Westlake Radial RP18

The Westlake Radial RP18 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 73%
Wear 75%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 22 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 148,832 miles driven.

The Radial RP18 is ranked 59th of 228 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 AMS Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 10th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - At a low level a balanced, quiet tyre
  • Negative - Weak wet and dry performance, low-precision steering, wet roads load change sensitivity issues
View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2014 AMS Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Westlake Radial RP18

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Westlake Radial RP18. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Westlake Radial RP18 Reviews

    Given 67% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/60 R16) on mostly town for 1,500 average miles
    I actually have RP38 on my Camry 2005. It is very affordable that's why I bought it. It is quite stiff and smells like a rubber ball of a basketball which I find is unusual. The dry performance is great while the wet performance is decent. The wear is also very good. My 2 complains are it is quite stiff unlike its competitors and is noisy. There is a humming sound at 40kph. Overall, I would still recommend this to thise who are looking for really cheap brand new tires.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/70 R15) on a combination of roads for 7 average miles
    They say west lake is a “cheap tire” but the word “cheap” passes the wrong idea that these are low quality tires which they are not. After eight months driving a set of RP18’s through streets with lots of pot holes and poor or good quality asphalt, I’ve noticed that these are just typical touring tires, the same as Pirellis, Continentals and so on. They generate low noise level and after 10,600 km the treads look like new. I’m well impressed about their performance on dry and wet roadso. I had Dunlops, Michelins and Bridgestones installed in my cars before trying the Westlake and I everyone to stop criticizing this Westlake brand just because their tires are a Chinese brand. After all Chinese products are being criticized (pure nonsense) the same way as the Japanese products and cara were criticized when they arrived in western markets on early sixties and seventies. Now take a look on Japanese brands image and customer’s perception at the present time. Let’s wake up my friends!!!
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2023
    Given 57% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.6 vti (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    Bad confort
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2023
    Have you driven on the Westlake Radial RP18 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Westlake Radial RP18? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Westlake Radial RP18 >

    Latest Westlake Radial RP18 Reviews

    Given 72% while driving a Toyota Tercel (195/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    I needed tires for my autoX competition car when I am not racing it. Primarily during winter months.

    I purposely run a slight upsize to aid in ride comfort to help dull out the stiff suspension.

    Price drove the decision. In all honesty I really like these tires for what they are. Surprisingly decent in the dry. Wet traction does suffer but as long as your mindful with your inputs its work able. I actually found myself driving around on these quite a bit this year chasing some tuning issues and I didnt want to cycle out the race tires.

    Would absolutely consider again if I need another budget tire for a similar, non-primary driving situation.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/70 R15) on a combination of roads for 40 miles
    Im surprised by the excellent cost/benefit of this tire. Very good treadwear (looks like new after 12,000 km) very comfortable ride, low noise. I drive my Toyota Corolla about 60% of the time on the road and 40% within cities and could not be happier. I do recommend this tire. Instead of being classified as cheap tires, they should be classified as low cost tires. This sounds much better and is more respectful for both the manufacture and the customers.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 86% while driving a Chevrolet Malibu LTZ (195/70 R15) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
    Decided to try the RP18, and has been gotten by surprise. Although it is classified as a cheap tyre -which usually means low quality- it performs the same as Continental, Goodyear and other famous brands. No way they produce excessive noise nor that wears fast, are not comfortable etc. It’s an excellent and reliable tyre. What is the problem to be made in China? After all most of the computer and high tech stuffs like Apple and Lenovo computers are almost totally made with Chinese parts. My four Westlake RP 18 are performing very well after over 12,000 miles after replacing Continentals and still look brand new.
    My driving style: mixed from fast to slow in several roads and mixed streets, some in farms full of potholes.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Toyota Tercel (195/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
    I only have less then 100miles on these. So far much nicer then the 10yo Falken 912s they replaced. These are a slight oversize for my car to help cope with the race spec suspension on my car which is set up for competitive autocross. The tires might see 1000miles a year. So I did not need anything special. Just something for the offseason and inbetween races. The car is not driven much beyond racing it, if I do its to work on it or the occasional cars and coffee. I might do some race stints far away next season so these will be my travel tires to avoid anything happening to the Falken 660s I race on. So far the ride is most excellent. Like disturbingly good. And the grip is actually decent given the design criteria. The few times I purposely pushed the car in the wrong places to see what they would do resulted in fine dry grip and manners. No rain or snow yet. Steering inputs are smooth and direct. I run the tires at 28psi front, 26 rear...car weights 2100lbs. Fwd turbo. I do not hoon much on the street the car is numbered and stickered up so generally pretty average other then some WOT pulls when I am working on ECU tunes.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2023
    Given 80% while driving a Toyota Vios (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 39,000 average miles
    One off the best tyres. Cheapest price.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2022
    Given 19% while driving a Mercedes Benz C240 (/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 143 average miles
    Real noisy tire. Cheap made, Won't buy again
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2021
    Given 51% while driving a Volkswagen Beetle 1303 1.6L (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
    This was the first time I switched to West Lake after using bigger brands like Bridgestone, Goodyear, etc. The West Lake tires are good in dry and wet conditions for regular every day drive. Actually, I felt very confident in my VW beetle with these tires. Having said that, the tires were so uncomfortable and noisy. I swapped them out after using for 6 months. My wife was pregnant and said that the baby might come out sooner if I continue to keep these on. STAY AWAY.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2021
    Given 63% while driving a Peugeot 408 2.0 16V (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 18,000 easy going miles
    Tried these after my original Goodyear's last for about 60.000 km, so far at 30.000km seems it reached half life or so, not sure if it will last another 30k, probably 20k. Fits good, but wet performance is poor, I don't trust them above 100km/h. You get what you are paying for. I'd look for another brand on next set, probably would go Goodyear again.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2021
    Given 97% while driving a Chevrolet Spark (185/55 R15 H) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
    The best tires I ever bought... the return every penny on safety, comfort and efficiency
    Helpful 67 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2018
    Mitsubishi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    Have had these tyres on my mitsubishi asx fronts from when I bought the car in Aug 16. Got original Yokohama aspect on rear and car is a 62 plate. Grip in the dry is pretty good. In the wet they are ok but tend to skid/ front end first on corners/roundabouts. I live on a hill and my drive is also steep onto the hill sideways. The slightest bit of hail/snow inhibits grip and the car will slide and skate like a fridge. I appreciate that they are summer tyres but would expect them to grip better in the wet. I agree with comments made about noise levels- bit loud like hail on a tin roof. I'm a little immune to it now but it was the first thing i noticed on my motorway drive home when I picked it up. They do however wear well but you have to put that into perspective with costs of better graded tyres which will cost a bit more. I previously had a mondeo and fitted michelin xclimate on them at Costco. Costly but brill. Don't think they are made for my asx car size. Looking a maxxis ap2 all seasons as a compromise for cost and safety.
    Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2018
    Ford (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
    Horrible! I will never buy Westlake tires again. They make me feel unsafe everytime I am on the road because they have no sense of grip whatsoever. On top of that, they are too noisy, even for a budget tire. It's not worth it to risk buying Westlake. I heard they partly use plastic for their tires too. Never again!
    Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2017
    Given 51% while driving a Mitsubishi mirage cyborg r (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Never again. Even if I don't have the money, I will not risk it again with these cheap and unsafe tires. They are slippery on wet road, noisy, and they wear fast. Overall, you pay for your money's worth.
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2017