Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Reviews - Page 2

Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen fox (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Fantastic in the wet! I can throw the car into tight corners at speeds I would never ever consider on other tyres. Have done round 10, 000 miles on them, I swap them for winter tyres around november - march, but they have lasted well, look nearly new, and I love them
0 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2014   
Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
When new, they feel fine, just like any other new tyre. As soon as they are getting within 4 or 5 mm of the wear indicators, they start to get noisy and this only gets worse. At low speed, they jitter and rumble; over about 50 a whine like a failing wheel bearing starts and gets worse the faster you go. They also tramline somewhat, and feel somewhat sketchy in turns (once again, only felt once worn).

On the plus side, they give fantastic grip in the wet, but this does not make up for the abysmal wear characteristics and the noise. The rolling resistance is higher than for most tyres; this'll cost you a couple of percent of your fuel economy.

Overall, avoid these tyres. The wet grip isn't worth the other downsides; they don't even last particularly well.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 50% while driving a Citro├źn C5 Estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 35,000 spirited miles
Had them on the rears for the last 12 month as it's came with the car.
I've done 35k on them on rears (80% on the motorways) an it's just half-worn. The grip was not the worst, kept me well on the motorway in the shallow water. However for the last 5-8k noise exactly the same as dying hub bearing on 40-55 mph and vibration sound on over 60mph. As soon as I dropped them onto the fronts noise became incredibly loud and slight vibration on the steering wheel, although after they've been balanced well. Road feedback just below an average and no comfort at all.

Definitely will never buy again.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 87% while driving a Volvo V70 2.4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Switched from Pirreli.I drive on the M62 "over the tops" of the Pennines every week.Lots of rain, snow and sleat.Fantastic grip in all conditions. Car goes exactly where I point it.These tyres give me complete confidence.Will fit RS3 next time.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2014   
Given 74% while driving a BMW E46 330ci (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 30,000 spirited miles
My local specialist recommended these RFT as replacements for my Continentals. I have no complaints at all, they gripped well in all conditions except snow, lasted 4 years before on of the rears got a puncture but at least it didn't come right off the rim like the previous ones. You need to take care of the rears as they seem vulnerable to slow punctures. I was forced to use what was available to me and now have Bridgestone Re050a which seem good under breaking, but you would expect this on brand new tyres. However, they are significantly more expensive than the Uniroyals.....only time will tell if it is a good choice.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2014   
Given 96% while driving a Honda Civic (175/70 R13 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
My civic was sliding all over road with continentals and roadstones. Especially after bit of rain. After upgrading 2 front ones to Uniroyal I never experienced that anymore. in heavy rain got a crash in a back because other guy couldn't stop that rapid after tailgating me and that was end of car. Tires are wearing bit faster, fantastic performance
0 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2014   
Given 90% while driving a Ford fiesta st (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
The rainsport 2 are the third set of tyres i have had on my ST, and are the best so far. Better than the P Zero and Dunlop Sport Maxx.
Great grip wet or dry, they give you great confidence when at the limit.

Would recommend.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2014   
Given 85% while driving a Volkswagen Polo GTI (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Amazing so much grip dry and wet.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2014   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
FANTASTIC IN ALL WEATHER CONDITIONS!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2014   
Given 90% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Have these on the back of my ST and they are a very good tyre!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2014   
Given 27% while driving a BMW 330 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Replaced the Bridgestone Turanzas on my BMW 330 sport E46 with Uniroyal Rainsport 2 all roundand were fine to start with but within 6 months / 5000 miles they became very noisy sounding like a wheel bearing ( uneven wear ) also started to tramline / bump stear very badly. - Awful. Replaced with Goodyear Eagle F1 assymetric 2 and the car is transformed. Think the V pattern doesn't suit the 3 series at all.
In fairness the Uniroyal Rainsports on my wife's MX5 are fine, but is a lighter /slower car.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2014   
Given 87% while driving a Honda S2000 (245/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Had these on my Honda s2000 for over 7000 miles now and they are just outstanding. I drove 35 miles yesterday in a combination of very heavy sleat and light snow without any nervousness from the car at all. If you find your S2000 a bit twitchy get you're geometry done and fit these and you wil transform your car. Mine is a daily driver, so I need it to be predictable in all conditions.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2014