15,000 spirited miles
Put these on as Grand Scenic can be a handful in bad weather and impossible in icy conditions. The improvement was amazing and in all but icy conditions it sticks like a car half its size (my nerve goes first). Downside is that they don't wear as well on the front (the backs go for ever) but I am quite exuberant particularly where roundabouts are concerned. This said I am probably on course to do 25k+ on fronts with very little motorway driving.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2014
Given 74% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (195/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Got them at a good price last year and they've done 20000 miles. Really good in the wet.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2014
Given 82% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Just an initial review after doing around 1000 miles, for the price these are hard to beat. Loads of grip, good in wet & dry, low noise, look good and comfortable ride. The only downside to these tyres are their soft sidewalls- I have them on the front of my heavy old Diesel Merc estate and they were too soft at normal pressures (32psi). Upped them to 36psi and there's a massive improvement without sacrificing comfort. Probably not an issue on a lighter car, or if you have a low-profile version but these really need to run a relatively high pressure to be at their best, especially if you have a car requiring 'balloon' tyres with a large sidewall area! Can't comment on wear yet but otherwise recommended.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2014
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (195/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 5,150 spirited miles
These tyres were a bargain @ £37 a tyre. They are not suitable for large cars or luxury cars as the sidewalls are too soft. Initially the tyre sidewall flexed a good bit on cornering but After inflating to the full load pressure they are more assuring and I don't notice the sidewall flex anymore. Wet and dry rip are excellent and tyre noise is no worse than other good makes I've used.
Tyre wear seems good after 5k miles and I expect to get at least 20k miles out of these.
They perform well in all conditions including spirited driving but lack a bit on driver feedback and flex a bit but am reassured by the level of grip on corners.
Compared to many other tyres I've used these have got no punctures or lose any air at all so am pleased.
I will buy these again as they are great tyres for the money, but not for the sporty driver or heavy car.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2014
Given 96% while driving a Citroën c4picasso (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 24,000 easy going miles
These tyres have been on the front of my FWD C4 Picasso for 24000 miles. they are now at 2mm. They have been excellent tyres, can't fault their grip in either wet or dry conditions. They could be a little quieter, but I wouldn't say they are noisy, just that I've had tyres that are slightly quieter. I would be buying them again if I wasn't going to be driving in Germany this winter and it is a legal requirement there that if there is snow or icy conditions you must have tyres with the mountain symbol (ie. not summer tyres).
Having said that, I have had no trouble driving in snow in the UK with the Uniroyals these past 2 winters. Excellent tyres.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2014
Given 96% while driving a Opel Corsa C (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I expected the tyre to grip well in the rain and wear out quickly. To my surprise, they have lasted for three seasons already with no excessive wear and their tread is still confidence inspiring. Unexpectedly their grip is excellent in the dry as well, they just lack in feedback and feel -- in the beginning they had a bit of a floating feel, but I compensated by inflating them to the upper limit. My only real complaint is that they seem a bit louder (or have been getting as time progresses) than my other tyres. In all other areas they are a premium tyre for a budget price.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2014
Given 78% while driving a Smart Forfour 1.5cdi Passion 95 (195/50 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 15 average miles
These tyre grip really well in the dry and maybe better in the wet (I didn't want to push my luck in the wet, but I could drive as I did in the dry).
However mpg went down at least 10 mpg to my previous tyres.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2014
Given 61% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
Grip wet or dry was fine, didn't have deep snow but they were good in the snow we did have. Wear was not great 12000 miles on the front of my Focus. The thing I really didn't like about them was the softness of the sidewall. At the recommended Tyre pressure it felt like the Tyre was going to roll off the rim if I went round a corner quickly. Going over some road humps or parking up on a kerb it felt like they squashed so much the rim was hitting the hump. Had to put an extra 4 PSI in for them to feel OKish.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2014
Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.9tdi se (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 21,000 average miles
Very good tyre have had these on for a year now and have done 21000 miles. Wet grip is excellent. Dry grip is pretty good but tyres can be slightly noisy which is expected for a wet tyre. Would buy again but looking for something quieter.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2013
Given 90% while driving a Nissan Almera Tino 1.8 (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Having changed all four pirelli p6000 on my almera tino, which were scarry when wet, to the rainexpert, they changed the whole feel of the car. I never felt as safe using these tyres. Excellent in normal conditions, but came into their own in wet conditions, never felt like they were ever going to loose grip. In snow they were superb, never got stuck once anywhere, even in a white out in snowdonia.
A tyre I would use again and again, well recommended.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2013
Given 93% while driving a Citroën saxo 1.4 furio (175/65 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
a very good tyre at a good price i love this tyre and will buy again i think the best around good grip on wet and dry road low noise good wear
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2013
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen mk2 golf gti heavily modified (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Used for road and track use on VW Golf Mk2 16v. Road performance very good in both dry and wet conditions with good adhesion and lateral grip. On track for a road tyre performance is very commendable - superb balance and lateral grip, tyres heated up quickly and maintained grip through multiple sessions with no degradation in performance under braking, acceleration or turning. Aftermath was ok, minor tread pilling however wear even. Used these Rain Experts for both road and track and not half worn in about 6k miles which given type of usage is good.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2013