Porsche 986 Boxster S Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Porsche 986 Boxster S.

Do you Drive a Porsche 986 Boxster S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 986 Boxster S better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (152) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (276) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 79%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Pirelli P Zero (138) 85% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (35) 81% 63% 62% 67% 69% 64%
Bridgestone Potenza S02A (5) 75% 65% 70% 65% 63% 63%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (62) 65% 45% 55% 54% 71% 56%

Porsche 986 Boxster S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 36% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4300 average miles
Absolutely lethal on wet or damp roads. Mine left go exiting a roundabout. Was applying a good bit of power but not anything like the reaction I got. Almost did a full 360. Not an aggressive driver. Not 20 years old either. Years of experience in powerful cars. 50+. They are being removed from my Boxster S tomorrow. Replaced with Michelin instead. Did a road trip in November put up 4756km travelling from Roscoff to SAN Sebastian Spain on dry roads. No issues. Back in Ireland in damp or wet roads, lethal.
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-26 17:10:10
Writing about the Kenda KAISER KR20 given 60% (265-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Cannot source in channel islands
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-28 12:56:29
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 93% (265-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11 spirited miles
Grip, tracking, handling & feedback superb. Wear acceptable given exceptional performance. Some (premature?) perishing visible from age, but handling not noticeably affected. Mechanic advised typical of PZeros. Persuaded to try Toyos (front & rear) which regretfully NOT in same league. Will switch back ASAP.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 15:14:24
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had 225 40 18 and 265 35 18 fitted on my 986 Boxster. It's early days but very impressed with feedback and grip in both wet and dry.
Steering was getting twitchy on the old tyres and new ones were always going to improve things but I can feel whats going on and turn in is precise with great grip. Road noise is acceptable, too early to say about wear but my overall impression is of a great tyre with bags of grip. Drove the car to where I work on an old airfield where the perimeter track serves as a good, safe test of corner grip, threw the Boxster at the down hill bend and it held my chosen line and even when i applied (deliberately !) some ham fisted power it just gripped and accelerated through.
Very happy I chose Michelin PS4
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-14 18:13:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S02A given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4500 average miles
The only issue that i have had is with the wear rate 4500 miles
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-03 10:07:31
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 73% (205-50-17-N)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
I have just purchased a 2003 Porsche Boxster with 4 New Nankang Tyres. Just finished reading all the comments here and I am at a loss as to these tyres being good or bad. The car has a fair bit of get up and go and to date, one month, it has not been in the wet. The little I know about tyres doesn't help me at all as to them being the "Bees Knees" of tyres. They are on the car, appear to satisfy my needs, I am a gentle driver, so I will keep them and use their on coming history as a guide line for the next set I will have to purchase.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-15 23:09:58
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tyres were on car when I bought it, old school Boxster - no traction control etc.
They grip well, let you know when they're going to let go and are great fun, comort not a strong point (35 series profile) what do you expect.
Limited tyre choice for Porsche (N series) but for me they're grat and I enjoy them.
Can't comment on wear - only 5k into car, expect 10-15k from rear and 25k from front based on wear when bought to when had to replace.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-25 21:17:06
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 64% (265-35-20-N)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 spirited miles
I need a high performance tyre that will give more miles.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-11 15:01:55
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S02A given 71% (255-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Bought a 986 Boxster S with these already fitted - took a note of current wear (7mm front & 2mm rear) and then used the car. 5mths and nearly 6k miles of normal use later, wear update - front 6mm & 1.8mm rear, so they're hard wearing. There's plenty of grip when tyres are up to temperature but they're rubbish cold.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-19 14:54:19
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 74% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
I think the problem with reviews is the wide variation of cars these tyres might be fitted to. It is hardly surprising that some cars can not generate the heat these tyres need to work. Be honest, pirelli do know what they are doing, cold they tend rub along the top of the road rather than dig deep and bond to it, on several porches i tested them on they are warm to the touch with in 3 miles or so and and offer absolutely huge reserves of deep grip. A fraction squidgy on turn in(being picky) but really fluid and brilliant on exit.On uk roads it will be struggle to ever use all this tyre has to offer,when hot they are sublime, A great buy, but be realistic with yourself the nero may be a better option. All that said they dissolved off my car in less than 6000 which means I may park my cash elsewhere.
If they were a bit cheaper and I would have no quible at all going back for another set.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-16 19:38:46
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
In my opinion, why anyone would buy 'N' rated tyres at extortionate over inflated prices I do not know - I have got the new tread pattern T1 sports and the ride is both wonderful and confidence inspiring not to mention so quiet compared to the Perelli P Zero rosso's I have taken off. Porsche, you need to think again!
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-13 16:26:35
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 53% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Replaced my Uniroyal Rainsport 2 with a set of Falken F452. Bedded the tyres in and after that I drove as per normal. First thing I found out was that white lining is a bit of a problem. Secondly the wet weather grip is not all that I hoped. In the wet it is a bit like driving by the seat of your pants it gets a little twitchy this is at moderate speeds.
Would I buy another set, probably not. They are good value for money and may suit other vehicles better than the Porsche. The wear rate is good. These were bought after reading tyre reviews.
Next set I am thinking of some Vredestein Sessanta
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-02 12:57:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre