Antares INGENS A1

The Antares INGENS A1 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 58%
Wet Grip 33%
Road Feedback 52%
Handling 45%
Wear 63%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 36%

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 49% over 283,231 miles driven.

The INGENS A1 is ranked 174th of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Antares INGENS A1

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Antares INGENS A1

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Antares INGENS A1. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £63.48 - £63.48 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £107.96 - £107.96 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Antares Ingens A1 Reviews

Given 23% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports (255/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Bought Maxtrax, last month, for my C class Mercedes 255 x 35 x 18 on rear and 225 x 40 x 18 on front. Driving in the wet is a death hazard so I'm heading to the dealer to see about an exchange.
Helpful 242 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2016
Given 31% while driving a Skoda Skoda Superb MK1 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
The WORST tires i ever bought in my life . I own a taxi for more than 20 years and i am 62 years old driving for living all my life. I change tires usually twice a year . I have tried almost every brand , from expensive to bargain . I was attracted from their very low price . Nothing ever scares me so much ( while driving ) , than the unexpected dangerous behavior of those tires. For the first time in my life i had to alter my driving style in order to survive . This is the first time i decided to write a review about tire quality , just in case i save someones life . Those tires are a Dangerous Death Trap and in my opinion some kind of authority needs to step forward in order to protect the public safety . DO NOT PUT those tires even if they PAY you , to do so . !!!
Helpful 125 - tyre reviewed on December 25, 2017
Given 39% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/55 R15) on mostly town for 1 average miles
Overall an awful tyre....especially in damp conditions...wheel spin under normal acceleration from standing...front end drift under normal cornering or going around roundabouts....dangerous....you do not feel in complete control in damp conditions....ok in dry conditions, road noise a little more noticeable....cannot comment on wear rate as I did not have them on long enough as I felt they were unsafe and replaced with a well known brand.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2023
Have you driven on the Antares Ingens A1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Antares INGENS A1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Antares INGENS A1 >

Latest Antares Ingens A1 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta Treadline 2.0 (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I’ve had these ingens a1s on 3 different cars now, a 2012 Mercedes ML350 Bluetec they were fitted in 2016 and have been driven on for over 55,000 miles and still have plenty of life left on them. I also had them fitted on my 2013 Ford Focus SE Sedan. And now a 2015 Volkswagen Jetta And they have been great. I drive the car pretty hard on a daily basis and over 70 miles per day 5 days a week and these tires have yet to show any sighs of wear. The handling of the tires is really good. I switched from a set of continental pro contacts and the Ingens A1 are far Superior in all conditions between the wet and dry they have out performed the Continentals by far. They have little to no road noise and extremely smooth over poor road conditions. I personally would highly recommend these tires.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2023
Given 21% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/40 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
These are the worst tyres that I have ever had during my 38 years of driving. Its extremely dangerous on wet ( even on very slight dampness) ; easily fish tailed / oversteers hence very difficult to correct/control. To summarise it nicely 'Totally rubblish chinese tyres'.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 51% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 (265/35 R18) on mostly town for 15,000 easy going miles
Purchased a set of 245/40/18 (front) and 265/35/18 (rear) for a set of Mercedes-Benz AMG rims I picked up for my E320 (2004) AWD. At first like others I was skeptical as these are made in China and at the time (summer 2018) there wasn't anything I could find online about them but the price point was $104 and $119 respectably. The are directional so if your running a staggered set up like I was take note you can't rotate them. Now I'm not an aggressive driver and this car was just for nice days and a change off from time to time from some other daily drivers. I don't think I ever exceeded 90mph on rare occasion but would cruise around 70/75 on the interstate. My driving style is more of an old man on a Sunday drive. One (FL) would have a slight vibration that came on around 65mph. Tire shop checked balance several times but it never went away and they wouldn't replace as it balanced. Even had them align the yellow with the valve stem (lightest part of the tire). They did this and had to subtract weight from the rim but still had a vibration. Moved it to the other side (FR) and the vibration moved with it so I think the tires (high spot) red dot was near the top of the limits and the shop just kept saying it balances. Dry weather it did well, rode somewhat quiet but wet weather/rain they were far more slippery than the previous tires (M brand). Never tried them in the snow, the peel off label on the tire had a line printed across the snow flake so wasn't going to try it. I've had them 4 1/2 years and put around 15k miles on them and they have dry rotted horribly around the outer tread where it meets the sidewall so I'm getting them replaced all around. I personally would not recommend these tires, don't let the low price fool you, they may be fine for a few years but that's it. The replacements are Vercelli Strada II, same price point, made in Thailand and good reviews. Will try them out and see how it goes, so far so good.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2023
Given 34% while driving a Nissan 2002 patrol (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
These were on the car when I bought it and fairly new with 6mm tread, They are the WORST wet grip tyres I have ever experienced, in fact they are positively DANGEROUS, even in damp weather they slip and slide under moderate cornering. When hitting puddles at speed they grab and pull to that side and full concentration is needed. If you value your life DO NOT buy these tyres. I am booked in for 4 new Michelins on Monday I only hope it doesn't rain before then
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
Given 85% while driving a Suzuki Kizashi 2.4L FWD (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Really good tyres. It has great comfort when driving in wet and dry. Great grip inn the dry, a bit worst in the wet, if you push it. But the tyres tells you that waay before you start to slip. So that should not be a problem for a daily driver. The only minus in my opinion is the fuel economy the tyres give, compeared to a lot of other tyres. I think these tyres is really good value for the money,
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2022
Given 44% while driving a Mazda 121 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Came with the car, driving in the dry is ok, I push these tyres hard, not amazing grip but ok, but just a slightly wet road makes them slip like crazy. Pretty noisy on highways, have to raise your voice to speak if you're driving over 60 mph. Only plus is that they last a lot, over 25k miles and still have lots of life left.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2022
Given 73% while driving a Honda CRV (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I recently purchased a 2015 Honda CR-V fitted with new Maxtrek Ingens A1 225/60R18 tyres. I assumed cheap tyres fitted just to sell, and that I would replace soon. Having done nearly 5000 kim in wet and dry conditions, on Mexican highways and backroads, I see no reason to change them. Happy with wet and dry road holding, low road noise. Bearing price in mind, I would be happy to recommend them. (Interesting to see bad reviews. Maybe older versions? My tyres manufacturer date 2020) Cheers. Stephen
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2021
Given 99% while driving a Ford Focus (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 300 spirited miles
I've had 2 sets of these Artares Ingens A1. one set on a 2012 Mercedes ML350 Bluetec they were fitted in 2016 and have been driven on for over 55,000 miles and still have plenty of life left on them. Now I got them fitted on my 2013 Ford Focus SE Sedan. And they have been great. I drive the car pretty hard on a daily basis and over 70 miles per day 5 days a week and these tires have yet to show any sighs of wear. The handling of the tires is really good. I switched from a set of KELLY EDGE A/S and the Ingens A1 are far Superior in all conditions between the wet and dry they have out performed the KELLYS by far. They have little to no road noise and extremely smooth over poor road conditions. I personally would highly recommend these tires.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2021
Given 13% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 400 average miles
I can't see how these are sold as tyres.. they have no grip what so ever I simply cannot use my car in the rain.. if I'm out and it rains I'm stuck till it dries out.. do not buy these tyre unless your suicidal
Helpful 51 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2020
Given 16% while driving a BMW 335i (255/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
These have to be the worst tires I have ever driven on. Previously had Michelin pilot super sport and my mechanic advised against paying so much money for a name brand tire and suggested Maxtrek Ingens. It is the first time in all the years I have owned the car that on average twisty roads with speeds at a fraction of the Michelin's that I have seen my DSC come on....no grip in the dry and forget about the wet. Tires lasted about 3 weeks and finally came apart on the inside sidewall...completely separated from the mag. Won't even waste my time taking them back...Please if you value your life stay away..spend a few dollars more and get some half decent tires eg.Yoko,Dunlop etc.as I know Michelins are quite pricey.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2017
Given 41% while driving a Mercedes Benz E280 Sport (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I had these on the rear of merc 280cdi and they are horrendous. At the first sign of any dampness or wet, they completely fail to grip. after 20,000 miles no signs of any wear - obviously ridiculously hard compound. now replaced with Avon zz5 and handling is transformed. Be warned do not buy these tyres unless you live somewhere were it never rains.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2017
Given 96% while driving a Honda CRV (225/60 R18 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
when I first heard of these unknown to me tyres, I was in a dilemma, buy cheap unknown or, an expensive known brand. glad I picked these, currently at 18000+ miles on four of these and plenty of tread left, I drive a Honda crv, not the fastest vehicle but I admit I don't hang about. no problems what so ever. would buy again.

when I read some of these tyre reviews, it makes me laugh, they are written as if being critiqued by professional rally drivers of formula one, get real folks, if you lose control of your car on ANY tyre on the legal road, you are clearly driving too fast.

good luck in your choices.
Helpful 104 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2017