Volvo V70 T5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo V70 T5.

Do you Drive a Volvo V70 T5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a V70 T5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (109) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Primacy 4 (132) 86% 82% 75% 78% 82% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (172) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73%
Barum Bravuris 3 (9) 77% 68% 80% 73% 72% 69%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Jinyu YW51 (17) 70% 67% 63% 58% 71% 70%
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41%
Sunew YS618 (57) 61% 36% 47% 44% 52% 49%

Volvo V70 T5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
dry grip of the tyre is good but not spectacular. wet grip is very good and still gives some feedback. Braking grip is good in dry and wet. with 35 000km the tyres lost about 3mm, that is mostly highway driving but also about 5000 to 7500 km of harddriving twisting roads and long topspeed runs of 240 km/h. For relaxed driving on the nordschleife they overheated quite fast but are still useable.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-08 02:30:14
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 33% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
runway performance 926 sucks
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-30 21:36:29
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Cento given 74% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-30 21:32:24
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 97% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 33000 average miles
Great tyres, a lot of comfort, quiet, excellent grip in dry. Good value for money: just bought my second 4 tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-14 20:49:37
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 46% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Fitted PXT1R toyo on my 97 volvo v70 t5 and all i can say is that the tyres are ok but far to soft in the sidewall but my be ok on small cars but not on the v70 sized cars.If you push my car on a hard turn it feels like the tyres are flat and are going to come off the rims even when im running them at 40psi
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-14 13:08:04
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 69% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 average miles
Initially these were very good: grip in the wet and dry was good. They are quiet.

However after just 9000 miles, the tread is down to 3mm, and on the wet autobahn in the slow lane (which in Germany collects lots of water), the grip was poor (wheel spin on accelerating getting onto the motorway at relatively low speeds) and risk of aquaplaning with not enough water dispersal when tread thickness is low. Dry grip when the tread is low is still very good, but some tendency also to get wheelspin on hard accelration which never happened when the tyres had more tread.

So initially very pleased, and now disppointed that they have worn out so quickly and will need replacement so soon.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-30 15:37:37
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 3 given 77% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Fitted a pair of these tyres at the front replacing Bravuris 2. Not felt any real differance to the car. Have used High Brand and Mid Brand and can find little real differance - except price. Can't comment on wear - only 1000 miles in but got 15000mile from B2, will be happy with that from these V70's are heavy on tyres. Will happily but again.
That said would not put them on my AWD R it runs Eagle F1 or Conti.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-07 09:53:27
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
Don't over inflate the sunew tyre and it won't crack, they are a summer tyres and have a very hard compound which is perfect for hot tarmac roads and that means very poor handling in the wet on cold tarmac NOT ROCKIT SCIENCE,have these on my CHIPPED T5 306BHP work fine for me ( ex police driver class 1 )remember made for a very hot climate "CHINA" so slow down on a wet road they dont work well in the cold but will out perform most other tyres on hot tarmac more expensive tyres tends to be duel compound a mixture of hard and soft rubber' nylon' neoprene'so they are all weather types in effect giving all round performance but don't last as long, i use these tyres because the volvo is very heavy and they last a lot longer being hard compound
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-23 22:29:46
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 83% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Good quiet tyre, which doesn't tramline or squiggle on uneven British country roads whose surfaces are getting worse every year.

Only concern is the speed of wear.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-13 10:13:15
Writing about the Jinyu YW51 given 84% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Bought a pair for the front in the second snow Jan 2013, traveled from Horsforth, Leeds to Pudsey asda, back down through Carverly then on to Harrogate to visit my son, got home 2.30 AM no trouble at all, even the steep hill in Bramhope, & ccokridge, uo Pool bank and airport no probs, front wheel drive only.
Absolutley fantastic.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-27 19:57:37
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 52% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
On the car when I bought it - Astonishing - Turanza ER300 on the rear and Enduro on the front .- Had seen the budget tyre choice on buying the car but obviously fitted after the decision to sell . Absolutely horrific road noise - sluggish road / cornering response .

Have suffered for 700 miles and will be changing immediately .
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-23 22:48:54
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Only had these for a few hundred miles but I drive hard and these tyres respons well! I can't fault the grip (yet) and they are much quieter than the (very worn) P7000 tyres that were on the car when I purchased it.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-19 14:55:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre