Volkswagen Jetta 2.0tdi Sport Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Jetta 2.0tdi Sport.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0tdi Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Jetta 2.0tdi Sport better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS (12) 90% 93% 82% 89% 64% 83%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (40) 83% 76% 76% 77% 85% 70%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Goodyear Excellence (125) 79% 70% 72% 71% 72% 73%
Jinyu YU63 (52) 78% 62% 67% 66% 72% 72%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Nankang NS2 (211) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%
Falken ZIEX ZE329 (10) 76% 53% 56% 60% 33% 49%
Achilles ATR Sport (56) 62% 41% 54% 48% 62% 56%

Volkswagen Jetta 2.0tdi Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Jinyu YU63 given 21% (205-55-16-)
Driving on for 0 miles
FIRSTLY: I DID NOT buy these tyres, they were on the car when I brought it. OMG these tyres just do not grip in the wet.. they cause the car to aquaplane even at low cornering speeds. I have now done about a 1000 miles on these tyres and road noise and comfort level is not good.. they are cheap and that says it all. After sliding sidewise on a roundabout, I have NO confidence in the wet.. (no i was not driving fast.. 20-25mph) These still have 4/5mm on them but i am having ALL 4 tyres changed to Michelin CrossClimate 2 As i do drive over to Europe(Germany) 2-3 times a years for visiting friends. I Would never personally buy these tyres.. Frankly I think they are dangerous especially in the wet. I value my life.. so skimping on tyres is a false economy.. There are better cheap tyres on the market than these.. Best to look at reviews and buy the best quality you can afford on your budget.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-01 13:37:05
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact DWS 06 PLUS given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
This is the first premium tire that I have purchased and as well worth it I had summer tires on prior to this winter 2021 and I decided to go ahead and purchase an all season ultra high performance tires since my car will get up there on the highway. Little road noise great handling good in the wet snow and slush great for Ohio weather ☁️. I still need to find out what these are like on a really hot day.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-30 06:52:00
Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport given 79% (-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
With 400lb-ft of torque in an fwd car, I spun like crazy with all seasons so I tried these. With launch control, I still had no spin or it was very minimal. Car was also able to take curvy on-ramps and corners a lot faster without sliding. For example all seasons I would start sliding at 35mph on the bend, with these it was about 55mph. Very surprised with the performance for the price. Although when it is wet I lose traction when I shouldn't. When the tires were brand new I didn't seem to have that problem, but after about 10k miles of wear, I noticed a lot of traction loss even when I wasn't accelerating hard. Overall pretty good tire with an aggressive look to it, I would recommend if on a budget.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-07 22:19:18
Writing about the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I’ve has these tyres for about 2-3 years now and found them to be really good. Previously I had Bridgestones on the car but I’ve found these Petlas tyres to be equally as good. I live on the island of Madeira, which has many steep, narrow winding roads, especially in the mountains and I feel these tyres have been excellent for this region. We don’t have a great deal of rainfall during the year, so when it does rain the roads are extremely slippery, so most locals tend to drive carefully but I’ve had no problems with grip driving on rainy days. The wear has also been good and there’s still a good amount of tread left but I’m thinking about buying another set later in the year, as the price for these tyres is so reasonable.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-31 02:43:15
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
After seeing raving reviews about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 for club level motorsport events I thought I would give them a go on my road car. Best way I can describe them is comparable to the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 but without the price tag, although they don't last as long.
The dry grip is good and wet grip is the best I've had from a road tyre, I drive quickly and love it when it rains as I can pull some fast traffic light getaways.
In the snow the tyres were very impressive, drove past people who were going nowhere. Don't get me wrong they are not winter tyres but handled the slushy snow very well. I now only fit these to my car although they can be tricky to source.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-18 12:19:02
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 71% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
I have a lead foot for my sins, and have always been in the mindset that the big brands were always better to have. Over the life of this car its had all sorts, continental contisport contacts (not worth the money in my opinion) toyo TR1s, pilot sport 3s, goodyear eagle f1s etc etc. While these arent quite as good as the PS3s or F1s they are a steal at £190 for 4!
I do motorway driving to pick up my girlfriend from uni once per week on a motorway that often has lots of surface water, but the nankangs seem literally impossible to aquaplane, I mean I'e actually tried but I just cant get them to do it! In the week I do mostly A roads for my commute to work and Ive just reached the tread markers on the front after 40,000, the rears still have 3.5mm according to my depth gauge! They take an absolute beating and handle almost aswell as proxes. Braking distance is kinda average, but anyone with sense wont be driving centemetre from the car in front anyway. Strong sidewalls may I add which add to the longevity of this excellent tyre. Will DEFINATELY buy again!
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-27 19:24:07
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19 average miles
2 x fitted onto a vw jetta 2.0tdi pd at the front
Fitted 3 years ago and covered nearly 20k
Worn evenly and has decent levels of grip in both dry and wet. also coped well throughout the 3 winters ive had them fitted
will need replacing at the end of the summer as now has about 2mm left of tread. over the three years driven mixed between city and a fair few of motorway miles. so overall quite pleased but have start noticing that they are getting more noisier as they are wearing down.
may buy again but may try some other tyres but happy with the £120 price I paid including fitting for the use ive managed to get out of them
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-13 05:55:57
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 24% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Don't buy this tyre. Noisy, hopeless in snow. The fronts wore out quickly and the rears went out of shape. Very disappointing for a premium brand.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-22 09:53:33
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 20% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
I brought tyres as cash was tight and was doing mostly motorway miles after a couple of months I was regretting my decision. these tyres were the worst I have ever experienced. In the wet they have very little or no grip road noise is excessive and the wear of these tyres is very poor.
I returned my car to Bathwick for there reaction to the poor wear/scalloping to inside edge to both rears only to be told I would have to buy more tyres and they would send my tyres for tests to check construction quality.
I would advise anyone who is considering buying these tyres to avoid them and dig a little deeper. these tyres are well worth avoiding
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-17 12:17:25
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 61% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
Bought these tyres on reading good test results, great tyres BUT,,,, in the 2 years I had them I bust the sidewalls on three of them in smallish potholes and two of the replacements developed serious cracks along thread grooves at about 6/7000 miles, 4/5mm thread. 'Continental' took them back and paid out. Now changed to another make.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-15 09:53:12
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE329 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60 spirited miles
There is all this hoop la about tires...if you want comfort and grip take 5 psi out..or get softer shocks...duh...if you want track and firm leave at 40 psi or higher...but i only do 38 psi...dont like hard tire ride...know the facts...also low psi is better in the rain...less tire rebound and more contact...I've only had trouble with Kumho Tires...out any tire I have had.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-30 17:08:01
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 93% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 29000 average miles
This set of tyres was value for money and prevented a few accidents on my way, it grips like hell and I will never fit any other tyre again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-16 07:12:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre